Organic gardening and learn about wildcrafting in the Slocan Valley, Canada

Country

Canada

mis à jour  

Enregistré comme favori 131 fois


  • rating

    Évaluation d'hôte

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

  • last activity

    Activité récente

    24.10.2021

  • Last email replied

    Taux de réponse

    85.7 %

  • Last email replied

    Délai de réponse moyen :

    ≤ 1 jour

  • Badges

 
  2021 

 Séjour min. souhaité : Au moins trois semaines

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    I am a single, active, 57 year old environmental engineer and moved here from Vancouver about 16 years ago. I am happy to share what I know about gardening, cooking, construction and this beautiful area and its history. I love to dance, play music and host campfire jams and potluck parties.

    The property is surrounded by beautiful mountains and rivers and there are plenty of outdoor adventures to be had, including. biking on the rail-trail, hiking in the mountains, canoeing on the lake and floating down the river. Valhalla Park, Nelson, and Winlaw are all close by.

    It is my intention to share this land with others while preserving its beauty, as best I can. I particularly want to help heal and facilitate change agents, celebrate life with friends, music, dance and campfires. It is my intention to find friends who want to live here long term. My values include environmental stewardship, self sufficiency, wilderness preservation, wild-crafting, composting, and gardening. I believe in the power of positive thinking and creative visualization.

    I am interested in enjoying a high quality of life, helping people out and sharing my skills and experience. There is a lot of space for creativity and fun. I am into improvisational music and dance (ecstatic, flocking and contact) , planning, building and gardening.

  • Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Pratique d’une langue
    Aide avec des éco-projets
    Jardinage
    Bricolage et projets de construction
    S’occuper des animaux
    Cuisine/repas pour la famille
    Aide à la maison
    Entretien général
    Aide informatique / avec Internet

  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    I am happy to share my knowledge of the local area, construction, gardening, permaculture, composting (my specialty), wildcrafting, beekeeping, and music.

    There are many opportunities for outdoor activities close by including swimming, kayaking, canoeing or floating down the river or on the lake, hiking in the mountains, rock climbing, bouldering, biking, visiting old mines, and visiting aboriginal heritage sites. The beaches on the lakes and rivers are beautiful.

    There are plenty of experiences to be had here in the valley and in Nelson including artist tours, music, dance, theater, geology, mining, mushrooms, plant medicines, and making new friends, Nelson is a very colorful and is a big draw for lots of people. People go there to get away from normal.

    The area has a very interesting history and culture. Check out the Doukhobors, the Sinixt, Valhalla Park, Slocan Valley Rail Trail, the Vallican Whole and Humans of Nelson. Also in Nelson, check out the Kootenay Coop Radio, Ecosociety Markets, The Moving Center, Bloom, The Royal, Spiritbar, and the Shambhala Music Festival.

  • Projets impliquant des enfants

    Projets impliquant des enfants

    Ce projet peut impliquer des enfants. Pour en savoir plus, consultez nos directives et conseils ici.

  • Aide

    Aide

    My first priority is the garden with ongoing weeding, planting, pruning and harvesting. I am particularly looking for workers with experience in organic farming, permaculture or regenerative agriculture and passion for that type of help. I have beehives and have kept bees before, but am not yet sure if I will be keeping bees next year. I am also considering building a small greenhouse and/or a chicken coop.

    There is also always food preparation, cooking and dog walking for those interested in helping with that.

    A fixed schedule is preferred but not necessarily required. The length of stay, work and food options are all negotiable.

  • Langues parlées

    Anglais: Courant

  • Hébergement

    Hébergement

    Accommodation is in one of the 4 rooms in the shared guesthouse, or a detached hut, or you can bring your own. There is separate building with its own kitchen , WIFI, and outdoor toilet and shower. Workers bringing their own accommodation will not be required to work as much as workers taking a rooms or hut.

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    There are bikes and hammocks available. The nearest bus is a 20 minute walk or 5 minute bike ride away. There is an awesome online rideshare service called Kootenay Rideshare.

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Possibilité d’accueillir les digital nomads

    Possibilité d’accueillir les digital nomads

    Yes, there are several serviced outbuildings if you like working with other people around or if you prefer privacy. There is no cell phone service here but there is good WIFI.

  • Espace pour garer des vans

    Espace pour garer des vans

    Yes I can service a smaller RV.

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Deux

  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    8-15 hours a week/person depending on food agreement



N° de référence hôte : 362655431845