Help with gardening and some small DIY projects in Galloway, Scotland

Country

Royaume-Uni

Enregistré comme favori 22 fois


  • rating

    Évaluation d'hôte

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Activité récente

    28.09.2022

  • Last email replied

    Taux de réponse

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Délai de réponse moyen :

    ≤ 1 jour

 
  2022 

 Séjour min. souhaité : Au moins une semaine

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Come and enjoy the gorgeous Galloway countryside! I'm living in an old detached manse in about 5 acres of land. Just me here at the moment although I do enjoy hosting friends and am open to longer stays if it's a good match. The house lacks many "mod cons" (no central heating for a start - although there are storage heaters and log burners) but the garden and trees around it more than make up for it, especially in the summer.

    I'm vegan and there aren't any pets in the house - plenty of beasties outside but they do their own thing. A neighbour keeps a few chickens and they are out and free ranging on my land most days.

    My top priority at the moment is wood processing - starting off with some chain sawing. So if you've got chainsawing skills (ideally with your own saws, but I may be able to borrow some from local connections) you'd be VERY welcome - and given how much I value that skill (for a bunch of reasons it's something I've decided not to learn myself at this point) I'd be happy to negotiate a lower "time for accommodation" exchange. If this could work for you - let's talk.

    Otherwise there's always decorating to do in the house (if you can plaster - fantastic! If you're just about happy wielding a paint brush - that's cool too) and always more to do in the garden (weeding / clearing / planting perennials/trees/shrubs).

    Please do ask any questions you've got - let's make it work!

  • Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Jardinage
    Bricolage et projets de construction
    Cuisine/repas pour la famille
    Aide à la maison
    Entretien général

  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Borgue is a small village - there's a pub within walking distance but otherwise you'd either be looking at cycling or taking a bus to the local town, Kirkcudbright. Kirkcudbright is known as "the Artists' Town" and has a number of galleries and art activities going on. If you're looking for somewhere to have a bit of an escape from the hubbub of town / city life, where we're located is quiet with lots of space outside to explore - there's also plenty of nice walking locally.

  • Aide

    Aide

    Although I'll help to work alongside you when I can, you do need to be able to be self-motivated and may be working alone some of the time. I'm looking for people who are happy to get stuck in with a job and don't mind getting a bit dirty with it (be it muddy outside, or dusty inside). You don't necessarily need any experience of gardening or maintenance, but do let me know about specific skills you do have.

    If you'd prefer to work more hours on some days to have a longer "block" of days off that's usually very easy to accommodate.

  • Langues parlées

    Anglais: Courant
    Espagnol: Débutant
    Français: Débutant

  • Hébergement

    Hébergement

    You'd have your own room for the duration of the stay (with double bed) and would share a bathroom, living room and kitchen. I'd provide bedding and you'd be welcome to use the house wifi and washing machine etc.

    If you are bringing any pets or animals with you please let us know in advance so we can discuss whether we can accommodate them as well. If you're a smoker you'll need to smoke outside.

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    Gatehouse of Fleet is another good option locally - and there are loads of great walks and beaches very near by.

    You're welcome to borrow a bike to get around or I can drop you off at places by negotiation.

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Possibilité d’accueillir les digital nomads

    Possibilité d’accueillir les digital nomads

    The wifi connection is fairly reliable but may not suit you if you're doing very large amounts of data uploads. We also have booster plugs / homeplugs to boost signal in rooms where required.

  • Espace pour garer des vans

    Espace pour garer des vans

    Loads of space on the drive way (we had a large converted horse truck - I think originally it could take up to 6 horses - on the drive for the best part of a year) and an external socket for power supply

  • Possibilité d'accueillir les animaux

    Possibilité d'accueillir les animaux

    I'm open to discussing what could work if you have a pet to bring with you - let me know when you get in touch

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Deux

  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    4-5 hours, 5 days a week


N° de référence hôte : 526115616795