Learn about Croatia and help to renovate a limestone house and barn in beautiful Istria, Croatia

Country

Croatie

Enregistré comme favori 413 fois


  • rating

    Évaluation d'hôte

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

  • last activity

    Activité récente

    22.10.2021

  • facebook friends

    Nombre d'amis Facebook

    34

  • Last email replied

    Taux de réponse

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Délai de réponse moyen :

    ≤ 3 jours

  • Badges

    Facebook verified
 
  2021 

 Séjour min. souhaité : Au moins une semaine

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    ** Looking for April 2022 **

    Hi, my name is Jeff and I am from London. Come and help me to renovate a traditional Istrian limestone house & barn and create a landscaped permaculture garden & construct an outside kitchen/ breadoven/ barbecue/ shower/ garage on land opposite. I will also be checking out local restaurants & tourist attractions as well as walking paths and out of the way beaches & villages. We are within walking distance of a beach bar and the sea. There is also the possibility of an additional project clearing and tidying up a winehouse & vineyard off-grid near Zagreb with lovely views of the valley from the upstairs terrace.

  • Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Aide avec des éco-projets
    Jardinage
    Bricolage et projets de construction
    Cuisine/repas pour la famille
    Aide à la maison
    Entretien général

  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    I am keen to learn more about Croatia and the local area. My village has a bar/ restaurant and two supermarkets and lies midway between Pula and Rijeka. Eventually I would like to offer my accommodation to tourists so I am keen to explore local facilities by car and on foot so I know what the area has to offer. The house is on the old coast road prominent in the village not isolated. There is a bus stop opposite where you can get buses to major towns or even hitch-hike (Croatians are very laid-back). It would help if you could speak some German but this is not essential as English is widely understood in most towns & tourist areas.

  • Aide

    Aide

    I need help clearing the spare land of weeds & small shrubs. It would be particularly useful if someone could research how to repair dry-stone walls as there is one which surrounds the land which has partially collapsed in places over the years. There will be regular bonfires at appropriate times to dispose of the wood cleared & stacked from the previous year. There is a partially collapsed brick & concrete shed which I would like to re-roof and turn into a garage for a small car or a second kitchen with barbecue & breadoven/ outside shower. Ideas would be welcome here.
    There is work repairing & painting wooden shutters and staining the original beams that were exposed the previous visit. There is also work to be done on change-of-use converting a small barn to a habitable building and renovating the clay tiled roof. Any knowledge of the theory and techniques of revitalising & revigorating old grape vines could be put to good use too.

  • Langues parlées

    Anglais: Courant

  • Hébergement

    Hébergement

    The house has two large upstairs bedrooms and another room used as a separate bedroom downstairs with comfortable beds & mattresses. You would be staying in one of the bedrooms. There is a shower, washing machine and gas for cooking. There is no internet in the house (although a Roaming signal is always available) but there is free internet a short walk away at the Tourist Information Centre, also in most bars & restaurants in nearby towns & villages. We will share the shopping and preparation/ cooking of meals. I will provide one main meal per day but only require a maximum of 15 hours project work per week not necessarily spread evenly. Quite informal.

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    The nearest town is Labin about 9 km away where there are many shops and bars. Old Labin is an interesting medieval hilltop town with good views, restaurants in the main square and a picturesque 2km walk down to the main resort of Rabac where there is a marina and activities available such as scuba diving and boat rental. Plomin is another picturesque hilltop village that is seeing a revival with artists & craftsmen taking up residence and changing the ambience of the place.

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Espace pour garer des vans

    Espace pour garer des vans

    Any size of campervan or motorhome can be accommodated.

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Un

  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    2-3 hours a day (providing 1 main meal a day), 5 days a week

Ce sont des évaluations supplémentaires en option lorsque les membres laissent un feedback. La note moyenne pour chaque option est affichée.

Exactitude du profil: (3.7)

Échange culturel: (4.5)

Communication: (5.0)






N° de référence hôte : 465762548735