Help in the garden and with house renovation project in the beautiful Charente-Maritime, France

Country

France

Enregistré comme favori 71 fois


  • rating

    Évaluation d'hôte

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    12  

  • last activity

    Activité récente

    29.11.2022

  • Last email replied

    Taux de réponse

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Délai de réponse moyen :

    ≤ 1 jour

  • Badges

    Super Host
    Facebook verified
 
  2022 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a couple who have retired early from our jobs in England and now live permanently in France.
    We are working on a large project to renovate a beautiful maison de maitre and its out-buildings in Charente-Maritime, France. The house is situated within 2 acres of gardens which also needs work including clearing areas and overgrown trees and bushes. The house is slowly being worked on, so there is plenty to do!
    We are particularly looking for people who have some experience in these things, and anyone with joinery or construction skills and experience will be a huge bonus!
    We are located in the popular village of Aulnay, with 4 bars (including 2 restaurants) and plenty of amenities within walking distance.
    We have 2 elderly dogs, who enjoy ‘helping’ when the weather is not too warm or wet!
    We have lots of varied work to do, including clearing gardens (which have not been managed properly for many years), assisting with internal & external house renovations, helping to build stone walls , digging to fit electric supply to gates, the list goes on!
    Although we are in semi rural France, there is a good mix of both French and English around to meet and mix with. The locals are very friendly and you will often end up chatting if just going for a morning coffee on your own.
    We like to meet people and hope that others may enjoy the little area of France we have decided to call home. There is plenty to do here within walking distance for those who don’t have transport. Tennis courts, bars, and an open air public swimming pool during seasonal months. It is a good way to experience rural France without being too secluded…

  • Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Jardinage
    Bricolage et projets de construction
    Aide à la maison
    Entretien général

  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    This is a beautiful area of France with a friendly reception. There are lots of places to visit within an hour of the property for those with their own transport.
    We live in a very lively village with lots going on, and the weather is an added bonus.
    For those who don’t speak French there are also quite a few English here too but the locals will always help.
    Our home is a building of historical importance to the village and area, and therefore it is of great importance that we renovate it with respect.
    We have a lot within easy walking distance, so those without transport can still experience rural France.

  • Aide

    Aide

    Garden work including clearance of areas such as overgrown hedges and shrubs, digging, planting, weeding and general improvements. Possibly repair and pointing of stone walls to someone appropriately experienced.
    Help with building of large wood store, and also an outdoor covered seating area.
    Possibly also assistance with any tasks related to internal and external renovations, for example sanding, painting, help with plaster boarding, pointing and so on..

  • Langues

    Langues parlées
    Anglais: Courant
    Français: Débutant

    Cet hôte propose un échange linguistique
    We are learning French and are happy to help others with English also.

  • Hébergement

    Hébergement

    The house is mainly un renovated, however our kitchen area is (kind of) finished and habitable so this is where we spend most of our time relaxing.
    We have a comfortable although not yet renovated bedroom (double) with easy access to a bathroom with shower on the top floor for Workawayers, where they will have their own privacy and space.
    Meals can be taken with us in our kitchen area.
    There are around 2 acres of garden area to enjoy also.
    We also have good wifi (fibre).

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    Plenty of things to do in the area of Charente-Maritime. Towns of historical interest and also cities (including La Rochelle) within around an hour for those with transport. Beaches around an hour away also.
    For those without transport Aulnay has most things you could need for Day to Day activities, including supermarket, 3 boulangeries, post office, 2 banks, a pharmacy, 2 bars & 2 bar/restaurants. Aulnay is famous in France for its beautiful church, and it also has a lovely public swimming pool open in summer months and a local tennis club.

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Espace pour garer des vans

    Espace pour garer des vans

    We have a large garden so have plenty of room for a campervan

  • Possibilité d'accueillir les animaux

    Possibilité d'accueillir les animaux

    Possibly. Will need to discuss as we also have 2 dogs of our own.

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Deux

  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Ce sont des évaluations supplémentaires en option lorsque les membres laissent un feedback. La note moyenne pour chaque option est affichée.

Exactitude du profil: (5.0)

Échange culturel: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)









N° de référence hôte : 432129487117