Gardening and DIY help in the beautiful Lot region of Ste Alauzie, SW France

Country

France

Enregistré comme favori 62 fois


  • rating

    Évaluation d'hôte

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

  • last activity

    Activité récente

    06.04.2022

  • facebook friends

    Nombre d'amis Facebook

    206

  • Badges

    Good Host
    Facebook verified
 
  2022 

 Séjour min. souhaité : Au moins une semaine

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are based in the beautiful and historic Lot region of Southern France. The house is a 200 year old traditional French stone farmhouse with outbuildings and lots to do! The main house is comfortably renovated and now work centers around renovating a little house and getting the grounds under control and making garden areas.

    This is a stunning area and perfect for relaxing, walking, cycling, reading, wildlife spotting , and sightseeing. The historic town of Cahors is 30 minutes by car. In summer there are always things happening...village fêtes, wine festivals, old car rallys, farmers markets, brocante markets, music concerts etc. Lots to do and see.

    The property is situated 90 minutes north of Toulouse with the airport of Bergerac at around a 90 minute drive.

    The house was uninhabited for 20 years and I have spent the last 10 years renovating it as money permitted. I am so fed up living in a building site and really need your help! This year I want to turn my attention to the grounds, maintenance, DIY and decorating projects. Thanks to the wonderful workawayers I have had the transformation of my small outbuilding into a fully functioning sewing studio and guest accommodation is complete. If spending time in this peaceful corner of France appeals then get in touch.

  • Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Jardinage
    Bricolage et projets de construction
    S’occuper des animaux
    Cuisine/repas pour la famille
    Aide à la maison
    Entretien général

  • Objectifs de développement durable de l’ONU que cet hôte essaie d'atteindre

    Objectifs de développement durable de l’ONU que cet hôte essaie d'atteindre

    Objectifs de l’ONU
    Pas de pauvreté
    Faim «zéro»
    Bonne santé et bien-être
    Éducation de qualité
    Égalité entre les sexes
    Eau propre et assainissement
    Énergie propre et d'un coût abordable
    Travail décent et croissance économique
    Industrie, innovation et infrastructure
    Inégalités réduites
    Villes et communautés durables
    Consommation et production responsables
    Mesures relatives à la lutte contre les changements climatiques
    Vie aquatique
    Vie terrestre
    Paix, justice et institutions efficaces
    Partenariats pour la réalisation des objectifs
  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    The Quercy region of France is exceptionally beautiful and steeped in history. I would be delighted to spend some downtime with you showing you walking routes and local sights if you wished.

    I like cooking and sewing so happy to share my knowledge with you.

    When it comes to building and gardening tasks if we don't know something there's bound to be a YouTube tutorial 😂

    There is a very active multicultural community here with French, English, Dutch and Belgians all jollying along together.

    We have a walking group on Tuesday mornings and Friday afternoons which you would be welcome to join.

    In summer there is a bustling weekly farmers market with live music in a nearby village which is great fun to visit.

    I can help you brush up your English and of course there will be daily opportunities to speak French.

  • Projets impliquant des enfants

    Projets impliquant des enfants

    Ce projet peut impliquer des enfants. Pour en savoir plus, consultez nos directives et conseils ici.

  • Aide

    Aide

    COVID 19 - Bearing in mind the current situation I understand travel plans may have to change at short notice. I offer comfortable private accommodation in a separate building. I am fully vaccinated and as I have health issues would give preference to someone who is also vaccinated against Covid.

    2021 is still a strange and difficult year for travel. With that in mind my priorities are maintenance & gardening plus some specific DIY & decorating works.

    I have some health problems which prevent me from doing heavy work lifting or involving lots of kneeling and bending.

    This placement would suit a mature in attitude, energetic individual. You will need to be outgoing, hardworking, enjoy working outside, in good health, helpful, easy to get along with and sociable. You will need to have a "can do" attitude, be motivated and able to help without constant supervision. Most importantly you must have a sense of humour!! In return you will experience real day to day life in the French countryside in a real French community.

    Tasks in the grounds would include cutting wood, digging, weeding, pruning, planting, grass cutting, hedge trimming etc according to the time of year along with general tidying and clearing up of grounds & outbuildings

    A clean full driving licence is essential and experience with a trailer highly desirable.

    I am a native English speaker and my French is also fairly good so we can speak either.

    Skills/capabilities which would be a great asset are:

    Drystone walling
    French electrics
    Plumbing
    Plaster boarding
    Upcycling
    Garden planning / landscaping
    Woodworking skills
    DIY skills
    Painting and decorating

    Whilst the intention is to work outside in the event of bad weather there is interior tasks to do. Don't worry you won't be bored!!

  • Langues

    Langues parlées
    Anglais: Courant
    Français: Courant
    Espagnol: Débutant

    Cet hôte propose un échange linguistique
    I’m a native English speaker with a good working knowledge of French. I’m learning Spanish so would be very interested in doing a language exchange with a Spanish speaker.

  • Hébergement

    Hébergement

    I offer comfortable accommodation in guest accommodation , wi fi,(bring your own laptop), TV in both French & English and of course good vegetarian/pescatarian food. You will have your own double bedroom , private bathroom and access to the rest of the house.

    Meals will be provided. I eat mainly vegetarian & fish based meals.

    Sadly I no longer have a veg garden due to my health status. However the fruit and veg from the local farmers market is seasonal and wonderful.

    You can equally bring your own camping car or caravan if you would prefer more privacy or not to be in a house.

    The household also includes Lily a very sweet little Yorkshire terrier, Mona a neurotic Siamese ninja cat and Néo a cuddly tabby cat. There are even nesting Perigrine falcons in the cliffs behind the house.

    This is a strictly no smoking household.

    The placement would suit an individual. The farmhouse is in the countryside about 10 minutes drive to the nearest town, so a car (or motorbike :)) is pretty useful.

    As the accommodation is in my own peaceful home I would ask that you are sensitive to this. You will be expected to help out with cooking, cleaning and household tasks.

    This is a wonderful wine growing area and you are welcome to try the local wines. I would ask you to be responsible and ensure your alcohol consumption doesn't impact on your help or relationship with others.

    I want everyone to have a happy positive experience so we reserve the right to end the work placement early if things aren't working out for us all.

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    Being both French and English speaking this is a great chance to develop your existing language skills.

    The Quercy Blanc is an area of outstanding natural beauty with unspoilt rolling valleys and sleepy white stone villages and hamlets nestled into the hillsides around, historic fortified villages perched on hilltops around every corner, stunning fields of sunflowers and plenty of sunshine.

    The countryside around is great for walkers. There are lots of well signposted walks/hikes in the vicinity and we are only minutes away from the famous pilgrim route of St Jacques de Compostelle. We are situated 25 minutes from the historic market town of Cahors. and in the heart of the Cahors wine region with plenty of domains and vineyards to visit.

    To find out more about things to do in the area visit the Cahors Office de Tourisme website.

    If you're looking for an active nightlife this is not the place for you. But for lovers of a quiet and tranquil environment, it's perfect. There's lots to do in the region including walking, local fetes, interesting cultural events, plus a wide variety of free music and concerts.

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Possibilité d’accueillir les digital nomads

    Possibilité d’accueillir les digital nomads

    I have full wifi connection in the main house.

  • Espace pour garer des vans

    Espace pour garer des vans

    There is a large parking area where you can set up and access to electricity and private WC / Shower room

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Deux

  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    Volunteers are expected to be available 4 - 5 hours a day, 5 days a week which could include weekends with 2 days off during the week. I'm pretty flexible so we can organise this between us






N° de référence hôte : 432835146757