Expérience de jardinage simple et tranquille, Hornby, Colombie-Britannique, Canada

Country

Canada

Enregistré comme favori 47 fois


  • rating

    Évaluation d'hôte

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Activité récente

    15.02.2022

 
  2022 

 Séjour min. souhaité : Au moins deux semaines

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hello,
    My name is Kees (pronounced Case),
    I have been living on beautiful Hornby island for the past 18 years, a long way from Holland where i was born.
    I would like to welcome helpers to share the abundance and growth that comes from gardening and simple farm life. I share this land with a few other families, spread out on 40 acres, with lots of privacy. I sometimes have friends and neighbours that come to garden and participate, which makes the garden more of a community project, open to input and creativity. We have three big gardens that need to be looked after, watered, weeded and harvested.

    Summers can be hot and dry, but sometimes a bit rainy too, so come prepared for any weather.
    We are very concerned about wildfires and preventing them as the island has been very dry and droughts are now common, so we try to conserve water as much as possible and to prevent any potential source of flames, so we ask you not to smoke on the land if you do.
    Our garden is organic, and a mix of hobby and work, for some it is an art project. The Ideal helper is passionate about gardening and plants, is a self starter, and wants to learn, or share their knowledge. We hold a very organic approach to farming, and don't always consider weeds to be our enemies. Some of us are fans of the Fukuoka method, we have much to learn still.
    While here, I will provide the food you need, but most meals will be your own to make. You are free to set your own schedule, but best to get up early since it can get quite hot.

  • Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Jardinage
    Bricolage et projets de construction
    Compagnie pour pers. âgée
    Entretien général
    Aide dans une ferme
    Aide avec des éco-projets
    Aide à la maison

  • Objectifs de développement durable de l’ONU que cet hôte essaie d'atteindre

    Objectifs de développement durable de l’ONU que cet hôte essaie d'atteindre

    Objectifs de l’ONU
    Pas de pauvreté
    Faim «zéro»
    Bonne santé et bien-être
    Éducation de qualité
    Égalité entre les sexes
    Eau propre et assainissement
    Énergie propre et d'un coût abordable
    Travail décent et croissance économique
    Industrie, innovation et infrastructure
    Inégalités réduites
    Villes et communautés durables
    Consommation et production responsables
    Mesures relatives à la lutte contre les changements climatiques
    Vie aquatique
    Vie terrestre
    Paix, justice et institutions efficaces
    Partenariats pour la réalisation des objectifs
  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    I offer a simple lifestyle, in a quiet and peaceful environment. Come spend time on beautiful Hornby island, discover the community, it's beaches and forests.
    The space we offer is great for meditators, introvert, artists and also musicians. We have an old piano, it's a bit out of tune though, but you are welcome to play it.

  • Aide

    Aide

    Looking for help in the garden right now, mostly weeding, watering and garden bed preparation, later on harvesting, preserving and enjoying.

  • Langues parlées

    Anglais: Courant
    Hollandais: Courant

  • Hébergement

    Hébergement

    The house is very 'rustic' and a bit funky, no bathroom but the is an outhouse in the garden. You will have a simple room to yourself, we can provide blankets and sheets, but you can bring a sleeping bag if you prefer. If you enjoy camping, then there is lots of space, but you will have to bring your own gear. We do have electricity, a kitchen and hot water, but no shower. We would like to build an outdoor shower soon, but in the summer, we use shower bags (or jump in the pond!).

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    On Hornby, if you don't have a vehicle, then hitchiking is pretty safe and common. There is a bike you can use as well, the island is small enough to get around.
    Getting to Hornby from Buckley Bay, you might have to ask for rides on the ferry, don't be shy. We can pick you up from the Co-op if you get a ride there, or from the Hornby side ferry if you would like.

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Plus de 2

  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week


N° de référence hôte : 548418262678