Besoin d'aide avec mon jardin bio et divers petits projets de bricolage, près de Montpellier/Béziers, dans le Sud de la France

  • France
  • Enregistré comme favori 399 fois
  • Activité récente: 10 nov. 2023



 Séjour min. souhaité : Au moins une semaine



  • Description



    I NEED SOMEONE TO HELP ME WITH OUTDOOR WORK and perhaps some easy painting, bit of D.I.Y.
    IMPROVE YOUR conversational French/English while working? Learn about ecological gardening, running a 'gite' etc.?

    Perhaps mainly someone with green 'fibres', enthousiastic and not afraid of the outdoors.
    Non-smokers preferred but there is an oudoor terrace.

    You would be welcome in the country home, in nature, near the small village of Avène (7 kms.)

    My HAMLET ,La Mendrerie, is situated in the Natural parc of mountaneous Languedoc, (ravines, forests, lake etc;) one hour and a half from MONTPELLIER, and one hour from the Méditerranée. My place has a strong energy due to the many trees and other things.
    PS: my cat Vizou on the picture is unfortunately not with us anylonger...
    I am used to dealing with people as I used to be an acupuncturist, interested in healthy living. When in England, I set up one of the first centres of Alternative Medicine in the South. Great experience!
    I have been travelling myself on my own, backpacking and workaways did not exist!

    As am a French speaking Belgian, I came to France to be close to Mother Earth. I have renovated the small chestnut dryer into a small stone ecological GITE (one room, studio-like self-catering cottage), which is doing very well!. It has solar panels and the water is re-used for the garden and fruit trees.

    The gite (self-catering cottage) should be free sometimes to house workaways (see pictures) to be determined. It is situated in a very small hamlet in the contryside, half an hour's drive from shops and café. Avène Les Bains, well-known Spa place treating the skin, is at 7 Kms. and is only a village but with restaurants, post office but no chemist (bring your own médicine please). Avène Tourist office organises many activitiés including archery, yoga, sports etc.

    I was brought up in the Congo, am non-smoker, (you can smoke on the terrasse!) and have chosen to live away from the busy London to contemplate nature, and grow my own organic vegetable garden in this area of 'moyenne montagne' - 450 meters high, of Languedoc, SOUTH OF FRANCE. It is stunning with many varied landscapes from forests to ravines, streams, vineyards, and beautiful stone villages, a spa town AVENE les Bains, (one can find their products in Boots) and many watersport activities in this well-known Vallée de l'Orb (the river), as well as concerts etc. organised from Avène Tourist Office. We are near an Orthodox church and 20 mins. by car from a famours buddhist Tibetan temple, Lerb Ling.

    I make organic jams etc. for the children of Madagascar,. The bonus : QUIETNESS, SILENCE, lie down in the sofa in the garden with mountains view.

    If you are interested to learn to care for plants, or would like some tips as to how to start and run a 'gite' (holiday self catering accommodation) , this could be your place.
    I am passionate about ecology, I like to be quiet (but do go out to dances, concerts, theatre etc. and would be happy to take you with me, but can also be talkative, interested in philosophy, personal growth, joking, and mainly dancing .. I basically love life! There are only six other inhabitants in the Hamlet, not counting the dogs and semi wild cats.
    A bientot perhaps!

    PS : I CAN MAKE FREE CALLS to landline phone numbers to Europe (not mobiles) , Canada, and the States, so we could chat..

    PREFERENCE FOR RELIABLE PEOPLE who keep to the arrangements.

    -EN FRANCAIS ---

    Je suis belge, élevée en Afrique, non-fumeuse, une ex-acupunctrice à Londres et suis venue chercher le calme, le soleil, et cultiver mon jardin bio dans cette belle région du HAUT LANGUEDOC, (450 m.) l'arrière pays de Montpellier et de Béziers, pas loin des plages.

    J'aurais besoin d'aide au jardin/potager, de bricolage, .

