Come and farm in Cobble Hill, Canada

  • Canada
  • Enregistré comme favori 151 fois
  • Activité récente: 31 janv. 2023



 Séjour min. souhaité : Un mois ou plus



  • Description


    We LOVE farming. It is our life and our joy.

    We always look for workawayers who enjoy outdoor recreation, are enthusiastic, and are hard-working. Right now, for winter work, we are looking for someone who is mature and can take care of our house, pets, and even children while we are away for a few days here and there! We are open to international travelers, people who like being outdoors, and gardening, who like doing projects, and can work well independently. We work hard and we look for hard-working workawayers. We don't give you any jobs we wouldn't do ourselves.

    This time of year is our 'down time' as the main season is very busy and a lot of work for everyone. We use winter to catch up on projects, plan, build our business, and we travel a bit for work and fun. You will likely be working alone often, but we do have dinner together pretty much every evening. Some of the jobs will be garlic planting, wood chopping and splitting, vehicle maintenance, cleaning and organizing. We are also planning on some home renovations, so there will also be some work there. We don't look at set hours, and during the winter the schedule is flexible.

    There are also a few trips that we have planned and we are hoping that you are able to house-sit and take care of our two dogs (one is a puppy! They are both large and easy to get along with), bunny and 2 gerbils. There are a few days where James and I will be going alone and are hoping that you can help take care of the children, like making school lunches and helping them get to the bus that picks them up. James' Mum lives next door, and we also have friends who will be helping. If you have a driver's license, this would helpful!

    We offer separate living accommodation and cooking facilities (even laundry facilities). The accommodation will be shared with farm volunteers/employees, you will have your own room. There are always interesting people to meet around here. We provide basic grocery cards, and there is beautiful farm produce almost always available.

    We started farming 11 years ago with our little house in town in our dirt patch and with 3 chickens. We now have 5 acres, 6000 laying hens, a large greenhouse, several fields and three kids! We are also the bc/Yukon's Outstanding Young Farmers of 2019. We actually got a trophy for farming.

    We have hosted volunteers for several years and have really enjoyed having people from around the world live with us. Longer stays are a must, as people really do become part of the family! Many meals here have been shared and enjoyed.

    Keep in mind that farming is hard work. The days are long and sometimes the tasks are downright boring. Sometimes, in order to get the job done, we will require more from you. We trust that you are an adult and can speak up when you need a break. Our goal is to have enough people around to complete the work, but sometimes that doesn't happen. We do our best to moderate, but weather, plants, and livestock are our bosses and must be listened to! Either way, you will leave with a great appreciation for what is behind the food on your plate.

    We have had a lot of requests from Workaway that we cannot accept. Our answer will be 'No' if you are requesting (or are) any of the following:
    - help with a visa to come to Canada
    - are traveling with children (too much with dynamics with our own children to manage)
    - are traveling with your dog (they have destroyed too much farm property)
    - you cannot stay for more than a month
    - you are looking for a place to park your RV or tiny house
    - you need emergency housing
    We wish you well, and hope that you are able to find a host who can accomadate you.

    From our guest book

    "Thank you so much for the lovely four weeks I spent at your farm and in your family. It was a lot of fun learning all the things about planting and gardening and of course, selling the veggies on the market was one of the highlights. I wish you all the best for the future. May the farm extend and the veggies grow like Crazy!"

    A German Volunteer.

    "Thank you so much for having me. You guys accept me warm hospitality. I was really happy because you guys kept me company when I was working and give me a lot of different work. I've learnt a lot of things about farming and also you guys's life style. I had a really wonderful experience here. I'll study English more and more and I hpe to see you again!!!"

    A Japanese Volunteer.

  • Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Aide avec des éco-projets
    Bricolage et projets de construction
    S’occuper des animaux
    Aide dans une ferme
    Baby-sitting et jeux créatifs
    Cuisine/repas pour la famille
    Aide à la maison
    Entretien général
  • Objectifs de développement durable de l’ONU que cet hôte essaie d'atteindre

    Objectifs de développement durable de l’ONU que cet hôte essaie d'atteindre

    Objectifs de l’ONU
    Pas de pauvreté
    Faim «zéro»
    Bonne santé et bien-être
    Éducation de qualité
    Égalité entre les sexes
    Eau propre et assainissement
    Énergie propre et d'un coût abordable
    Travail décent et croissance économique
    Industrie, innovation et infrastructure
    Inégalités réduites
    Villes et communautés durables
    Consommation et production responsables
    Mesures relatives à la lutte contre les changements climatiques
    Vie aquatique
    Vie terrestre
    Paix, justice et institutions efficaces
    Partenariats pour la réalisation des objectifs
  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Oh my goodness! This question is hard to answer as you really can learn so much from being here. It all depends on what you want to learn, and how you want to learn. We are skilled farmers and good business owners. We adhere to several different governing bodies and are becoming masters in understanding rules and regulations. We speak English, and we like to do everything ourselves. We LOVE to celebrate holidays!

    Honestly, you will 'get-out' of your stay as much as you put into it. You will learn what you came here to learn.

  • Aide


    We have several winter projects around the farm and the home that need completing, like cleaning up the greenhouse and propagation house, chainsawing and splitting firewood, cutting back last years crop and preparing fields for spring seed, landscaping and maintaining areas around the farm, pressure washing items and building exteriors, digging holes, cleaning, and organizing workspaces, and helping prepare for the coming season.

    Other chores could include basic cleaning, organizing, help with the kids maybe some cooking, and help with some home projects like re-doing some rooms, and some renovations work.

  • Langues parlées

    Anglais: Courant

  • Hébergement


    You will have your own or shared room and shared living areas. As it is a fully furnished suite, you are responsible to prepare most of your own meals. Sometimes you can join us for dinner (If it is just you, we often share dinner). We provide basic groceries.

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    Helpers can borrow bicycles and check out the local lakes, rivers, hikes, farms, harbours, wineries and cideries. It is the best place on earth!

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Plus de 2

  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    5+ hrs a day, 5 days a week

N° de référence hôte : 344419836997

Feedback (2)



Ce sont des évaluations supplémentaires en option lorsque les membres laissent un feedback. La note moyenne pour chaque option est affichée.

Exactitude du profil: (5.0)

Échange culturel: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)

Support the creation of an Africentric learning village in Southern Ontario, Canada
Come and stay on a beautiful lake front acreage and help us start a farm in the Okanagan, BC, Canada