mis à jour  

Join our family as we get settled into a new home on the island of Alameda, CA, USA

  • États-Unis
  • Enregistré comme favori 176 fois
  • Activité récente: 10 juin 2023



 Séjour min. souhaité : Pas de minimum



  • Description


    **** we are looking for a workaway to arrive anytime between July 10th to July 24 and stay until Aug 7th. You would be welcome to stay a bit later as well.

    We are next in need of a work-away in the summer to help with garden work, family maintenance (cooking, cleaning, and helping get the kids to swim camps/activities), as well as some dog sitting.

    Hi! We are a family for four and one older pup living in the Bay area. We moved to the quaint island town of Alameda CA and need support with some home projects (if you happen to be into DIY projects), but also help with general home and life maintenance with two very active children. Jay works in gas control for the local utility company and Andrea is a social worker who currently owns her own practice. We have a 9 and 6 year old daughters and a 12 year old dog, who all love attention, music, dancing, nature, and general shenanigans.

    We recently moved into a 3 bedroom, 2.5 bathroom home. We are just a few blocks from the beach, the ferry into San Francisco, and the very bustling Park St. of Alameda.

    We currently looking for help in the summer, helping us to care for a small edible garden, cook meals, help us organize the home, clean, take the kiddos to camp, and just help us manage our chaotic life. Bonus if you have has some carpentry skills and could refurnish a table or build a mantel.

    We ask for general covid safety and are only looking to host other vaccinated and boosted adults. We are also looking to host either a female workaway or a couple.

  • Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Aide avec des éco-projets
    Bricolage et projets de construction
    Cuisine/repas pour la famille
    Aide à la maison
    Entretien général
    Aide informatique / avec Internet
  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Our family is vibrate, with regular family dinners and dance parties, We celebrate shabbat some Friday evenings and try to spend time in the redwoods or at the beach. We live in a small island town just across the Bay from the vibrant city of San Francisco and bridge of Oakland.

  • Projets impliquant des enfants

    Projets impliquant des enfants

    Ce projet peut impliquer des enfants. Pour en savoir plus, consultez nos directives et conseils ici.

  • Aide


    As we move into our new home, we need help organizing, building and getting our garden/backyard in working order. We would love someone who can help with some cooking and cleaning as we get settled into our home.

    We would love someone(s) who has skills in gardening and/or carpentry. Our main projects include building a cabinet and a fireplace mantel. We would want someone who knows something about plants and taking care of a garden. We also want someone who is able to cook healthy meals for our family and manage general household activities. We would also love to consider someone who could help us build or upgrade a website, and has a good understanding of SEOs.

  • Langues

    Langues parlées
    Anglais: Courant

    Cet hôte propose un échange linguistique
    We currently speak English in the home. Andrea speaks a little bit of Spanish but would love to learn more. We would love to expose our children to a variety of languages and ways of being in the world.

  • Hébergement


    You will have your own bedroom in our three bedroom house and a shared bathroom with the girls. The home is not super large, but we will try to give you the privacy of your own room as much as we can. Andrea asks for access the the room for 30 minutes a few times a week so that she can use the elliptical which is housed in your room. We currently have a queen mattress, which sits on a bed frame. We are heathy eaters, and will have dinner together many nights, unless Jay is working on night shift, but hope you can help with cooking some of your favorites through your stay. We will provide breakfast and dinner, but ask that you provide to your own lunches, as we are not typically around during the day. We also are sometimes busy on weekends and evenings ask that you be independent enough to manage when we are out and about.

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    The Bay area is an amazing place to explore nature, food, and water sports!

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Possibilité d’accueillir les digital nomads

    Possibilité d’accueillir les digital nomads

    Cet hôte a indiqué qu’il aimait accueillir les digital nomads.

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?


  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

N° de référence hôte : 354282586373

Feedback (3)



Ce sont des évaluations supplémentaires en option lorsque les membres laissent un feedback. La note moyenne pour chaque option est affichée.

Exactitude du profil: (5.0)

Échange culturel: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)

Strawbale house and organic garden on San Juan Island, USA
Help with some light tasks around our home in the San Francisco Bay area, USA