Looking for help with family life in Darwin, Australia



Enregistré comme favori 127 fois

  • rating

    Évaluation d'hôte

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Activité récente


  • Badges

    Good Host

 Séjour min. souhaité : Au moins un mois

  • Description


    My name is Maria, I'm a fun, friendly mother of two (a girl aged 9 and boy aged 4).

    I run a creative florist business and between this and the kids it keeps me pretty busy! Especially in our beautiful Darwin dry season when the shop is busy with weddings and events.

    I love the tropical climate here in Darwin and decided to settle here 10 years ago. Originally from the U.K. I have done my fair share of travelling myself in Brazil and Australia, so I am happy to host fellow travellers.

  • Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Projets artistiques
    Baby-sitting et jeux créatifs
    Cuisine/repas pour la famille
    Aide à la maison
    Entretien général
    Aide informatique / avec Internet

  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    I have been in Darwin for six years and happy to share my knowledge of the local area. There are a lot of different nationalities here in Darwin so you can feel as though you have been in more than just Australia but the time you leave.
    I have a growing cultural knowledge that I would love to build on and experience living with people from different cultures.

    I have had people stay with me from USA, France, Poland, England, Nigeria and Brazil. I can speak Portuguese and love Brazilian music.

  • Projets impliquant des enfants

    Projets impliquant des enfants

    Ce projet peut impliquer des enfants. Pour en savoir plus, consultez nos directives et conseils ici.

  • Aide


    Looking for our next workawayer to start asap early March!

    Being a single mum and running a small business there is always lots to do! Occasionally I have to drop everything and attend to one or the other and I'm looking for someone that can help take the pressure off when these things collide.

    I'm looking for someone to help with the day to day keeping the house running smoothly.

    Childcare - looking after the two kids on Saturdays (fortnightly). They like to go to the waterpark, skatepark, play lego etc. Manual drivers licence required as you'll have our little car to take the kids to their activities. Morning routine, lunchboxes, breakfast, walking the kids to school.

    Cooking - prepare family meals a couple of nights a week. I would enjoy to share the cooking and experience new dishes. Let me know if you enjoy cooking. We don't have any special dietary requirements and the kids love things like - not too hot curries and rice, tasty pasta dishes etc. We usually do meal planner and coles shopping online weekly and top up with fresh stuff from the markets.

    Housekeeping - day to day look after house, occasional errands, hanging out the laundry etc. in the backyard picking up palm fronds, mowing etc. OR if you are super fun you can entertain the kids while I do this stuff. We have a weekly cleaner who comes to do the main cleaning like louvers etc. so it's really just the day to day chores, like washing dishes etc.

    Manual drivers licence is beneficial, then you will be able to drive our car or van to get around.

  • Langues

    Langues parlées
    Anglais: Courant
    Portugais: Intermédiaire

    Cet hôte propose un échange linguistique
    Cet hôte a indiqué qu’il souhaitait faire partager sa propre langue ou en apprendre une nouvelle.
    Contactez-le pour en savoir plus.

  • Hébergement


    You will have your own private bedroom, with single bed, window, ceiling fans and air-conditioning. I can provide you will a towel and use of Toiletries should you wish.

    Breakfast and lunch is help yourself, and we share the evening meal prep. We like to eat together and do eat early (between 5 and 6pm). As my kids are always hungry when they get back from school/daycare. This means we also have time to go to the beach or for a walk after dinner and catch the sunset.

    Other Ammenities:
    You will have access to the Kitchen, T.V. with netflix, Shower, Washing machine and all other ammenities within the house. We also have a large balcony with Hammock (perfect for reading in the afternoon), and very big backyard. You will also have use of Wi-Fi, which has a great connection.

    If you have full, clean driving licence, I will be happy to let you have use of my car or van for your own use (by prior arrangement with me, as I do sometimes make use of both in the same day depending if I am transporting goods or my kids!) should you wish to travel around Darwin and the surrounding areas.

    There is also a bicycle that you are welcome to use to get around on.

    We are walking distance to the main bus interchange at Casuarina, with regular buses to the city.

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    Darwin City Centre is very accessible from my home; A 15 min drive or a 40 min bus ride away. Close by to where I live we there are beaches, waterparks, shopping centres and plenty of parks.

    Casuarina Costal Reserve is the beautiful coastline very close to us, perfect place to watch the incredible sunsets we have on a daily basis! It has kilometres of unspoilt beaches, the option of turtle watching and it even has a nudist beach if that's your thing.

    There are two incredible National Parks a short drive out of Darwin, Litchfield National Park (100 kms) and Kakadu National Park (150 kms). Both are full of hikes, bush walks, waterfalls and plenty of wildlife including Crocodiles! A must see if you have the time.

    We are very close to Darwin International Airport It's only a 5 min Drive, a quick taxi ride, I have even had backpackers walk there from myself (although I wouldn't walk that distance myself!) If you come at a reasonable hour and I'm not busy I can pick you up.

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Possibilité d’accueillir les digital nomads

    Possibilité d’accueillir les digital nomads

    Some of the tasks required are flexible as to the times but some are not eg. taking the kids to school or Saturday childcare but there will also be lots of free times so if you have something you're working on this might be ideal. In the past our workawayers have also easily found some casual employment here in Darwin.

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?


  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

N° de référence hôte : 396489877251