Enjoy Lakes, Hiking and Nature on this 40 acre hobby farm property in beautiful Ontario, Canada

Country

Canada

Enregistré comme favori 45 fois


  • rating

    Évaluation d'hôte

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

  • last activity

    Activité récente

    13.10.2020

  • Last email replied

    Taux de réponse

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Délai de réponse moyen :

    ≤ 1 jour

  • Badges

 
  2020 

 Séjour min. souhaité : Au moins 2 semaines

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    UPDATE:
    We are currently requiring assistance with the following task (high priority):
    - Wood Chopping/Brush Cutting/Clearing Woods


    We are looking for a workaway for the month of September & October. Accommodation in our new tent trailer. At this time, we can only accommodate one workaway.

    Welcome to our beautiful piece of land just 20 mins from downtown Kingston, Ontario. With close to 40 acres of land, we have built a sustainable family home. Kingston is located just 1.5 hours from Ottawa (the capital of Canada) and 2.5 hours from Toronto. Our property is located in a gorgeous geographical region - the Canadian Shield. It features calm lakes, large maple trees and solid climbing rocks. Our property is 40 acres of mixed woods and fields along with trails and also runs parallel to a 90 acre Nature Conservancy park with trails.

    Our family has 4 school aged children ranging in age from 5-12 years of age. Our children attend a local community school in Kingston. They are active, lively and have a love of nature. We spend a significant amount of time together as a family enjoying outdoor activities - swimming, kayaking, hiking, walking, running, skiing, skating and much more! Our weekends are spent together as a family enjoying our property or exploring surrounding nature trails.

    Jamin stays at home currently (was going to college prior to covid) and Natalie is a school teacher (intermediate french) working in Kingston.

    We are open to workaways that are interested in working on our hobby farm or that have an interest in caring for children (allowing us to spend time completing tasks) and/or a mixture of both farm work and childcare.

    We live a sustainable and green lifestyle. Just this past spring we sold our family natural parenting shop in Kingston called Go Green Baby. We are now focusing on our family farm and spending time with our children.

    Our home is just 5 mins from two beautiful lakes that are perfect for swimming, kayaking and other water sports. We head into town on a regular basis so there are opportunities for you to visit downtown Kingston and explore the city. Relax at the end of the day in our wood fired cedar hot tub!

    Food is a priority for family and as such we eat incredibly healthy. We keep gluten (breads, pastas) to a minimum and eat lots of fresh veggies/fruits along with local/organic meats. We currently have meat left over from our own cows and pigs that we raised last summer on our property. We cook most of our own foods, condiments and foods and enjoy fermenting (sauerkraut, Kombucha, Kefir and more!). We welcome guests who have a passion for cooking as well since our kids enjoy trying to new meals (they are bored of the ones we offer!).

    We are currently looking for people who enjoy spending time with children and are wanting to get away from the city. We are looking for workaways who have prior workaway experience and are at least in their mid20's age.

    We currently have a small flock of sheep (7) and a small flock of chickens and turkeys (about 20). We also have a brown swiss/jersey cow and a jersey heifer.

    We have some large gardens that need caring for along with many chores around the home (carpentry, painting, washing/cleaning).

    Currently we are needing help chopping wood for the winter as we have wood-burning stoves.

    Once Winter rolls around we will require primarily maintenance assistance of our home, cow milking and childcare. As winter comes to end we will require assistance with Maple Syrup. We have 3 large groves of maple trees and in previous years have tapped up to 80 trees but we can do much more if we have more help! Coming up in the spring of 2020 we will require assistance preparing our fencing and fields for cows, pigs and chickens again as we are running out of our own meat.

    All of our meat is ethical, organic and free of pesticides/hormones/gmo's. Once the animals arrive we will be needing help with caring for the animals.

    Please be prepared for the following:
    -Kingston fall weather is mixed. It could be warm (20 degrees celcius) or cooler (10 degrees celcius). It can be rainy and cool or hot and humid.
    -Kingston winter weather is cold (usually between minus 10 to minus 40 from December through March).
    -Kingston summer weather is typically hot (20-35 degrees celcius) and humid.
    -Bring rain boots, winter boots, work boots, working clothes, work gloves and layers. Merino wool makes a great base layer.
    -We have 4 children in our home so it is not quiet during the day. If you are looking for a quiet retreat this is not the spot for you. If you are looking for fun, adventure and excitement, we are a fabulous bunch!
    -We have limited internet and cell service. We are on Satellite internet which is not that reliable and we have limited bandwith usage. Be prepared for this! Luckily we play a lot of board games and spend time as a family together.
    -You are expected to help with meals (preparation and clean up of meals).
    -Be expected to work 5 hours per day for 5 days per week. Work can be done indoors or outdoors and hours can be done at times convenient for you throughout the day.
    -You are responsible for helping with chores in the home and keeping up with your own laundry.
    -Smoking is prohibited
    -Ensure that you have travel insurance.
    -We can offer rides into town on weekdays when the kids are in school and at times you may have access to an additional vehicle.


