Experience rural village life while helping finish off and improve our home on Dartmoor, UK

Country

Royaume-Uni

mis à jour  

Enregistré comme favori 224 fois


  • rating

    Évaluation d'hôte

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    19  

  • last activity

    Activité récente

    26.11.2021

  • Last email replied

    Taux de réponse

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Délai de réponse moyen :

    ≤ 3 jours

  • Badges

    Super Host
 
  2021 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We have a big 200-year old house on Dartmoor in the picturesque village of Lydford (Devon, England). We live deep in the countryside in one of the most beautiful areas of the UK.

    After a year of traveling the Macs are back at home, they have a young family comprised of two super boys, one large empty-headed dog, one medium genius dog and one friendly ginger bag of fluff lazy cat. The dogs need plenty of exercise and would happily go out ten times a day.

    The nerdy Dad draws comics all day while Mum spends her time in the gym showing people how to pick things up and put them down again.

  • Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Pratique d’une langue
    Enseignement
    Jardinage
    Bricolage et projets de construction
    Baby-sitting et jeux créatifs
    Cuisine/repas pour la famille
    Aide à la maison
    Entretien général

  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Any WorkAwayers would get to see a very rural side of the UK and experience what it's like to be part of a small village, its a very different way of life compared to the city; If your looking for nightlife and hustle and bustle...maybe look at another host.

    We would love to help you improve your English and learn some of your languages.

  • Projets impliquant des enfants

    Projets impliquant des enfants

    Ce projet peut impliquer des enfants. Pour en savoir plus, consultez nos directives et conseils ici.

  • Aide

    Aide

    Primarily we're currently fixing up our house and garden so inside we have lots of painting and decorating, woodwork and general DIY, we're also looking for someone who could teach our two young boys languages (NOT essential but it would be a bonus).

    Outside we have more woodwork, weeding, grass cutting, hedge trimming, managing veg-boxes, fixing/tidying/maintaining and such. We also have plans to build a pizza oven, dig a plunge pool (we have a small sauna)band rebuild our porch.

    While the boys are in school (0900 - 1530) we like to fit in any jobs that need to be done. We usually relax on the weekends but we're very flexible and are happy to work out mutually acceptable times.

    We have all the normal tasks that come with running a home cooking, cleaning, dog walking. We expect everyone to help with keeping the place tidy, clean up after themselves and help with preparing/cleaning up after meals.

    In return, we offer a bedroom with a shared bathroom and all food/drink, including alcohol (although we only really drink alcohol at the weekends).

  • Langues

    Langues parlées
    Anglais: Courant

    Cet hôte propose un échange linguistique
    Cet hôte a indiqué qu’il souhaitait faire partager sa propre langue ou en apprendre une nouvelle.
    Contactez-le pour en savoir plus.

  • Hébergement

    Hébergement

    We have two large spare rooms in the house with double beds and a shared bathroom with a bath and shower. We have a washing machine and a tumble-Dryer and a large kitchen with a dishwasher and an Aga. Whenever the weather's good we enjoy having a barbeque or some smoked meat in the garden.

    Our house is 99% finished so there are all the normal things you'd expect, hot water, heating, washing facilities etc.

    We usually eat meals in the kitchen/dining room and plan to do most of the cooking but would love to try your special dishes.

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    There's a bus stop right outside the house that will take you to the two nearest towns (about 30 minutes away by bus) Tavistock or Okehampton. Tavistock is full of boutique shops, has a busy market, great coffee shops and cafes. Okehampton has some nice pubs, places to eat and a great little cinema. There are regular buses from both these places to take you to Exeter (a smaller city) or Plymouth (a big city). One of us will be driving into town most days so there's usually the chance for a lift.

    We don't smoke, we're a bit geeky, we do drink, we exercise a bit too often we have a small gym and, living in a farming community, we eat a lot of meat (which is all ethically sourced from farms within 25 miles). Sometimes we get up early but most of the time it's pretty normal, we try to get the boys in bed by 1930 and get ourselves to bed at a reasonable hour.

    We are fully vaccinated.

    We would be looking for 5 hours help a day, 5 days a week, as a maximum.

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Possibilité d’accueillir les digital nomads

    Possibilité d’accueillir les digital nomads

    We have good internet (30Mbps) and completely understand that some people have their own things to do.

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Plus de 2

  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Ce sont des évaluations supplémentaires en option lorsque les membres laissent un feedback. La note moyenne pour chaque option est affichée.

Exactitude du profil: (5.0)

Échange culturel: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)













N° de référence hôte : 366899136717