Besoin d'aide pour défricher autour de la maison, dans le sud-ouest de la France

Country

France

Enregistré comme favori 138 fois


  • rating

    Évaluation d'hôte

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    31  

  • last activity

    Activité récente

    04.07.2022

  • Last email replied

    Taux de réponse

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Délai de réponse moyen :

    ≤ 4 jours

  • Badges

    Top Host
 
  2022 

 Séjour min. souhaité : Au moins deux semaines

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hi - we're a British couple based in SW France our two boys have mainly flown the nest(!). We have lived and worked in France for over 30 years. 10 years ago we bought a run down watermill in a village close to Cadillac - half an hour south of Bordeaux in the vineyard region of the Entre-Deux Mers. The mill is now renovated as a lovely home but with 4 hecatares of forest/garden to tame, and given both of us work full time, we are struggling to progress on the outside renovation work and projects for the garden.

    Jobs and interest-wise, I work as a wine consultant, exporting all over Europe, we also have a restaurant and wine shop in our local town and have recently opened a second one about 40 mins south of here - I love wine, travel and cooking. Adam is very much into boats, gardening, Rugby and DIY. We have a sociable, lively life but also enjoy the peace and quiet where we live. With Bordeaux on the doorstep and easy access, it's a good combination for a happy lifestyle.

    We both speak French and English but normally speak English at home amongst ourselves. We have a 9 year old Border Collie called Iggy (as in Pop) and 11 year old Pointer-Beagle called Bono. Both are loving, sociable and adore being taken for walks in the forest. We also have 3 dwarf goats that eat the undergrowth in the forest (Amy, Joni and Freddie).

    Our experience as Workaway hosts from 2016 till now was excellent so we're all set to continue with projects in the year ahead, and look forward to meeting and welcoming lots more Workaways from April/May time, once the weather is fine.

    We are specifically looking for 2 plus friends who can work independantly without over seeing, we will point you in the direction, provide the tools and leave you to it as we work long hours and single people might find life a little lonely,

  • Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Jardinage
    Bricolage et projets de construction
    S’occuper des animaux
    Cuisine/repas pour la famille
    Aide à la maison
    Entretien général

  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Both Adam and I have lived abroad for a long time and travelled to many places. We were based in Burgundy for many years and cruised most of the French waterways when working on hotel barges in the 80's and 90's. We hope volunteers will benefit from a taste of rural France in an easy going environment whilst learning about the Bordeaux region, it's history and people. The beaches of the Atlantic coast are just over an hour away, there are cycling routes galore and plenty of places to explore in free-time.

  • Projets impliquant des enfants

    Projets impliquant des enfants

    Ce projet peut impliquer des enfants. Pour en savoir plus, consultez nos directives et conseils ici.

  • Aide

    Aide

    We would mainly like some help with some clearing of the forest (brambles and small trees), wood chopping (ready for winter), and also stone work (pointing/repairs). Projects this summer are décorating (preverably with experience) wood cutting and chopping, and lots of gardening! Oh yes, and the pool needs retiling and painting.
    Perhaps some help also with preparing meals if volunteers enjoy that. Volunteers need to be available to work 4-5 hours a day (timing to be agreed), 5 days a week and to be autonomous in their work. The exact project and daily schedule would be agreed mutually depending on individual skills and wishes as well as how hot it is.

  • Langues

    Langues parlées
    Anglais: Courant
    Français: Courant
    Allemand: Intermédiaire

    Cet hôte propose un échange linguistique
    We are both bilingual English/French, Adam speaks passable German and would like to learn Spanish, but is interested in any languages

  • Hébergement

    Hébergement

    We have 2 spare bedrooms in the house, with there own shared shower and bathroom. There is also plenty of flat space to pitch a tent/s,

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    There is a train station in Cerons, which is a 10 min drive away (train takes 20 minutes to Bordeaux) or there is an hourly bus to Bordeaux from Cadillac/Beguey, takes 45 mins and costs 2.50€.

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Espace pour garer des vans

    Espace pour garer des vans

    Ample parking space for camping cars in front of the house (on our land) with a 220v plug in

  • Possibilité d'accueillir les animaux

    Possibilité d'accueillir les animaux

    We have two non agressive male dogs, who normally make friends with other dogs easilly, but do like chasing cats!

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Plus de 2

  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week





















N° de référence hôte : 519196156692