Join our family get stuck in, relax and explore on a small acreage in Eudunda, South Australia

Country

Australie

Enregistré comme favori 23 fois


  • rating

    Évaluation d'hôte

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Activité récente

    23.08.2022

 
  2022 

 Séjour min. souhaité : Une semaine ou moins

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hi! We are Debbie and Anthony and are we relatively new to Workaway and the wonderful opportunities of hosting Workawayers. We have three children and a playful dog and are situated on 3.5 acres of land.

    We completed our tree-change from the western suburbs of Adelaide to the small country town of Eudunda back in 2016. We purchased the land to save an old dilapidated farmhouse just 3km's outside of the township with the dream of renovating it and bringing it back to life. The property had been left untouched for a few decades and we are still in the process of tidying it up in areas.

    We lived off-grid for the first 5 years, and were able to mostly clean up the land and create a dream design for the house. Work on the house commenced in 2021 and is still ongoing but during this time, the land has lacked attention, and your help will be most appreciated in this area.

    We love to live a low-impact, natural lifestyle by being mindful of our impact on the environment. We do eat some meat, however prefer to fill their diet with fresh veggies, fruit and wholefoods. We welcome people of all dietary requirements as we enjoy trying new foods.

    The property has some old mulberry and pear trees and since arriving we have added to the small orchard. Again, these have lacked attention and help would be appreciated.

    We are active members of the community. Ants is a volunteer firefighters in the Country Fire Service (CFS) and Deb is an elected member of the local Council. As a family, we actively contribute to the social club of one of the local pubs and the children play footy, basketball, netball and 8-ball.

  • Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Projets artistiques
    Aide avec des éco-projets
    Jardinage
    Bricolage et projets de construction
    Baby-sitting et jeux créatifs
    Cuisine/repas pour la famille
    Entretien général

  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Workawayer's can benefit from new friendships, being welcomed into the family including taking part in family activities. Attending local cultural activities, cooking new meals and getting a taste of country South Australian lifestyle. We also support any particular things that the Workawayer's want to achieve and we hope they can relax and unwind whilst staying with us. Our property is peaceful and quiet and the night time is perfect for stargazing and campfires (seasonal).

    Eudunda is situated in semi-arid landscape that is central to the Barossa Valley, Clare Valley (two famous wine regions) and the Riverland. A vehicle may be borrowed from the family to enable Workawayer's to explore the area in their free time. Eudunda and the surrounding towns have a rich history in agriculture and industry and surrounded with beautiful countryside, a great opportunity to explore. Events such as rodeo's, agricultural shows, motorbike trials and endurance, dirt circuit racing, rally car racing, Christmas parades and seasonal concerts occur throughout the year and are all within an easy drive. Other activities such as paint and plonk, seasonal swimming pool, horse riding and golf are also in easy reach.

    We have travelled to various countries and encourage Workawayer's from all parts of the world to stay with us. We love to hear about your experiences, and to learn about your cultures, food, living, stories, and language.

  • Projets impliquant des enfants

    Projets impliquant des enfants

    Ce projet peut impliquer des enfants. Pour en savoir plus, consultez nos directives et conseils ici.

  • Aide

    Aide

    The veggie patch has been neglected for some time now, as have just about all of the trees around the property. Grass and weeds are a constant chore so gardening of all types is always welcome. With gardening comes maintenance of small engine tools like mowers, so anybody willing to service these tools would be a great help.

    There is still currently some tasks to complete on the renovation of the old farmhouse and the caravan needs some loving attention, so if you are handy with renovation/building work then there is always lots to do. We also have some smaller projects in mind that can be started.

    Ants currently works in the city and Deb is becoming increasingly busy with her freelance architectural work, so some help distracting the kids, especially the youngest one, and preparing meals would be greatly appreciated.

  • Langues

    Langues parlées
    Anglais: Courant
    Français: Débutant

    Cet hôte propose un échange linguistique
    Ants studied French during high school and is more than a bit rusty. He can decipher most French text and speak what he knows well, however would love to become more fluent. The older two children have done a little bit of Japanese at school, and it would be great for them to build on this. As a family, we would love the opportunity to learn a little bit of any language we can and are happy just to help you learn English, if this is something you need.

  • Hébergement

    Hébergement

    We have tents and a two-berth caravan available for immediate use. Once we have moved into the house, a proper bedroom with ensuite will become available, which is currently being lived in.

    There is also lots of space for Workawayer's to bring their own tents, campervan, trailers, caravans etc. and power and water can be provided.

    There is an outdoor shower and composting toilet however Workawayer's are welcome to use the same facilities as the family when available.

    The living and kitchen areas are open to the Workawayer's to use and we like to share meals and welcome good conversation and to hear your stories. Workawayer's can also join the family for movies, cards, games and tag along to sports and other gatherings.

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    Eudunda township has most facilities (shops, pubs, doctors, pharmacy, op-shops, library) however there is no public transport available. The township is a 35-45 minute walk, an easy bike ride or a 3 minute drive.

    World class wines and excellent local produce can be tasted in both the famous Barossa Valley (30 minute drive) and Clare Valley (40 minute drive) wine regions as well as the Riverland (30 minute drive). Nearby points of interest include mining towns of Kapunda and Burra and natural wildlife, scenery, and walking and cycling trails. A world class musical experience is in easy reach at the Barn at Wombat Flat (seasonal) and the region is famous for its motorsport activities, including the HARDI Australia 24 Hour Trial, which is said to be the worlds longest running organised motorsport event.

    Please let us know if there is anything in particular you would like to see, do or achieve during your stay and we will try to accommodate this where we are able to.

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Possibilité d’accueillir les digital nomads

    Possibilité d’accueillir les digital nomads

    Wifi internet is available.

  • Espace pour garer des vans

    Espace pour garer des vans

    There is plenty of space to park your van, bus or caravan. We can provide access to power and water and have an outside shower and composting toilet. The use of inside facilities (including laundry) can be facilitated upon request.

  • Possibilité d'accueillir les animaux

    Possibilité d'accueillir les animaux

    Pets are acceptable however they need to be well-trained. Not only will your pet need to get along with the resident dog (friendly Labrador cross Golden Retriever), the property fencing is not fully enclosed and the surrounding paddocks have sheep. Having said this, there is lots of rope for long tethers, and some steel mesh fencing panels to create a yard type area if need be.

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Deux

  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    Maximum 3-4 hours a day, 5 days a week


N° de référence hôte : 477818619967