Experience life as a pirate on a sailing yacht in Ipswich, Suffolk, UK

Country

Royaume-Uni

Enregistré comme favori 125 fois


  • rating

    Évaluation d'hôte

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

  • last activity

    Activité récente

    22.11.2022

  • Last email replied

    Taux de réponse

    97.9 %

  • Last email replied

    Délai de réponse moyen :

    ≤ 12 jours

 
  2022 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Ahoy me hearty, I am Megan aka Captain Moo! I acquired me ship, a Colvic Countess 33 (1986) in July '21 with the idea she would become my home & office. She had sat abandoned at my local marina for nearly 10 years, initially I thought I could get her in the water fairly quickly, but it soon became apparent I had taken on a bit more of a project than I had first thought! I have spent nearly a year renovating and preparing her for the high seas & she was finally launched early July this year (2022) I was super happy she floated but there’s still lots to do with the aim to get her ready for sailing me around the world in another year or so.

    To fund my project & life I juggle my time running a Nautical Jewellery business , making and selling rope bracelets to stockists and online & managing a couple of holiday cottages. Along with a few other cleaning & ironing jobs thrown in.

    Since the day the boat went in the water I moved on full time and am adjusting nicely to my pirate life afloat. It has it challenges, but it’s providing me a simpler life that I was searching for & it’s massively helped that it is summer, the weather is nice and the river be warm! I haven't done much sailing but learning more each day. I have lots of experience on the local rivers, boats and am confident on the water but most have been motor or speed boats so the flappy sail things are still a bit new! I am really looking for someone who is experienced to help & guide me on that side of stuff… so it would be fabulous if you can sail and help with that…?!

    But if not no worries there are other boat jobs if I think you are a good fit to join the crew. However, it is essential that you are confident around water and can swim. Also if you need a shower everyday this isn't for you!

    ****
    If you’re interested some of the projects completed in the first year whilst the boat was out the water include – Installing new water tanks, servicing the engine, moving the heads (toilet) to make a shower room, plenty of cleaning, adding of gold and sparkles, polishing up the hull, cleaned 40 years on sludge & grime build up, fitted new bilge pump, painting, check sails and ropes… the list goes on!


    About me... hmmm I guess i'm a workaholic so any spare time is spent tinkering on the boat or on my bracelet business. I have a big & close family and we often socialise together at the pub or bbq on the beach at the weekends. I am a very slow reader but do enjoy a book, almost always an autobiography and I listen to music most of the time! I like all sorts of music but particularly enjoy a good sing along! You will find me on or by the sea and water in the summer, and I like to spend as much time in the snow and mountains in winter! I am hoping to go snowboarding in Japan this December.

  • Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Pratique d’une langue
    Bricolage et projets de construction
    Cuisine/repas pour la famille
    Aide à la maison
    Entretien général
    Aide informatique / avec Internet

  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Experience life as a pirate!

    Come and stay and be apart of my family and friends in a really unspoilt part of the UK and experience Sunny Suffolk life

    Be hands on with daily maintenance, learn how various systems on the yacht work, nautical terms, parts of the boat, help with rope work, learn types of knots.

    Get an understanding of tides and weather & how important it is to life at sea. Basic navigation & buoyage. Opportunity to stand up paddle board, fish & wild swim.

    I have travelled a fair amount and have also volunteered my time to various work away projects myself and am excited to be able to return an experience for others to come stay and help in my pirate world and discover beautiful Suffolk. I am a calm and motivated individual, probably work too much but also enjoy a beer, sometime when working shhhh (the delights of being self-employed)!

  • Aide

    Aide

    Life aboard is different each day, one day you might be fixing a broken engine or repairing a sail the next jumping in the river to rescue the dinghy you didn’t tie up properly!! I have tried to sum up each element of what sort things you might be helping with.

    Crew – being part of the crew you will help daily running of the ship, cooking, cleaning, help sailing/ move the boat when required, doing lines & fenders, hoisting sails, pulling the anchor up, steering, driving the dinghy, going ashore for shopping, laundry etc.

    Boat maintenance - The list is endless to get her ship shape! I spend all my free time onboard and prefer to help with boat jobs than to do my real work so will be on hand to show you the ropes and tasks. I also get a lot of advice and help from my legend of a Dad who often visits (along with his tool box) to give a guiding hand, as an engineer/builder and a life time on boats his knowledge is invaluable and he helps with bigger tasks, such as servicing the engine & hopefully soon the next most important job of getting solar powered up so we no longer have to worry about the batteries going flat!

    Various items on the do to list to give your examples include….
    • Cleaning, polishing decks & stainless steel
    • Sailing stuff, rigging, freeing pullys, servicing winches
    • Resealing leaky windows
    • Sanding and sealing/ varnishing wood
    • Cleaning the mast & spreaders
    • Research and Install solar panels and or wind power systems
    • Fix the water boiler/heating system
    • Electronics – get power to the windlass, fit anchor light, install shower pump, research and install gps, change to led lights
    • Design and build cupboard to store my ropes for bracelets, make new wash boards
    • Upholstery work & adding finishing touches, mirror, lights, make & fit curtains all cabins, design wind stopper for rails & crew t shirts
    • Rope work – splicing
    • Renovation of aft cabin – remove headlining and prep for new ceiling (winter project)

    Language – A life long goal of mine is to be fluent in French by the time I die, I'm no where near achieving that yet so anyone that can help with French lessons would be great!

  • Langues

    Langues parlées
    Anglais: Courant

    Cet hôte propose un échange linguistique
    Cet hôte a indiqué qu’il souhaitait faire partager sa propre langue ou en apprendre une nouvelle.
    Contactez-le pour en savoir plus.

  • Hébergement

    Hébergement

    Your own V berth in the forward cabin which has been recently renovated! Suitable for one or a couple or two friends. You will be living aboard either at anchor on the river or a swinging mooring during the summer months so please be aware the boat is not in a marina or hooked up to electricity and we have to take a dinghy from the shore to get aboard. At the moment life is quite simple until some of the upgrades are complete. The boat is surprisingly spacious, has running water (but only cold at the moment), shower, a manual pump sea toilet, galley with gas cooker, two cabins, & saloon (lounge).

    The boat runs on batteries which I currently have no means of charging unless the engine is running but hope to get solar panels installed asap to help with this.

    I manage a holiday cottage in the village just a minute walk from the beach near to where the boat is kept and this can be used for laundry, showers & wifi when there are not guests staying. The anchorage is also situated between two pubs, one either side of the river.

    Over the winter months (oct - march) the boat will be in a Marina with electric hook up and onshore facilities to help make life more comfortable when its gets colder! The marina is tidal but its still possible to take sailing trips.

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    The River Deben, where I plan to be most of the time is a quaint uncommercial river which is peaceful but also has a nice community of sailors looking out for each other. At the estuary is Felixstowe, a traditional sea side resort town with pier and arcades & up the river is Woodbridge, a market town with lots of pub and restaurants. I land at Waldringfield, which has a great pub, church, tennis court & playing field. You find lots of village locals sell home grown produce outside their houses.


    You can be close to nature, with lots of river and country walks, often see seals and the beach is known for finding sharks tooth. We are close to Sutton Hoo, the Anglo Saxon burial site. Public transport isn’t too great from the village but Martlesham (10 min drive usually I know someone going that way if you haven’t got your own transport) is better connected to the main towns. The closest train station is Woodbridge.

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Possibilité d’accueillir les digital nomads

    Possibilité d’accueillir les digital nomads

    I can't guarantee easy consistent charging of devices when onboard but will help when possible especially if urgent. :)

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Deux

  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week



N° de référence hôte : 347473546129