Help with home development/gardening projects Aberdare, Wales

Country

Royaume-Uni

Enregistré comme favori 316 fois


  • rating

    Évaluation d'hôte

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    33  

  • last activity

    Activité récente

    29.09.2019

  • facebook friends

    Nombre d'amis Facebook

    201

  • Last email replied

    Taux de réponse

    91.7 %

  • Last email replied

    Délai de réponse moyen :

    ≤ 18 jours

  • Badges

    Top Host
    Facebook verified
Contact S'inscrire
  2019 

 Séjour min. souhaité : Au moins 2 semaines

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hello,

    We are a family that comes and goes except for my husband who is around the home most of the time. He is a retired University Professor with Early Onset Alzheimer's Disease. As his eyesight and memory is not very good part of your work would be to make sure he gets regular food and keep a general eye on him. In return he will happily give you English practise. I am out at work Wednesday to Friday in Cardiff as I teach Biology.

    Our children are all adults and our daughter is currently working in Australia. Both of our sons are currently locally based so also come and go regularly.

    We have an evening meal most days but you will have to fend for yourselves a lot of the time and maybe offer to cook once or twice a week..
    A workawayer would be asked to prepare light lunch food during the week when I am not around. A small amount of money is made available, so that workawayers can help with household shopping and chose a diet that they will enjoy.

  • Type d'aide

    Type d'aide

    Jardinage
    Construction
    Aide aux personnes âgées
    Entretien / Bricolage
    Cuisine / courses
    Autres
    Aide à la maison
    Aide avec les animaux
    Aide informatique / Internet

  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    You will learn about the history of the house and the town. You can go for very long walks in the mountains and experience the fresh and often bracing mountain air. You can visit Cardiff which is the Capital City of Wales and see Cardiff Bay, Cardiff and Caerphilly Castles, the National Museum of Wales, housing paintings by Monet and Van Gough and has an outstanding Natural History display.

    At weekends, when time allows I can take you to see waterfalls or climb Pen y fan.
    The Gower Coast is less than an hour drive from here and can be visited if you are staying for a longer period. I like taking the dogs for longer walks and enjoy the company of workawayers for these.

  • Aide

    Aide

    Our home is an 1880's Mansion (7 bedrooms) that needs quite a lot of decorative work/painting walls/garden upkeep/log splitting, which is the main part of what I would ask you to do.

    Also it is very hard to keep the house clean so please don't come here if you have an allergy to dust or an aversion to dirt! I would want you to be enthusiastic about dog walking as we live close to a National Park, in the South Wales mountains, I find it a pleasure to be out with our two dogs but do not always have the time and hope you would enjoy this too.

    Now there is not so much going on here, so it will be pretty peaceful and quiet for a workawayer. My husband is here all the time but takes himself off to the local town to meet friends on most days. He is pretty self-sufficient but does appreciate companionship at home and needs to be reminded of daily tasks. I'd like you to help in the garden and/or house please, but when I'm out it is often enough if you can just keep things ticking over at home with dog walking, etc. Both my husband and I enjoy the company of travellers and like to hear about your travels.

    In addition, to two dogs, we have two cats and fish to take care of on a daily basis. I like the dogs to have a long daily walk of a few miles, at least, in the local country park, so this is a big part of what I would want you to do. I am in my late 50's and I work part-time as a teacher, so hope to find workawayers to be here at home taking care of things whist I'm out.

    You in turn will have plenty of free time, internet access, your own bedroom (possibly with ensuite and TV depending on who else is around). We can facilitate trips for you to local places of interest but we often prefer couples or partners so that you have your own companionship whilst you are here.

  • Langues parlées

    Langues parlées

    English

  • Hébergement

    Hébergement

    Own bedroom maybe with sink/ensuite, depending on numbers here at the same time.
    Alternatively shared family bathroom/toilets.
    You can help yourself to the food in the house and occasionally (or frequently if you choose) be the cook for all residents.

    Basically, I would want you to muck in so far as food preparation is concerned. We have a dishwasher and washing machine but we all load and unload them, as you would too.
    The work is very flexible but you have to get on with it largely unsupervised (and your help at weekends is particularly useful when I can be around). I will help you to plan your days off, if you like, to see the local sights. I do employ a cleaner for 5 hours a week but, I do some as well. Cleaning is quite a challenge due to the size of the house and the number of pets.

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    It rains a lot here and the house is quite cold so waterproofs and warm clothes may be needed [we will be able to lend you some]. Trains run frequently from Aberdare to Cardiff and there are buses to Swansea and Brecon. I would be able to give you a lift in/out of these cities on days when I visit/work in Cardiff but we need to be sensitive to the needs of the dogs and my husband too. Aberdare is a small town and is easy walking distance from the house. The train doesn't run late at night or on Sunday mornings but otherwise there are two every hour up and down to Cardiff. My son lives in Cardiff so there could be an opportunity for you to transfer your work to the City for short periods and take advantage of Cardiff life.

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Plus de deux

  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    25 hours per week max

One of my many projects...
This is a sunrise view in the Country Park nearby.
Scamp by name and nature. Collie/Kelpie cross who loves to chase tyres on bikes and cars, joggers, balls and postmen. Highly intelligent and not very obedient. Affectionate if he likes you! He does have epileptic fits occasionally. All our dogs and cats sleep on beds and chairs in the house.
Clover our plump Sprocker [Cocker/Springer Spaniel Cross].
Our family home.
Bill's Greenhouse
The house in Winter.


















N° de référence hôte : 451586288557