Soutenez notre ferme intergénérationnelle dans un magnifique coin de Caroline du Nord, USA

Country

États-Unis

Enregistré comme favori 72 fois


  • rating

    Évaluation d'hôte

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

  • last activity

    Activité récente

    01.08.2022

  • Last email replied

    Taux de réponse

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Délai de réponse moyen :

    ≤ 3 jours

 
  2022 

 Séjour min. souhaité : Au moins un mois

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a multi-generational family homestead deep in the mountains of beautiful Western North Carolina. My family has occupied this 108 acre farm for the past 43 years. Our private homestead is located 60 minutes from Asheville, 30 minutes from Marshall and 45 minutes from Hot Springs.

    We are looking for skilled and semi-skilled individuals who are willing to help us with the upkeep of our land. Jobs may include working in a small organic garden, clean-up, firewood, fencing, carpentry, landscaping, clearing trails and many other small jobs and projects around the farm.

    The weekly expectation is 10 hours of work in exchange for accommodations. The workawayers will supply and cook their own food and can share the harvest of whatever is currently in the garden plus fresh eggs. Community meals will be occasionally offered but not expected.

    The extent of the stay is best for us with a longer commitment of one to three months, or longer. Accommodations suit one to two people.

    We have a large rustic barn that has been transformed into living/ work space. You will have a kitchenette, refrigerator, bedroom, and bathroom for your convenience. We have many acres of dense mountain forest to explore as well as a fresh, spring fed pond to swim and sunbathe.

    Our private homestead includes 6 people, 2 dogs, 4 cats, 4 horses, and 15 chickens as well as lots of wildlife and birds. We are nature loving people who have a deep connection to the land. Our tribe includes an artist, coffee shop owner, yogi, acupuncturist, and two young explorers.

  • Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Projets artistiques
    Jardinage
    Bricolage et projets de construction
    S’occuper des animaux
    Aide dans une ferme
    Entretien général

  • Objectifs de développement durable de l’ONU que cet hôte essaie d'atteindre

    Objectifs de développement durable de l’ONU que cet hôte essaie d'atteindre

    Objectifs de l’ONU
    Pas de pauvreté
    Faim «zéro»
    Bonne santé et bien-être
    Éducation de qualité
    Égalité entre les sexes
    Eau propre et assainissement
    Énergie propre et d'un coût abordable
    Travail décent et croissance économique
    Industrie, innovation et infrastructure
    Inégalités réduites
    Villes et communautés durables
    Consommation et production responsables
    Mesures relatives à la lutte contre les changements climatiques
    Vie aquatique
    Vie terrestre
    Paix, justice et institutions efficaces
    Partenariats pour la réalisation des objectifs
  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    We live in an incredibly rich Southern Appalachian mountain culture where community, resoursefullness and living off the land run deep in the veins of the locals. Under normal circumstances, there is live music, festivals and outdoor recreation a plenty. Marshall, Hot Springs, and Asheville are all wonderful mountain towns within an hour of our farm and the Appalachian Trail runs close by as well. The French Broad River is 8 miles away and offers amazing whitewater for the boating enthusiast.

    We are deeply connected to the land and practice Andean Nature Myscitism (land offerings, honorable harvest, sacred reciprocity, creating and enhancing earth power spots), Eastern medicine (Acupuncture, yoga, qigong) and BioGeomety (ancient Egyptian Temple Science). We occasionally host workshops and will teach any of our skills to those who are interested.

  • Projets impliquant des enfants

    Projets impliquant des enfants

    Ce projet peut impliquer des enfants. Pour en savoir plus, consultez nos directives et conseils ici.

  • Aide

    Aide

    We are not a business and we don’t provide income. We require 10 hours of work per week, per workawayer. We do not provide meals but you will be able to harvest anything in the gardens that is edible and we have plenty of extra eggs to share in the warmer months of the year. We occasionally have group meals together but is not expected.

    Our 108 acres requires a lot of upkeep. There endless projects to dive into. Jobs may include working in a small organic garden, clean-up, firewood, fencing, carpentry, landscaping, clearing trails and many other small jobs and projects around the farm.

  • Langues parlées

    Anglais: Courant

  • Hébergement

    Hébergement

    Private, spacious living quarters in a large barn. The barn is rustically renovated with running spring water, bathroom, kitchen, bedroom, large open spaces, and plenty of privacy. We are in a remote valley with no cell phone service or internet. However, you can usually pick up cell service with a 5 minute walk down the road and our personal home has WiFi which can be accessed with a short walk as well. It is a MUST that you have your own vehicle as we live way out in the country.

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    We live in deep mountain forests with plenty of hiking and nature exploring. We also have a large pond with a dock in the middle and diving board for amazing refreshment and entertainment. Downtown Marshall (30min) has several restaurants, art studios, and a health food store, while Hot Springs (45min) boasts the Appalachian Trail, dining and soaking tubs. Asheville (60min) also provides a more urban experience of shopping, live music, eclectic art and night life.

    This stay is ideal for someone who values true dark at night, very little electro-smog, and no noise pollution—it is rare to find a location as pure and serene as this.

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Deux

  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    10 hours per week.



N° de référence hôte : 447968511342