Help us on our croft land on the Isle of Skye, UK

Country

Royaume-Uni

mis à jour  

Enregistré comme favori 394 fois


  • rating

    Évaluation d'hôte

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    13  

  • last activity

    Activité récente

    02.12.2022

  • facebook friends

    Nombre d'amis Facebook

    784

  • Last email replied

    Taux de réponse

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Délai de réponse moyen :

    ≤ 3 jours

  • Badges

    Super Host
    Facebook verified
 
  2022 

 Séjour min. souhaité : Au moins deux semaines

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    A 5 acre non-commercial croft with numerous vegetable beds, an orchard, shelter belts with 2 polytunnels and 2 greenhouses to be maintained. We grow fruit, and a wide range of vegetables and sometimes sell surplus vegetables.

    We have chickens, cows, bees and a cat - and sometimes have pigs. We aim to be as self sufficient as possible. Work will include planting, weeding, hedge trimming, log chopping, pruning, peat cutting, woodland maintenance, building maintenance projects. We usually have visitors for two week stays but this can sometimes be extended once we have met you! We don't accept helpers under 18.

    We have some "no dig" areas and enjoy experimenting with new vegetables and gardening methods.

    Magnificent views and a beautiful beach are close by - this is a great place for hill walking, fishing and bird watching. Good home cooking and friendly hosts happy to help those wanting to improve their English or Gaelic.

    Other interests: Scottish music, Gaelic, heritage and history, films, politics. Bikes available for wwoofer use. Broadford or Kyle of Lochalsh are 3 miles away.

  • Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Jardinage
    Bricolage et projets de construction
    Entretien général

  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    We are happy to help with English or Gaelic language learning. We play music and are happy to share our skills. We like walking and our area is well known for climbers and walkers as well as being beautiful to visit.

  • Projets impliquant des enfants

    Projets impliquant des enfants

    Ce projet peut impliquer des enfants. Pour en savoir plus, consultez nos directives et conseils ici.

  • Aide

    Aide

    We mostly need help with garden work - digging and making composts, planting, pruning, log chopping, digging peats for winter fuel etc and general maintenance of our buildings here. Also hedge cutting in August and September and cutting down trees and chopping wood for the winter wood supply. We try to be a self sufficient as we can. We have well maintained equipment to make the work run smoothly and efficiently.

  • Langues

    Langues parlées
    Anglais: Courant
    Gaelic (Scottish): Courant

    Cet hôte propose un échange linguistique
    Happy to help with people wanting to improve their English of Scottish Gaelic

  • Hébergement

    Hébergement

    We have a double room we keep for volunteers or workaway visitors and we are happy to have single people or two people sharing.

    We like to eat good food and there will be lots of home cooking.

    We will provide all the food. We are not vegetarians but can cater for them if required. We have our own home grown veg and meat here.

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    We are a friendly outgoing household and welcome visitors. We often have our grandchildren visiting here as they live next door. We have been taking on volunteers to help with our land for the last 12 years so are experienced hosts. This is an area rich in wildlife and a great area for hiking and climbing and we can advise with walks and trips on Skye and we have some bikes to lend out to visitors. We are close to the mountains and ten minutes from the sea.

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Possibilité d’accueillir les digital nomads

    Possibilité d’accueillir les digital nomads

    We have a reasonable internet connection here. We have an online Music Publishing business so we try to work our small holding and run our business too. We can also offer a working space or our accommodation can be used for study or work in the evenings or free days.

  • Espace pour garer des vans

    Espace pour garer des vans

    We have space for parking a car, campervans or motor homes and land for camping if required.

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Deux

  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    Maximum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Ce sont des évaluations supplémentaires en option lorsque les membres laissent un feedback. La note moyenne pour chaque option est affichée.

Exactitude du profil: (5.0)

Échange culturel: (5.0)

Communication: (4.8)











N° de référence hôte : 338233917733