Companionship and conversation as I figure out how to be retired in Apache Junction, Arizona, USA

Country

États-Unis

new host  

Enregistré comme favori 3 fois


  • rating

    Évaluation d'hôte

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Activité récente

    07.08.2022

  • Last email replied

    Taux de réponse

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Délai de réponse moyen :

    ≤ 1 jour

 
  2022 

 Séjour min. souhaité : Au moins deux semaines

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    My name is Amy and I am new to hosting workaway helpers. My home is located between the Phoenix metropolitan area and the wilderness of Tonto National Forest, an area of 1.2 million acres of beautiful and dramatic desert. On your leisure time you can enjoy a beautiful view of a mountain from the deck behind my house. I am recently retired and I am an active senior adult seeking to establish a new retirement lifestyle that includes travel, outdoor recreation, making social contacts and new friends, healthy diet and exercise, and working on my house/garden. You can help me figure out how to be retired. I'm interested in being a work exchange helper myself, and I want to learn from your experiences.

    Please note that I only host during the winter/spring months of January - April when the weather is lovely and cool in the Phoenix area.

    I do not host smokers. Non-smokers only.

  • Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Pratique d’une langue
    Jardinage
    Bricolage et projets de construction
    Cuisine/repas pour la famille
    Aide à la maison
    Entretien général

  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    I love to travel and have been many interesting places during my life. I am also an avid hiker and in the past, a wilderness backpacker. I can share information about my explorations of national parks in the United States, trips to other countries, and wildlife encounters. I like food, and we can experiment with cooking recipes from other cultures together. You will experience the beautiful Arizona desert during our hikes in the area. There is a great deal of wildlife in the desert, including coyotes, deer, javelina, bobcats, rabbits, roadrunners, quail and many other birds. In the cool days of Arizona winters, there is usually adequate water and the wildlife is active and visible.

  • Aide

    Aide

    I am looking for a friendly workaway traveler to provide companionship and conversation as I establish a new retirement lifestyle. I want someone to go hiking and/or biking with me, play sports or games, teach me some basic language skills for travel if you speak other languages, converse with me about travel experiences, help with daily household chores like food shopping/cooking, house cleaning and household or garden projects. Companionship is my main objective so you should be fluent in English and have a sincere desire to interact with me during your stay. I wish for us to entertain each other with conversation. I love to laugh and make other people laugh so I will enjoy you if you can tell amusing stories about your experiences.

    My yard is natural desert but if someone with landscaping skills wants to help me design some special purpose garden areas for human or animal use, I am interested. There is always lots to do at my house but I'm newly retired so let's not get too ambitious with projects! I want time for fun too.

    I moved into my house fairly recently and there are still boxes to go through. I may seek assistance with moving boxes, moving furniture, organizing things, installing shelves or cabinets, or otherwise helping with the long-term process of settling into a home. The house is very cluttered at this time and may still be cluttered if you are my guest. Perhaps you can help me declutter, if that is your special skill.

    The best time of day in the Arizona desert is in the mornings, so most of our activity will be early in the day.

  • Langues

    Langues parlées
    Anglais: Courant
    Espagnol: Débutant

    Cet hôte propose un échange linguistique
    I am interested in learning new languages because of my interest in travel. My native language is American English. I studied South American Spanish in school, but have not used it frequently enough to develop fluency.

  • Hébergement

    Hébergement

    You will have your own bedroom in my house with a double bed to sleep in. The room is about 10 ft x 10 ft (3m x 3m) with a door that locks for privacy. There is room in the closet to hang clothes and room in drawers for folded clothing. There is a fold-out desk if you need work space. The large living room has 2 sofas for indoor relaxing/socializing, and an outdoor deck with hanging hammock chair and lounge furniture. The bathroom is shared between all household members.

    We will prepare a variety of healthy meals together from food that I purchase. You may also purchase food items that you prefer to eat or if you have special dietary restrictions; we will go food shopping together so this should not be difficult. I like good food so the food preparation takes time and effort.

    I do not provide WiFi access or internet at my house. There is cellular service that can be accessed from my home if you have a phone, and you can use your phone as a hotspot if you need WiFi for a computer. I can provide a ride to the local public library for internet access on your days off. Ask for more information if this is a concern for you.

    My home does not have cable, streaming services, nor satellite television (TV) . I have a TV that can play DVDs, and a small collection of movies. If you like to listen to music or watch TV, please plan to use earphones.

    Please consider whether the absence of social media and TV will make you unhappy if you stay with me. I prefer an actual life and don't have much of a virtual life on-line.

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    Helpers that enjoy the outdoors will be happiest in this location. My home is outside the densely populated area of Phoenix and there is no public transportation available within walking distance. The nearest town is about 6 miles away and the roads are not pedestrian-friendly. If you have your own transportation then you will have more freedom, but I don't require that helpers have a vehicle. There are no pubs or cafes within walking distance except a tourist attraction called the Goldfield Ghost Town, which has a variety of activities as well as a cafe and saloon. The Lost Dutchman State Park is close by and offers nature programs as well as hiking trails.

    I can drop you off in town about 6 miles away for your free days. With more planning and if you want to explore the metropolitan area on your days off, I can drop you off and pick you up from a bus station 12 miles (20 km) from my house. You can invite me to join you to explore something you are interested in seeing, and we can drive together.

    Please contact me only if you can stay for at least 2 weeks. Longer stays may be possible if we have enough mutual interests.

    There are some basic house rules: No smoking, no drugs, minimal use of alcohol such as wine or beer and no hard alcohol.

    I require identification and proof of travel insurance.

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Possibilité d’accueillir les digital nomads

    Possibilité d’accueillir les digital nomads

    I do not provide WiFi or internet connections. If you bring your own internet connection then I would consider hosting a digital nomad that works on days off (3 per week, with some flexibility about which days off you prefer). I request that you do not plan to work as a digital nomad on your 4 helper days.

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Un

  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 4 days a week.


N° de référence hôte : 438893892356