    We look forward to hearing from you and discussing opportunities further :)

    Natalie, Jamin and family

  • Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Jardinage
    Bricolage et projets de construction
    Baby-sitting et jeux créatifs
    Préparer les repas / cuisiner pour la famille
    Entretien général
    Aide à la maison
    S’occuper des animaux
    Aide informatique / avec Internet
    Enseignement

  • Objectifs de développement durable de l’ONU que cet hôte essaie d'atteindre

    Objectifs de développement durable de l’ONU que cet hôte essaie d'atteindre

    Objectifs de l’ONU
    Pas de pauvreté
    Faim «zéro»
    Bonne santé et bien-être
    Éducation de qualité
    Égalité entre les sexes
    Eau propre et assainissement
    Énergie propre et d'un coût abordable
    Travail décent et croissance économique
    Industrie, innovation et infrastructure
    Inégalités réduites
    Villes et communautés durables
    Consommation et production responsables
    Mesures relatives à la lutte contre les changements climatiques
    Vie aquatique
    Vie terrestre
    Paix, justice et institutions efficaces
    Partenariats pour la réalisation des objectifs
  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Workaways will benefit tremendously from our eco friendly lifestyle and experiences of owning a 40 acre hobby farm with 4 kids. Learn about entrepreneurship from Natalie and Jamin and have fun with the children at the same time.

    You will learn about:
    - Gardening
    - Carpentry
    - Caring for children
    - Maple Syrup
    - Sustainable farming
    - Sustainable living

    Natalie speaks french and you can learn both English and French.

    You will also have the opportunity to meet a community of like minded individuals. Kingston is a fabulous city to learn about sustainable farming and lifestyles. The landscape in Kingston gorgeous

    If you enjoy rock hunting then this is the spot for you! My husband spends much of his free time rock hounding and searching mines for various types of gems and crystals (apetite, mica, granite, limestone, quartz, etc).

  • Aide

    Aide

    We are looking for assistance with the following tasks in no particular order. Tasks can be discussed based on the skills you have to offer

    Fall
    - Childcare before/after school (driver's license preferable but not necessary)
    - Chopping Wood
    - Tidying up gardens and getting them ready for winter/spring
    - Clean out barn and chicken coop
    - Preparing small greenhouse for greens and sprouts for fall/winter
    - Cutting back brush and trimming apple trees
    - Building a cold frame
    - Building a deck
    - Creating wood storage along side of home
    - Creating more walking and skiing trails
    - Creating mountain biking trails & outdoor play area for kids


    Spring
    - Getting fences ready for animals
    - Building shelters for animals (moveable chicken coops, lean to's for pigs/cows, etc)
    - Seed planting
    - Weeding gardens and building new garden beds
    - Trimming back bushes

    Summer
    -Chopping wood
    -Watering plants and weeding gardens
    - Cutting back brush and trimming apple trees
    - Building a cold frame
    - Building a deck
    - Creating wood storage along side of home

  • Languages

    Langues parlées
    English: Courant
    French: Courant

    Cet hôte propose un échange linguistique
    Cet hôte a indiqué qu’il souhaitait faire partager sa propre langue ou en apprendre une nouvelle.
    Contactez-le pour en savoir plus.

  • Hébergement

    Hébergement

    We live in a 4 bedroom home. Our home is a barn conversion built with limestone - amazing architecture.

    We have a tent trailer available during the spring, summer and fall.

    At times you may have access to a vehicle but otherwise we head into town on weekdays to drop the children off at school.

    We have bicycles you can use along with kayaks.

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    We live about 20 minutes from downtown Kingston in a small village. There is a local restaurant and convenience store located close to our home. Otherwise we are surrounded by lakes, walking/hiking trails and beautiful scenery.
    Kingston is 1.5 hours to Ottawa, 2 hours to Montreal and 2.5 hours toToronto. There is a train station and bus station in Kingston which can take you to larger cities if you would like to visit.
    Kingston has delicious restaurants, lots of arts, music and theatres and a vibrant community.

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Possibilité d’accueillir les digital nomads

    Possibilité d’accueillir les digital nomads

    We have space in our kitchen, living room to hook up to the net. Our internet is limited to a certain degree; therefore, if you are going to be downloading large documents frequently or viewing media regularly it may not work well for us.

  • Espace pour garer des vans

    Espace pour garer des vans

    We have tons of space to park your van. Come on by :)

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Un

  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    Maximum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week


N° de référence hôte : 299523199999