Mushroom farming, gardening and other help in our fairytale home by Molde, Norway

Country

Norvège

mis à jour  

Enregistré comme favori 1303 fois


  • rating

    Évaluation d'hôte

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

  • last activity

    Activité récente

    01.07.2020

  • facebook friends

    Nombre d'amis Facebook

    1326

  • Badges

    Good Host
    Facebook verified
 
  2020 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Greetings! We are a creative couple (Janne and Ruben) living in a fjord at the norwegian west coast, where we have wonderful nature close at hand. We love to make everything around us beautiful and like a fairytale, and we try to live as sustainable as possible, we love the principles of permaculture. We bought this house and 1 acre garden 4 years ago, our property is located by the fjord with a couple of small beaches close by, as well as the forest and the mountains basically at our doorstep. We have various fruit trees, berry bushes and vegetable patches. We live here with our 2 cats and 4 ducks. We run a small mushroom farm (allthough please note, we don't really have a farm, it is more like a little homestead). We have our own cozy campfire place. And a row boat if you like the sea or fishing.

    Important update: Our baby was born in June 2019, you would have to be ok with staying in a home where there is a baby :) He most likely won't disturb your sleep though. (If you're comfortable with babies we're also looking for someone who want to look after him a bit, but only if you want to.)

  • Type d'aide

    Type d'aide

    Jardinage
    Construction
    Baby-sitting / garde d’enfant
    Entretien / Bricolage
    Cuisine / courses
    Aide à la ferme
    Eco-volontariat
    Aide à la maison
    Aide avec les animaux
    Projet artistique

  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    When we are at home we love to talk and teach about a wide range of topics, like permaculture , ecovillages , self sufficiency , foraging , mushroom farming , sustainable living , homesteading , organic gardening , arts and crafts , music , cooking... as well as myths, stories and old norse culture and so on.

    We live quite remote and rural, so not a lot happening around here, there is a small museum and art gallery 5 minutes walk from our property and sometimes conserts at the little fjord hotel, where they also have spa and a restaurant.

  • Aide

    Aide

    Life here requires physical and practical work and therefore we really value hardworking and self-motivated people. It is important to us that you really want to be here and that you are interested in what we do, and if you include that in your message we are more likely to answer.


    The work here, when we are at home: We need help for various tasks, here are some of our current projects: work on our small-scale mushroom farm (working both outdoors and indoors, the mushrooms grows indoors all year, we grow 4 different types), house renovating, making more vegetable beds, herb spiral, collecting seaweed for mulching/manure, mulching around trees and shrubs, help at the markets, cutting trees/forestry, fishing, foraging, changing the roof, cooking and cleaning, pruning fruit trees, gathering eggs and feeding the ducks, weeding, converting old wv beetle into an electric vehicle, turning a large container into additional mushroom growing space, making rustic fence for garden bridges and other creative projects in the garden etc... We can talk about what you would want to do, and what we most need help for at the moment.

    Also some other specific skills we would value at the moment are carpentry, electrician, plumbing ;)


    When we are away: We are looking for a mature, responsible and honest person who wants to visit Norway and spend some time looking after our cats, ducks, mushrooms and the house. It is perfect for someone who wish to spend time on their own and perhaps write, paint or have other hobbies that require some peace and quiet. Or for a couple who wish to be at a calm place with nature all around.

    You would have to take care of the house and garden. Usually you will also have to look after our mushrooms, instructions will be given and it's not that difficult. Make sure the cats have food and water, and pet them and play a little. They are very independent. The mother Zelda is 6 years old and her son Ori is 2 years old.

    We have 8 ducks which is also an easy job, just let them outside every morning, and close the door to their house in the evening (and at the same time feeding them). They might give you eggs in return every day :) And they bring a lot of happiness.

  • Langues parlées

    Langues parlées

    Norwegian and english

  • Hébergement

    Hébergement

    The house is a 100 years old log house, which we have renovated and it is now warm and cozy and have modern standards, so everything is quite comfortable. The kitchen is new. While staying here you will live in our home. We just built a brand new guestroom. If you want to, you can sleep in a tipi in the garden.

    If you are a minimalist you might not thrive here, because we love decorating and everything is quite whimsical, with antique furniture and many treasures all around. It is however perfect for you if you are open minded and like it romantic, creative, alternative and unique, especially if you love Lord of the Rings or good fantasy stories. We are unconventional, but kind-hearted.

    We live in a rural setting with nature all around. But no worries, there is a grocery store 10 minutes walk from here, and also some other houses and farms, a little school and a small fjord hotel. In summer all the leaves on the trees shelter us from the outside world, but in the winter we are a bit more transparent. Please note: this is not a farm, just a house with a big garden.

    We have a flexitarian diet, consisting mostly of organic produce, wild meat and fish, we often eat vegetarian and vegan food as well. We are not complicated when it comes to food at all, except we do not eat sugar, drink alcohol or some types of meat. Please note that workawayers are expected to do their share of cooking and cleaning during the week, it is generally not a part of the 5 hour workday, allthough there can be exceptions :)

    We have a good wifi connection, but no tv.

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    We live quite close to some really gorgeous places, especially if you have a car. There are not a lot of buses going here (a few times a day from Molde, no buses in the weekends). Our fjord is called Sunndalsfjorden. We live within one hour of the towns of Molde, Kristiansund and Sunndalsøra. In this area you can find Innerdalen, by some named the most beautiful valley in the world. Eikesdalen with Mardalsfossen and other valleys like Grøvudalen and Sunndalen with some of the highest waterfalls on the planet. The epic Sunnmøre Alps. Romsdalen, the Troll wall, troll road and the Troll church. The Atlantic Road. Even the famous Geiranger fjord is not super far away. In june we also have a gorgeous viking market in the area.

    We look forward to hearing from you! :)

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Deux

  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    Maximum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week

The view from our house in spring
Nearby beaches
View from the livingroom
A hike from the doorstep
Zelda and Ori

Ce sont des évaluations supplémentaires en option lorsque les membres laissent un feedback. La note moyenne pour chaque option est affichée.

Exactitude du profil: (5.0)

Échange culturel: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)







N° de référence hôte : 289316875127