Looking for a hand around the house... located in Lunenburg's "Old Town", Nova Scotia, Canada

Country

Canada

Enregistré comme favori 74 fois


  • rating

    Évaluation d'hôte

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

  • last activity

    Activité récente

    09.08.2019

  • Badges

 
  2021 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    I'm a self-empolyed single father with a 11-year-old daughter who lives with me half the time, and a 2 1/2-year-old son who is with me on a more relaxed schedule.

    We have a small farmers' market business which consists of honey and maple, locally sourced pancake mix/porridge, tinctures, etc. The Lunenburg Farmers' Market is every Thursday and we have been selling there for over three years.

    Our house is located in Lunenburg's "Old Town". Lunenburg is a UNESCO world heritage site. We are approximately a four-minute walk to the harbour. Lunenburg Nova Scotia is located approximately 75 minutes from the Halifax international airport and approximately one hour from Halifax. Our town is filled with all sorts of restaurants, pubs, shops, cafés, museums , tour boats as well as schools for studying art, music, heritage carpentry and languages. There are many world-class concerts happening year round at the Lunenburg Academy of Music Performance (just a half a block from our house), as well as open mic nights, Folk Harbour Festival, Boxwood Festival, etc.

    I have a number of projects on the go, and could use help in many different areas including forestry/silviculture, primitive building, gardening, property maintenance wild crafting, processing of herbal medicine, jams, jellies, canning, making syrups etc. but what I'm really looking for is somebody who wants to clean and maintain my household. Our house is 120 years old it is incredibly well insulated, well built and very large (2700 sqf). I'm not a hoarder but my house is untidy and disorganized. We are working on this with the help of volunteers like you! If you think you would enjoy cleaning, sorting, organizing, discarding and selling stuff for me online, then you would be very welcome in our home.

    I'm an excellent cook and my daughter Lilly loves to bake, but I would prefer to restrict more elaborate meals to a few times a week and special occasions. I would love to get into a routine of simple organic and local meals. We source about half of what we eat at the local farmers market every week and we are always happy to place bulk food orders for staples like organic rice, popcorn etc. I practice aikido three times a week and sail whenever possible. My daughter attends the Waldorf school nearby. She she is fluent in German and my French and Spanish are both good.

    PLEASE NOTE: We do not have Wi-Fi. However, the local library is two blocks away and most coffee shops in the area have Wi-Fi.

    If you have the ability to do research, write business plans or have any skills with respect to small business accounting these are also areas where we could always use a hand.

    Looking forward to hearing from you!

    Jason

  • Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Jardinage
    Bricolage et projets de construction
    Baby-sitting et jeux créatifs
    Cuisine/repas pour la famille
    Entretien général
    Aide avec des éco-projets
    Aide à la maison
    Pratique d’une langue
    Projets artistiques
    Aide informatique / avec Internet
    Enseignement

  • Projets impliquant des enfants

    Projets impliquant des enfants

    Ce projet peut impliquer des enfants. Pour en savoir plus, consultez nos directives et conseils ici.

  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Lunenburg is a great small town (population 2200), where it is easy to get to know your neighbours. There is a large German population in this town. It is a musical and artistic town.

  • Aide

    Aide

    We need help with organizing and decorating the house. We need help with cooking and cleaning and childcare. We have many projects that we need help with! Please write and tell us what your skills are. We are very open and accepting to everyone. :)

  • Langues parlées

    Allemand: Courant
    Anglais: Courant
    Français: Courant
    Espagnol: Intermédiaire

  • Hébergement

    Hébergement

    We have several rooms with comfortable double or single beds available. You may or may not share a room with another volunteer.

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    We lived a relaxed life, and love to socialize with others in our home. We are artistic and environmentally conscious. There is lots to do in Lunenburg, especially in the summer.

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Plus de 2

  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week




N° de référence hôte : 483537951998