1 / 5

Come and help around our family farm and learn new things while exploring Bridgetown, Nova Scotia, Canada

  • Enregistré comme favori 39 fois
  • Activité récente: 21 févr. 2024

Disponibilité

  2024 

 Séjour min. souhaité : Au moins une semaine

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Infos

  • Description

    Description

    We are a family with a 70 acre farm in Annapolis Valley. We moved to Nova Scotia 10 years ago and have been trying to bring the 200 year old farmstead back to life. Our goal is to create a balanced environment with happy plants and animals and produce foods with no inputs from outside the farm -- still a work in progress! We have been growing a small herd of Guernsey cows who are the lynch pin of our homestead, turning sunshine into calories for everyone. When we started this adventure, we had three homeschooled kids who helped on the farm. Two are now in University and only home in the summer. We also have two Andalusian horses, two wonderful English Shepherd farm dogs and the usual suspects of farm animals, and a growing food forest and gardens.

    We rotational graze the cows and share milk with the calves who live with their mothers in the fields. We use the horses to reclaim abandoned pastureland and add diversity to the forest. We are steadily increasing our food forest to capture more sunlight through trees and edible plants. Everything we produce is consumed and recycled back into the farm.

    The horses are also my partners in my journey studying French Classical Dressage through the Ecole de Legerete:


    Our farm is in a beautiful valley, and we are a laid back family looking for some more hands to help out as our children move on. We have learned a lot about sustainable agriculture and would love to pass on what we have learned while meeting and learning from new people.

  • Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Aide avec des éco-projets
    Jardinage
    Bricolage et construction
    S’occuper des animaux
    Aide dans une ferme
    Cuisine/repas pour la famille
  • Objectifs de développement durable de l’ONU que cet hôte essaie d'atteindre

    Objectifs de développement durable de l’ONU que cet hôte essaie d'atteindre

    Objectifs de l’ONU
    Pas de pauvreté
    Faim «zéro»
    Bonne santé et bien-être
    Éducation de qualité
    Égalité entre les sexes
    Eau propre et assainissement
    Énergie propre et d'un coût abordable
    Travail décent et croissance économique
    Industrie, innovation et infrastructure
    Inégalités réduites
    Villes et communautés durables
    Consommation et production responsables
    Mesures relatives à la lutte contre les changements climatiques
    Vie aquatique
    Vie terrestre
    Paix, justice et institutions efficaces
    Partenariats pour la réalisation des objectifs
  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Helpers would have the opportunity to learn about:
    managing a grassfed dairy herd and how to milk and manage the milk
    Traditional cheesemaking
    rotational grazing techniques in practice
    composting and manure management and uses
    permaculture gardens
    historic food preparation, cooking, and storage

    Helpers could take riding lessons and ride the horses depending on ability and could bring their own horse.

  • Aide

    Aide

    We need help with a diverse range of farm activities:

    moving fences to rotate the cows through the pastures
    getting calves used to people
    tending/planting/weeding the gardens
    clearing out the winter's compost/manure from inside the barn out to the trees and gardens.
    making haystacks
    building rock walls
    managing the milk and/or making cheese and butter
    carpentry projects
    feeding the animals -- Cow/pig/chicken/horse/rabbit

  • Langues parlées

    Anglais: Courant
    Irish: Débutant

  • Hébergement

    Hébergement

    We have a camper trailer with a large deck situated somewhat away from the house, accessible to the driveway and the rest of the farm. It has a queen bed, a bunk room, and a pull out living space with a couch and table. It is older, but large and in good condition.

    We will have plenty of real farm food -- all our own farm grown meat, milk, eggs etc and whatever is growing in the gardens. We eat breakfast and supper as a family most days and visitors would be welcome at our table and/or can cook for themselves in the camper kitchen.

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    Annapolis Valley is a lovely area with many opportunities to experience nature, the Bay of Fundy, the Annapolis River, hiking and the historic local towns and areas. We have a car which could be borrowed some.

    We have so many projects on the go, but we strongly believe harder does not mean it is better and enjoy the challenge of finding the easiest solution to a problem by following nature. We would like to begin passing on what our farm is teaching us and are looking for a helper excited by the interconnectedness of the whole environment.

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Espace pour garer des vans

    Espace pour garer des vans

    Cet hôte a de la place pour les vans.

  • Possibilité d'accueillir les animaux

    Possibilité d'accueillir les animaux

    Cet hôte a dit qu’il acceptait les personnes voyageant avec un animal.

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Plus de 2

  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

N° de référence hôte : 321437195885

Feedback (3)



Photos

Feedback

Ce sont des évaluations supplémentaires en option lorsque les membres laissent un feedback. La note moyenne pour chaque option est affichée.

Exactitude du profil: (5.0)

Échange culturel: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)





Some help on our hobby farm in Enderby, Canada
Come and help on our 160 acre ranch in Westwold, beautiful British Columbia, Canada