Help us with the garden and building projects on our organic lifestyle block in Tahekeroa, Auckland, New Zealand

Country

Nouvelle-Zélande

Enregistré comme favori 295 fois


  • rating

    Évaluation d'hôte

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    11  

  • last activity

    Activité récente

    12.08.2022

  • Last email replied

    Taux de réponse

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Délai de réponse moyen :

    ≤ 2 jours

  • Badges

    Super Host
 
  2022 

 Séjour min. souhaité : Au moins une semaine

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    There are three family households living on our organic lifestyle block in Tahekeroa 40 minutes north of Auckland City. I live alone in my house though my two young grandchildren who live just 5 minutes down the road are frequent visitors. We are surrounded by native bush and farmland. We have large vegetable, herb and flower gardens, chickens an orchard and woodland to maintain as well as regenerating native bush. I work onsite in my workshop manufacturing herbal products made from many of the plants I grow. I also work at our local marae in my health clinic using homeopathy and rongoā Maori which for me is using using our native plants as remedies. I am continuing my Māori language study 2 nights weekly. I love to share about our Māori culture and language.
    I have a day a week with other volunteers creating gardens at the marae. There are sometimes workshop/ functions to attend at the marae which would involve being welcomed on through the powhiri process if this was of interest.

  • Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Jardinage
    Bricolage et projets de construction
    Aide à la maison
    Entretien général

  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    I am an active member of our local marae and am a speaker of the maori language. There can be opportunities to have an authentic cultural experience depending on what is happening at the marae. I like to share our kiwi culture as well, I will usually spend a day or two taking my guests (if they don't have their own transport) to some of our beaches or bush tramping walk if this is of interest...I love cooking and eating our own home grown produce...when the seasons permit.

  • Aide

    Aide

    I (Trish) work mainly from home making organic health products with most of the active ingredients being grown or sourced here at home. We always have tasks to do in the gardens particulary, weeding, weed-eating, pruning, mulching, stacking, chopping firewood etc. I spend 1 or 2 days each week at our local Marae in Silverdale where we have regeneration planting and gardening projects underway there also. The main pressing projects I am needing help with currently are maintaining the orchard and gardens as well as looking for someone who has had experience of making an outside pizza/bread oven to construct one here.

  • Langues parlées

    Anglais: Courant
    Maori: Intermédiaire

  • Hébergement

    Hébergement

    Sleeping arrangements are a separate, cozy hut with one double bed. Our toilet is an outdoor, composting toilet.

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    The closest public transport is from Silverdale/Orewa, which is 15 minutes distant. There are many fabulous beaches and regional parks all along the East coast including Whangaparoa peninsula, Waiwera, Orewa, Wenderholm etc. Puhoi historic village is at the other end of our road. Having your own vehicle would be best to enable local sightseeing. We have had wwoofers and workawayers visiting for many years now and they have all enjoyed the relaxed and peaceful atmosphere here. We do work hard but we also take time to relax and enjoy our time off.

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Espace pour garer des vans

    Espace pour garer des vans

    Cet hôte a de la place pour les vans.

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Deux

  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    maximum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week









N° de référence hôte : 442164567268