    J'ai rénové un petit 'sèche châtaigne' et four à pain en petit gite Bio en pierre ( Bio-dule, de son petit nom). Il reçoit des gens de tous horizons et je peux vous expliquer comment commencer un gite et accueillir les hôtes.
    Vous pouvez être logé(e) soit dans le gite, en face de ma maison,(si il est libre) ou chez moi. Photos des deux logements ci-jointes.
    Ma maison est assez grande. On ne se bousculera pas!

    Étant parfaitement bilingue car j'ai vécu 20 ans à LONDRES, je m'intéresse à tout ce qui est la santé, médecine douce, manger sainement, la musique, la danse et emmène parfois mes 'workaway' ou il y a de l'ambiance, ou au Lac.

    La Mendrerie est un joli hameau de 5 maisons dans le Haut Languedoc, à une heure de Béziers et un peu plus pour Montpellier et ses plages;
    J'habite à 7 km. de la station thermale d'Avène les Bains ou on soigne les problèmes de peau. Il y a un lac ou on peut se reposer.
    La région est en moyenne montagne, magnifique, avec sa Vallée de l'Orb, et aux paysages variés, des forets de châtaignes, aux ravins, causses, rivières ou terres dolomites. C'est une région touristique mais calme et encore authentique ou on parle encore l'occitan.
    L'Office du Tourisme d'Avène organise beaucoup d'activités et il est recommandé d'avoir une voiture si on veut sortir. Sinon, je vous emmène en sortie, Le lac d'Avène est à 8 kms.

  • Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Aide avec des éco-projets
    Aide à la maison
    Entretien général
    Aide informatique/internet
  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Just look at the feedbacks and the profile.

  • Aide


    I mainly need 4 to 5 hours' help in the garden, pulling out weeds, digging, easy jobs, or some housework perhaps to vary the tasks, and look after your back !, and if you can do some D. I. Y, paint , and some doors. Cooking can be shared at week ends if you stay here.
    I eat little meat and can cook vegetarian meals. You can tell me what you like to eat.


    4 ou 5 heures seraient idéal pour m'aider au jardin , désherber, creuser, replanter, ou au ménage, faire un peu de bricolage.

  • Langues parlées

    Anglais: Courant
    Espagnol: Courant
    Français: Courant

  • Hébergement


    Either In the cottage, which is a one room studio of around 19 sq. metres (the gite) in front of my house, with your own TV and cooking things, or in my house in a 14 sq. meters comfortable room with mountain view ,My house is fairly large (220 sq. meters) with the terrasse overlooking the mountains. Pictures on this profile.


    Le gite est libre parfois le long de l'année
    Le gite, tout équipé avec TV, et radios du monde, fait environ 19 M2.
    Sinon, dans une grande chambre vue montagne dans ma maison.

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    It was after a very nice experience with a young lady who, after having been a guest in my gite, decided she wanted to do WHOOFING at my place. Mutual respect is what I value the most.

    The area is well-known as of outstanding beauty (Hérault, la Vallée de l'Orb).
    THIS IS NOT A PLACE FOR TOWN LOVERS and well manicured nails!. But we will go places some time if you stay for a while.


    C'est après une belle expérience avec une' whoofeuse' qui était d'abord une hôte dans mon gite que j'ai décidé de m'embarquer dans cette expérience. Respect mutuel et s'inquiéter du bien-être de l'autre, est ce qui il y a de plus important pour moi.

    Lodève et Bédarieux sont les villes les plus proches, à environ une demie heure en voiture, ou il y a des activités culturelles variées.
    Activités dans les villages : randonnées, VTT, pêche, ; conférences, concerts, sports et 'barruscades' organisés par Office du Tourisme, visite du temple tibétain, cinémas à Bédarieux ou Lodève (environ une demie heure en voiture), dégustation de vin, plages de Montpellier et Béziers.

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Espace pour garer des vans

    Espace pour garer des vans

    A medium size one only in the parking which is shady.

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?


  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    4/5 heures par jour max, 5 j/sem.

N° de référence hôte : 379887314995

Feedback (10)