Help on my small unmodernised farm with the vegetable garden and animals in Manot, France

Country

France

Enregistré comme favori 4 fois


  • rating

    Évaluation d'hôte

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Activité récente

    10.10.2022

 
  2022 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hello lovely people! I live on a small farm with about 1 hectare of land and three old stone barns in a very rural part of the Charente. Small fields, dotted with the beautiful red-brown Limousin cows and interspersed with woodlands can be found all around here. The farm is situated in a hamlet down a peaceful and quiet country lane. I have two donkeys, 3 hens, 2 cats and a dog to keep me company as well as a multitude of sparrows and blue tits. My daily life consists mainly of looking after the animals and doing tasks in my vegetable garden. My approach is to do as mant tasks as possible manually. So I don't own any mechanised machinery for the land. The times before the Industrial Revotution often comes to mind.
    Living in this landscape and with this climate, there is an abundance of food that nature provides. At the moment of writing, it is autumn, there are walnuts, chestnuts and apples to collect and plenty of fruits to prepare for preserving.

    If you interested to stay here then a reflective approach on how to live a life less harmful to wildlife is needed. So if you're keen to use the bike and public transport rather than the car you will be very welcome. If you have heard of the Arts and Crafts movement and like their principals of avoiding using industrial scale products to craft tools and other items necessary for living then you get an impression what being here is about.

  • Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Pratique d’une langue
    Jardinage
    S’occuper des animaux
    Aide dans une ferme
    Entretien général

  • Objectifs de développement durable de l’ONU que cet hôte essaie d'atteindre

    Objectifs de développement durable de l’ONU que cet hôte essaie d'atteindre

    Objectifs de l’ONU
    Pas de pauvreté
    Faim «zéro»
    Bonne santé et bien-être
    Éducation de qualité
    Égalité entre les sexes
    Eau propre et assainissement
    Énergie propre et d'un coût abordable
    Travail décent et croissance économique
    Industrie, innovation et infrastructure
    Inégalités réduites
    Villes et communautés durables
    Consommation et production responsables
    Mesures relatives à la lutte contre les changements climatiques
    Vie aquatique
    Vie terrestre
    Paix, justice et institutions efficaces
    Partenariats pour la réalisation des objectifs
  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    The benefits of this cultural exchange are mainly related to the experience of working and living in a rural and agricultural environment. You can learn and practise skills to grow and care for food and learn skills to explore ways how to use resources which are freely available around the land rather than shop bought.

    I am an English language teacher and host and teach French students during school holidays. So learning English and French might be of interest to you.

    Patisserie is my specialist subject in cookery and I love to make cakes, pastries and deserts!

  • Aide

    Aide

    The help needed here mainly involves doing tasks and maintaining the vegetable garden, keeping the fields free from saplings, clean the donkey stable, feeding the animals and maintain fencing and fruit trees. There's also tasks to be done in the kitchen with preserving and conserving. A 5-hour helping day, 5 days out of 7 is expected. We will do projects mostly together.

  • Langues

    Langues parlées
    Anglais: Courant
    Hollandais: Courant
    Allemand: Intermédiaire
    Français: Intermédiaire

    Cet hôte propose un échange linguistique
    I'm originally from Holland but lived in the UK for decades, raising my two sons and working there as a teacher. Since 2018 I live in France and teach English as a Foreign Language.

  • Hébergement

    Hébergement

    The accommodation is in my spacious 4-bedroomed house. There is a bedroom with a double bed for you to make your own and shared shower room and toilet. There is good Wifi connection and the lounge and kitchen is also shared.

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    The often beautiful weather and quiet country lanes lend themselves to walking and cycling tours. The local town Confolens, about 15 minutes cycling distance, is very attractive with the river La Vienne running through it. In Confolens there's also a small cinema and a cultural (mainly music) site located in an old farm. Other cultural activities are organised throughout the year by the local authorities. You're very welcome to join in with the activities I provide for the students such as playing tennis, horse riding, playing board games, role-play, kayaking and swimming in the river.

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Possibilité d’accueillir les digital nomads

    Possibilité d’accueillir les digital nomads

    The internet connection is good and unlimited. You can use a private space to work from.

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Plus de 2

  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week


N° de référence hôte : 431833652322