Gardeners, declutterers, carpenters and handy energetic Workawayers welcome to help us and explore South Pender Island, Canada

Country

Canada

mis à jour  

Enregistré comme favori 166 fois


  • rating

    Évaluation d'hôte

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

  • last activity

    Activité récente

    10.08.2022

  • Last email replied

    Taux de réponse

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Délai de réponse moyen :

    ≤ 32 jours

  • Badges

    Good Host
 
  2022 

 Séjour min. souhaité : Une semaine ou moins

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Normally we offer workaway opportunities to people wanting to come stay with our family on Pender Island, however, we now looking to find a finishing / siding carpenter to do a work trade on Salt Spring Island for accommodations during the desirable summer months starting July 24th. Only skilled workaways please. We need to get the cabin ready for the next school year as off island kids going to the Highschool will stay here from time to time. The location is fantastic and the cabin only requires some interior window trim, a new floor in the kitchen and a small amount of board and baton siding put up. All materials are on site: No food is provided for this work trade - only accommodations. There is extreme high speed internet in this cabin should you be a digital nomad.


    For the FUTURE:
    We are a family with a garden on a high fenced cliff overlooking the ocean on South Pender Island. Our family needs help with our garden and some building projects...possibly some shared meal prep and, more specifically, we have a pond in need of repair should you have experience with EPDM.

    Our family lives in our own separate house. You would stay in a guest cottage with your own bathroom, kitchenette, fireplace and wonderful views. In the guest space there is one king sized bed, one queen sized pull out couch as well as a small kids loft and potentially another bed in somewhat of an open concept plan. There is wifi in the guest space. There is a trampoline just outside of the guest space that our kids sometimes use.

  • Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Aide avec des éco-projets
    Jardinage
    Bricolage et projets de construction
    S’occuper des animaux
    Baby-sitting et jeux créatifs
    Cuisine/repas pour la famille
    Aide à la maison
    Entretien général
    Aide informatique / avec Internet

  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    We are artists (music/ visual arts) and this is an inspiring west coast location with lots of great hikes and beach accesses. Our Pender Island community is very important to us as our families have been here since the 1800’s. We are happy to share information about our homeland.

  • Projets impliquant des enfants

    Projets impliquant des enfants

    Ce projet peut impliquer des enfants. Pour en savoir plus, consultez nos directives et conseils ici.

  • Aide

    Aide

    We have a small garden that needs help with weeding and irrigation installation.

    We are completing an addition to our house that needs more siding and finishing inside and in the fall we would need help installing a green roof ( moving soil/irrigation etc). Next year we might need help building a greenhouse and expanding our veggie garden. We have a pond that currently has a leak we can’t locate.

    We are clearing out a storage area and might need help decluttering and listing objects to sell.

    Also organizing a small woodworking shop :)

  • Langues

    Langues parlées
    Anglais: Courant

    Cet hôte propose un échange linguistique
    Cet hôte a indiqué qu’il souhaitait faire partager sa propre langue ou en apprendre une nouvelle.
    Contactez-le pour en savoir plus.

  • Hébergement

    Hébergement

    Separate guest cottage from main house but attached to accessory use building.

    Breakfast and lunch we will supply the ingredients. We have found that with everyone waking up at different times and heading out and about it is difficult to sometimes co-ordinate these meals. Dinner is a very important meal to us. It is the one meal of the day that our family comes together for to catch up with each other and discuss interesting topics..We hope to share at least one or two meals with you while you are here with us, again, many schedules mean that we do not have a fixed dinner time.

    We take 1 hour off of work away time for you to prepare your own meals due to the complexity of satisfying many schedules and dietary needs. We will provide the ingredients. While we may not share lots of meals we do enjoy conversation while working together.

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    Hiking, farmer’s market, coffee shop. Public Transportation is a challenge as we are rural...so you would need a bike or vehicle. That said we have car stops, however, during Covid these are not as reliable.

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Possibilité d’accueillir les digital nomads

    Possibilité d’accueillir les digital nomads

    We have space for someone to work on their laptop. We have the fastest internet you can get on the island (fibre optics). It is not as fast as the city but is capable of streaming. We have a printer and a plotter, however, there is no where to get printer ink on the island so many print outs can be an issue. I practice design and so I am quite often on my computer for at least part of the day catching up on work.

  • Espace pour garer des vans

    Espace pour garer des vans

    We only have parking for one vehicle near to where the workaday would sleep. We do have some additional parking on a lower section of our land for vehicles that do not need to plug in.

  • Possibilité d'accueillir les animaux

    Possibilité d'accueillir les animaux

    As long as your pet is on a leash and you clean up after your pet

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Plus de 2

  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Ce sont des évaluations supplémentaires en option lorsque les membres laissent un feedback. La note moyenne pour chaque option est affichée.

Exactitude du profil: (5.0)

Échange culturel: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)







N° de référence hôte : 552959314319