Help with Horses. Positive horsemanship on Vancouver Island, Canada

Country

Canada

Enregistré comme favori 123 fois


  • rating

    Évaluation d'hôte

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Activité récente

    11.01.2021

 
  2021 

 Séjour min. souhaité : Au moins 1 semaine

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    I am an equestrian coach specializing in positive horsemanship. We recently moved from the Kootenays to the Coombs area of Vancouver Island (sorry if you contacted us during our move and resettlement, it was a busy time!). We have 10 acres, 9 of which are very raw and in need of your help. If you like nature and animals, being kind to creatures and having quiet time in a beautiful backdrop, you’ll like our place.

  • Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Jardinage
    Bricolage et projets de construction
    Entretien général
    Aide dans une ferme
    Aide à la maison
    S’occuper des animaux

  • Objectifs de développement durable de l’ONU que cet hôte essaie d'atteindre

    Objectifs de développement durable de l’ONU que cet hôte essaie d'atteindre

    Objectifs de l’ONU
    Pas de pauvreté
    Faim «zéro»
    Bonne santé et bien-être
    Éducation de qualité
    Égalité entre les sexes
    Eau propre et assainissement
    Énergie propre et d'un coût abordable
    Travail décent et croissance économique
    Industrie, innovation et infrastructure
    Inégalités réduites
    Villes et communautés durables
    Consommation et production responsables
    Mesures relatives à la lutte contre les changements climatiques
    Vie aquatique
    Vie terrestre
    Paix, justice et institutions efficaces
    Partenariats pour la réalisation des objectifs
  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    While on the farm, you can gain exposure to alternative horsemanship, ethical human-animal co-habitation, holistic land management and hosts with worldly backgrounds to help you interpret your Canadian experience. Shannon is also a University English teacher, so she's happy to help you sharpen your communication skills!

  • Aide

    Aide

    Help with feeding and caring for 3 horses, some chickens (not yet here) and general farm and property maintenance. Suitable candidates may also get access to horsemanship education. However, if you are an absolute beginner with horses, please don't expect to have access to riding. These horses are not school horses. Building a relationship with animals comes long before riding privileges. And even then, only with the horses' consent.

    This property is new to us and is very much a work in progress. There is a lot of variety with the type of work you can participate in. Upcoming projects include happy chicken housing upgrades. Happy goat housing planning. Enriched, natural horse training park planning, design, implementation. Cabin upgrades. Gardening. Permaculture upgrades to the land. The list goes on! Very dynamic things to participate in!

  • Langues parlées

    English: Courant
    French: Courant

  • Hébergement

    Hébergement

    Currently offering private accommodations in a clean but older 2-bedroom mobile home. Our guest cabin may also be available but it is currently undergoing renovations.

    We can supply a combination of prepared meals and ingredients to make your own snacks. We use mostly whole food and healthy ingredients in our home and this is a gluten free (celiac) household.

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    We live in an area that is a beautiful mix of rural Vancouver Island and convenient ammenities. While our neighbourhood is full of small-scale farms, there are town conveniences within a 10 minute drive. There are also lots of cycling paths, mountain biking trails, farmers markets, sandy ocean beaches, etc. nearby. The adorable village of Coombs is home to the famous "Goats on the Roof" Country Market and all kinds of other quirky shops. The 800-year old trees of old growth Cathedral Grove is 20 minutes away and the surf haven of Tofino is about 1.5 - 2 hours away. Farmers fields, ocean, forests and mountains—all are in a reasonable distance to our place!

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Plus de 2

  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

N° de référence hôte : 536451215473