Help with some home improvements at our black forest farmhouse in Stegen, Germany

Country

Allemagne

mis à jour  

Enregistré comme favori 37 fois


  • rating

    Évaluation d'hôte

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

  • last activity

    Activité récente

    19.10.2019

  • Last email replied

    Taux de réponse

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Délai de réponse moyen :

    ≤ 2 jours

  • Badges

    Good Host
Contact S'inscrire
  2019 

 Séjour min. souhaité : Au moins 1 semaine

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    My girlfriend (25) and me (24) are building a flat in the farmhouse of my parents. The nearly 300 year old farmhouse is situated in the black forest, about 15 km to Freiburg im Breisgau. Me and my two brothers were raised in that farmhouse, while my parents run a cheesery, which is no longer in use, but we still have animals: Goats, cows, horses, a dog, two cats and two turtles. The farmhouse is in a rather detached place, quite some way and altitude to the next town with a shop ( 6 km and ~250 m in altitude). So you can relax, being surrounded just by grassy hills and forests. In the summer you can enjoy the scenic view from our swimming pool, filled with water from the spring, which also provides drinking water for the farm.
    My parents travelled a lot, when they were young, i made a volunteering year in Peru and my girlfriend volunteered for 3 months in Canada. We hitchhiked through Eastern Europe and travelled to Georgia in 2017 before starting the construction. So you will meet some rather open-minded people, which are interested in the world and other cultures. My vegan girlfriend is master of ceramics and plans to open her pottery, when the flat is finished. I, myself study physics in the master.

  • Type d'aide

    Type d'aide

    Construction
    Entretien / Bricolage

  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    The first thing that comes to my mind is the good food made by my father. He comes from the swabian area of germany and they have quite some delicious food there. You will meet a maybe rather untypical german family. You will get to know the life of blackforest small scale farmers/stockholders. The area is full of them. Freiburg, with its sights is relatively close (15 km). You can either drive there in 20 minutes or you can take a 3 hours walk through the blackforest without crossing a single street, ending up in the city center of Freiburg. There is a famous church and a nice historic city center with small canals to refresh your tired foots. And you can enjoy all benefits from large cities there. If you prefer to know more about the rural life in the blackforest, then you might go to the highest mountain of the black forest, the Feldberg, which isn't far away and can go in the wildlife museum or you go to Titisee and have a look on traditional craftsman stuff. A bit more away, about one hour are the Tribacher water falls, which are a bit touristic. But there are a lot of other small natural highlights nearby you might enjoy.

    Of course you can improve your carpenter skills in the construction, but there is much more, which can be learned at our place, if you want to. My girlfriend can show you some pottery if the necessary tools already are there. You can also learn or improve your german if you want to. My father learned how to fix cars and other machinery before he studied forestry and he can tell you about that. My mother studied biology, was a midwife and a cheesemaker. My brother really is into Parkour and fighting sports and is very active in the sport association of the village. We like to reflect critically upon german and international politics. And of course we like to have fun. Is it by playing games or meeting with friends, making campfires or enjoy riding motorbike in our hilly area.
    We can offer you an insight in our lives and are looking forward to hear about yours.

  • Aide

    Aide

    We build a flat in parts of the attic of the farmhouse, which was formerly used as barn. We need help for the Construction of inner walls with wood. Insulation with wood wool. Burnishing of the old wood, from the old house. Making the floors, putting windows and doors. Some experience with wood work surely would be useful. But most things can be learned pretty fast, if you are interested. We are both no experts neither but already worked for some months on that project. We have all the necessary tools to work with wood and some of them demand careful handling. We can offer the whole range from easy to more demanding projects and i am sure that together we find some tasks with which you feel comfortable. Helping us, you also can learn a bit about carpentry if you want to.

    As it takes some time to get to know the construction site and working as a team we think it makes sense for you to stay at least one week. And i am convinced that you will have better experience and will be able to help better if you stay two weeks or longer. And trust me, there is enough fun around to stay at least two weeks here ;-)

    Also sometimes we may need help with the general maintenance of the farmhouse. Cutting wood for winter and putting fences for the animals.

    Sometimes it could happen that there are a lot of projects to do in few days (for example redoing the roof, which should happen without rain in between). In this occasions it would be great if you are fine with helping one or two days the whole day and then get one or two days off.

  • Langues parlées

    Langues parlées

    Beside having german as a mother tongue we all speak english at my home, i speak spanish

  • Hébergement

    Hébergement

    We offer you to stay in a private room, so you have your own space. Old farmhouses aren't well known for acoustic insulation, but that is all we can offer. There is electricity and Wifi.

    Mostly my father, my girlfriend and i are cooking, so you can choose between classical german/swabian food options (Käsespätzle, hefezopf, ...) and a vegan version of that. Of course some international dishes found their way into our kitchen, like pizza, curry and so on. For breakfast you can choose between cereals and bread and usually we eat bread for dinner. Don't worry about food, we will find a way to make your stomach happy :-)

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    Transportation might be an issue because the farmhouse is remote from the next village. But usually twice a day someone drives into the next town or city for work, or buying groceries, or sport. We can provide you a bicycle so you can move yourself freely and can pick you up in the nearby village (3km) before the road gets pretty steep. This might be a disadvantage but for living in an idyllic place one has to pay a price. I think spending some of your free time near the farmhouse or in the pool or going on walks might be fun. And we surely can coordinate to bring you to Freiburg or the next train station, from where you can move in your free days to explore the area. Some of the sightseeing spots, which are around i mentioned before.
    As we have a lot of animals i think having allergies against animal hair you won't have a good time here.

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Un

  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

old historic blackforest girder meets new blackforest wood wool
Fitting the construction into the old barn of the farmhouse sometimes is challenging,
The type of work we do a lot.
Janika and i, together with my brothers and my father in the future living room of the flat
My parents and our dog, returning from a walk
The swimming pool, waiting to refresh you
My girlfriend and me
You can stay in a mobile home like this, which is near the house.
view on the farmhouse and the surroundings

Ce sont des évaluations supplémentaires en option lorsque les membres laissent un feedback. La note moyenne pour chaque option est affichée.

Exactitude du profil: (5.0)

Échange culturel: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)





N° de référence hôte : 544779565416