mis à jour  

Join our small diverse hobby-farm dedicated to biodiversity and fruit and energy self-sufficiency in Wald, Austria

  • Autriche
  • Enregistré comme favori 614 fois
  • Activité récente: 6 sept. 2023



 Séjour min. souhaité : Au moins une semaine



  • Description


    Hallo !! :-)
    We just mounted additional 10kWp to our 8kWp Photovoltaik and there are another 4kWp left to shadow our loft conversion. It´s ready to be mounted together (mechanically). Also trees wait to be planted into the "wild" and, on the other end of the trees lifespan, firewood needs to be cut. Of course always the loft conversion needs to be insulated and dry-walled further. So if this sounds interesting to you- let me know. :-)

    Self-sufficiency is a keystone of the farm, where it makes sense (easy and rewarding). The farm is close to the community of Pyhra, 14km from the city of St.Pölten (train station), an 60km from our capital, Vienna. Three and a half people and some animals are permanet residents on this land - Grandpa and Grandma, Alois and Eva part-time. Grandpa and Grandma were already farmers, when our parents arrived in this world. They just speak German and so we can host only workawayers that have a basic knowledge of German. Although it´s hard to understand their dialect! :-) Not suitable for learners. My grandparents and I have two seperate households and there is a 45m² extra room for you. We call it the cinema, as there is a beamer and a Dolby Surround System. I do have to travel for my job every now and then, and Opa &Oma are easy going- so there is always time to enjoy beautiful nature and our friendly neighbours. I work as a one-man-show consulting engineer for hydropower. I still work on my PhD and I loved to travel before I settled on the farm I was born- I visited around 50 countries, often as trainee, worker and of course as a tourist. My girlfriend Eva is on the farm for 1-3 days/week and sometimes brings her daughters with her.

    We look for patient, fair to good german speaking motivated young men and couples that help Oma, our "house manager", in the garden and around the house. We invite you to try understand Opa´s dad-jokes and stories and cook together with Oma or Alois. At times we are weeding fruit-trees so they thrive, build dry-walls/insulation for our new kitchen upstairs, cutting (fire)wood - a little of everything :-) The woods around the farm are perfect for searching mushrooms and forest-bathing..

    We love to share our place and we like the interaction, but at the same time we need some "social rest" and therefore we start stays at around 10 days and limit them to around 3 weeks in general. I need to do quite some office work, and Opa & Oma are quite old, so you should also enjoy work- and free- time by yourself.
    We got a lot of work clothes, t-shirts, jeans, pollovers, rubber boots, .. for you. Just make sure you bring a pair of working/hiking boots.
    The Pitzelsbergerhof (farm) was once a dairy and arable farm, and has changed to a living project. We keep 3 ewes, 4 beehives, 2 cats and 5 chicken. In April we get around 4 lamb and in May we shear sheep. We consciously consume meat after slaughtering and butchering at home, living as close to nature as possible. We work with a minimum of external organic feed, so they need a lot of space/pastures and we plant many trees and shrubs to help feed them well.
    The garden has reached a manageable size and provides well, the orchard is cut into a fruitful shape. The old stables are reactivated one after the other, some gradually change into common rooms, wood and material storage, and other purposes more. We also got a Sauna.
    The woodwork is also an important part of the work especially in winter, as we use our own wood chips for heating and timber for carpentry in our projects. For example the pasture fences, a passive solar earth greenhouse, stairs, animal housing,.. We changed a lot to use less energy- we have solar collectors for hot water, all lights are LED, good insulation, clever management, photovoltaic for the electrical fence, 8kW for electricity and soon another 14 with a battery,...
    Spring, summer and early autumn are the busier times, but there is always time to look at the landscape of the Most4tel (region), because we are aware of the amazing spot we live in. There are beautiful bicycle tours and hikes around, a natural community swimmingpool that we have seasonal tickets for, the lakes and mountains are just a bit further away.
    We have to harvesting berries, feed the animals, check the fences, collect the honey, cook and clean the house, cut firewood and split it for drying- maul wood, water the vegetables, clean the pastures, dry fruits,...

    In order to understand you and your interest in our place- I would like to get to know you. Be open about your expectations! Just take some time to explain why you are interested in staying with us. Believe me, there is no wrong reason and there is a match for every intention. Let us check how we both can get the most out of our shared time.

  • Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Aide avec des éco-projets
    Compagnie pour pers. âgée
    Bricolage et construction
    S’occuper des animaux
    Aide dans une ferme
    Cuisine/repas pour la famille
    Aide à la maison
    Entretien général
    Aide informatique/internet
  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    We live in a unique setting facing the start of the alps from a south-oriented hill - in our back is the capital of lower Austria (St.Pölten, 14min, train station) and Vienna is just an hour away. You can learn about beekeeping, animal care (sheep, turkeys, bees), gardening, fruit tree maintenance, tree production, Kontiki-active coal, Terra Preta, cooking, how to keep supplies, build barns, tree care, hay making, sell products, prepare wood for heating, compost, ...

  • Projets impliquant des enfants

    Projets impliquant des enfants

    Ce projet peut impliquer des enfants. Pour en savoir plus, consultez nos directives et conseils ici.

  • Aide


    My grandparents are around 90 and they can need a hand here and there - but you really have to win their trust to get them ask for support. Usually Oma might need help harvesting berries, garden work, watering and maybe cooking. I do projects like planting trees and cutting wood, fence repairs and maintenance, weeding around trees, mucking out, tinkering / improvising, ... - always with instructions, starting together and with feedback

  • Langues parlées

    Allemand: Courant
    Anglais: Courant
    Espagnol: Intermédiaire

  • Hébergement


    We got a separate room for people willing to help on the farm, the meals will be together and you can spend your leisure time cycling, hiking, walking, watching animals and sunsets.. We got plenty of work clothes, so you can safe your clothes for your leisure time.
    Food is typically fresh cooked by grandma, meat if you like, but always vegetarian as well.

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    We live on a sunny southern slope with a view of the foothills of the Alps and yet only 15 minutes from the railway station St. Pölten. There are many hiking routes in around the village (12 houses), as well as cycling tours. We got river Traisen close and 2 beautiful lakes- you can get there by bike (we got some 4 you) or sometimes we go together by car. I can get and bring you from/to town (St.Pölten) and you can take the train to Vienna (25min by train, nearest capital and airport).
    We prefer stays around 1- 2 weeks, because work is always changing and the house rules aren´t too difficult to learn. We´ll always start work together and sometimes carry on in different combinations.

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Possibilité d’accueillir les digital nomads

    Possibilité d’accueillir les digital nomads

    Cet hôte a indiqué qu’il aimait accueillir les digital nomads.

  • Espace pour garer des vans

    Espace pour garer des vans

    We got plenty space to park indoor and outdoor.

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?


  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    ~depending on work and weather- around 25 hours/week

N° de référence hôte : 379336214742

Feedback (38)


Ce sont des évaluations supplémentaires en option lorsque les membres laissent un feedback. La note moyenne pour chaque option est affichée.

Exactitude du profil: (5.0)

Échange culturel: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)

Join us at the beautiful lake in Wolfgangsee, Austria
Stay in my apartment and look after my dog near the mountains in Villach, Austria