Come and stay with us and explore the beautiful beaches south of Sydney, Australia



Enregistré comme favori 127 fois

  • rating

    Évaluation d'hôte

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Activité récente



 Séjour min. souhaité : Au moins une semaine

  • Description


    If you love the beach and hiking, while not being too far from good coffee and cocktails, then this is the workaway for you!

    We are a semi-retired couple living in the beautiful Illawarra region on the South Coast, about an hours travel south of Sydney. Margaret is currently on leave from teaching and recovering an operation and Noel has retired from the property industry and is a keen fisherman and sailor and would love to take you for a cruise in Sydney Harbour in our little sailboat.

    We are still new to workaway and are working out the process, but would love to welcome you to the Illawarra. Our daughter's family have hosted many workaway people at their artist studio's in Melbourne and we've met a few of the lovely people who have stayed with them which has made us think that we might enjoy it too.

    Our house is on a double block with views of the mountainside, it's a 10 minute drive or an easy bus trip to Wollongong town centre and the beaches.

    We have two bedrooms for workaway guests. Wollongong itself is easy to get to by train and we can also pick you up from Wollongong station, or maybe even from Sydney if needed.

    We have a space for couples and for single travellers.

  • Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Entretien général
    Cuisine/repas pour la famille
    Aide à la maison
    Aide informatique / avec Internet

  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    If you like you can begin and end each day with a swim on North Beach or at the Continental Baths, which are both accessible by bus from our house.

    There are heaps of places to explore in the region includes beautiful landscapes and interesting townships, including places for bushwalking, walk-in camping e.g Uloola Falls or Kangaroo Valley. Sydney is an easy (and beautiful) train ride away and if we can we'd love to take you out on the boat to see Sydney Harbour from the water.

    Margaret is a teacher and can help with English practice.

    We love to cook & look forward to trading recipes.

    There are music, folk and cultural festivals in the region over the summer months, and lots of cultural clubs for the local Italian, Polish, German, Chilean, Spanish, Chinese community - to name a few.

    There's loads of surfing to be had in the surrounding beaches, great diving spots like Bushranger Bay, Skydiving, rock climbing, cycling and bush walking.

  • Projets impliquant des enfants

    Projets impliquant des enfants

    Ce projet peut impliquer des enfants. Pour en savoir plus, consultez nos directives et conseils ici.

  • Aide


    What we need is help with a big spring clean. We want to Marie Kondo the house!

    We have moved from a much bigger property and still have a lot of unsorted boxes in the house which are creating dust, and some clutter.

    The work we need right now includes:
    - cooking dinner 4 nights a week, because we love to try new foods!
    - sorting boxes
    - moving boxes and loading rubbish
    - unloading rubbish at the tip
    - vacuuming the house
    - sorting through things in the house to pare back clutter

    It might also include:
    - shopping for groceries

    As you can see the volunteering tasks are all pretty flexible, so we are happy for you work out your own schedule so that you can spend time exploring the area or doing paid work.

  • Langues parlées

    Anglais: Courant

  • Hébergement


    We live in a 3 bedroom house with a study, we stay in the master bedroom with ensuite. We can make our other two bedrooms available for guests.
    - One double bed in a private bedroom, shared bathroom
    - One single bed in a private bedroom, shared bathroom

    We would prefer non-smokers. If you do smoke, please only stay with us if you're comfortable not smoking in the house or the yard.

    We have internet available, which you're very welcome to use. I'm not sure how much data we have on our plan as we don't download much media, but I can check it. We've got plenty for normal web surfing and emailing.

    We haven't really worked out what to do with food yet. We'll provide basic groceries for breakfast, lunch and dinner and access to the kitchen. If you prefer to cook for yourself that is totally fine, and we'd also love to share meals at least 4 nights a week.

    There will be plenty of food available, but you may need to buy your own groceries if you have special dietary requirements.

    Our house is in a leafy residential suburb called Figtree, which is part of the township of Wollongong. People refer to the region as either Wollongong or as The Illawarra.

    Wollongong township is surrounded by semi-tropical rainforest, bushland and beaches and we have regular visits from finches, cockatoos, rosella and kookaburras.

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    Wollongong isn't always on the main tourist circuit of Australia, but it's an absolutely beautiful place. Besides pristine beaches, the dramatic escarpment covered in sub-tropical rainforest and surrounding National Parks - Wollongong is a vibrant multi-cultural micro-city.

    People have migrated to Wollongong from all over the world to work in our coal and steel industries and now we have a much more diverse and interesting local culture than many other Australian towns. Visiting Wollongong will give you a different kind of insight into Australian culture.

    There are lots of small bars, cool cafes and interesting artist-run galleries opening up in Wollongong. You can take a dip in stunning sea baths, eat fish & chips or fancy pizza on the beach or bushwalk up the mountain for big sea views.

    There are regular trains from Sydney to Wollongong, and it's easy to do day trips to Sydney. You can catch a train from Wollongong directly from the airport.

    We have a bus stop right outside our house that will take you to town.

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Plus de 2

  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

N° de référence hôte : 368969631321