Learn about herbal medicine and off grid living in paradise with dog and a cat, Lillooet, Canada



Enregistré comme favori 267 fois

  • rating

    Évaluation d'hôte

  • feedbacks


  • last activity

    Activité récente


  • facebook friends

    Nombre d'amis Facebook


  • Badges

    Super Host
    Facebook verified

 Séjour min. souhaité : Au moins deux semaines

  • Description


    We are now accepting requests to volunteer here, IF you are Covid-free and healthy.

    Come experience off-grid living on the edge of wilderness! Join our small family on our diverse organic, off-grid homestead on a previously neglected meadow, which we are transforming into an oasis. Help us plant trees and shrubs, put up or fix fences, move and sift compost piles, start new gardens and plant and maintain existing ones. We grow organic food and herbs, for ourselves, trade and in other years for market with the extras. We have a small yet successful home-based medicinal herbal products business and grow and wild-harvest the vast majority of our medicinal herbs, as well as culinary herbs for the table. In addition, we also run a micro coffee roasting company, and are in the process of building a cabin to house the roasting machine. All the freshly roasted organic coffee (and herbal teas!) you can drink, always available!
    We live off the grid and so you will learn about responsible, sustainable, independent power & water systems. Our drinking and irrigation water originate from the mountains behind us, and is the freshest and cleanest water one can have. Tasks for you to help with include (this is an incomplete list): soil/compost building; fencing; gardening (planting, weeding, thinning, watering and harvesting); food preservation in season (drying, canning, freezing); dog walks and care; orchard help; fire protection, and probably plenty of other things we can't think of at this time! The larger community we share this paradise with is located 45 minutes outside of Lillooet, in a hot, semi-arid ecosystem. Our community is described as a very social, alternatively-minded, loosely intentional group of friends, where playing music (much of it home-grown) and having potlucks of the most delicious variety of lovingly grown food are favourite pastimes. Also for your enjoyment and leisure is hiking or visiting local lakes and rivers for swimming or just dangling your feet in to cool off on a hot summer afternoon. On your time off, you are welcome to find a quiet spot to read, rest, contemplate, meditate, play music, do art, go for a hike, etc. There is no shortage of outdoor space as we live on 190 acres on the edge of wilderness.
    Your accommodations are your own while you are here and your privacy will be respected. We don't have tv by choice, or high speed internet and there is limited wifi in the house and on the porch only; there is no cell service or radio or city lights...the stars are incredible, so is the moon! You can use our computer to communicate with friends and family, or better yet, plug your own in if you can.
    Accommodations are very comfortable, and include a separate, beautifully built sleeping cabin and/or a travel/camping trailer; private enough yet within the dinner bell range! For facilities, there is a comfortable outhouse with a great view, and we have an indoor toilet when you're in the main house that uses a vermiculture composting system. You can bathe in our house shower or claw foot bathtub, or in the solar shower in the garden as well. You can do laundry in the house. We share lunches and dinners together, eating organically raised meat, while also accommodating vegetarians. Having breakfast on your own is an option, we'll happily supply the food. Otherwise, we ask volunteers to come in at 9 am so we can have quiet/family time before hand, and similarly, we would like to have quiet/family time after 9 pm ish, unless we end up playing a game all together, or are deep in conversation with you!
    We ask for an average of 4-5 hours a day of your time, 5 days a week, depending on The List. This year is different for us since at least one of us is working in town part time so we will need mature, responsible people only. We also ask for your participation in the kitchen, including doing dishes, sweeping the floor, and cooking a meal once a week or more if cooking appeals to you (and cooks don't do dishes!). We speak English and some rusty French.
    YOUR OWN HEALTH INSURANCE IS REQUIRED FOR YOU TO VOLUNTEER HERE. Please respect this. Contact us by email preferably (see under: Contact). We strive to answer all email inquiries as soon as possible, and appreciate you telling us as much as possible about yourself: what is your interest or desire in coming to our place in particular; what do you want to get out of the experience; what is your experience if any; when are you available and for how long; do you have any allergies or health concerns that we need to know of (hospital is 45 minutes away); and any other interesting or pertinent information to help us get to know each other! A trial period of a week is asked for, to make sure we can live and work together - we like to welcome volunteers as part of our family, even if it's only for a few weeks. WE PREFER A MINIMUM STAY OF 2 WEEKS if you have your own transportation, longer if you don't! Thanks for checking us out, and special thanks to all the volunteers we've been blessed to have hosted over the years!

  • Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Aide avec des éco-projets
    Bricolage et projets de construction
    S’occuper des animaux
    Aide dans une ferme
    Cuisine/repas pour la famille
    Aide à la maison
    Entretien général
    Aide informatique / avec Internet

  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    We have hosted almost 100 different people from all over the world, and love sharing stories of each other's cultures, backgrounds and interests. We especially love listening to our volunteers describing their home town, home life, culture and lifestyle, thus learning about other places without going there in person (but would love to travel more, in the future). There is also a rich and active First Nations culture locally, since they are the original inhabitants and people of this land; we strive to respect this heritage, and have participated in many First Nations cultural events. In our own valley, there is a local, self made culture as well, making and playing folk music together, as well as making and sharing food, and stories! This self made culture, the lived experience, is something that is deeply rooted in our community, and there are endless colourful stories originating in bioregional, ecological and pragmatic philosophy.

  • Projets impliquant des enfants

    Projets impliquant des enfants

    Ce projet peut impliquer des enfants. Pour en savoir plus, consultez nos directives et conseils ici.

  • Aide


    We strive to make communication as clear and open as possible, and hope our volunteers do the same. That way, hopefully everyone is doing what they enjoy and have agreed to do. We prefer to host people who are willing to live less with their handheld phone or personal computer at their fingertips, and who enjoy communicating one on one, having good conversations about community, herbs and health, food, ecology, permaculture, child rearing, education, society, culture, alternative lifestyles, philosophy, or just about you or your favourite novel! We are working a lot off the farm, so if you like being alone, helping in a very low stress situation, but love the company of dogs and a cat this is the place for you! Don't worry, we will teach and guide you as much as we can and won't expect you to know how to do everything or anything for that matter.

  • Langues

    Langues parlées
    Anglais: Courant
    Français: Intermédiaire
    Allemand: Débutant
    Espagnol: Débutant

    Cet hôte propose un échange linguistique
    Cet hôte a indiqué qu’il souhaitait faire partager sa propre langue ou en apprendre une nouvelle.
    Contactez-le pour en savoir plus.

  • Hébergement


    A good sized camper trailer OR tenting close by or a nice distance away = space we have lots of! An outhouse with a great view is available, and when in our home, the use of our bathroom with toilet, shower, bath, sink and laundry, is available as well. Our flush toilet uses a vermiculture system. Hot water is limited when there are a lot of people around, only means organizing showers a little more. A solar shower exists during the warmer weather.

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    Make sure you are ok with being away from the city, in a semi-wilderness valley (for us, with comforts like electricity and running water!), that you can live without your cell phone and internet at your fingertips at all times. TRAVEL MEDICAL INSURANCE IS A MUST AND WILL BE ASKED FOR - please respect this.

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Possibilité d’accueillir les digital nomads

    Possibilité d’accueillir les digital nomads

    We have satellite internet, and wifi reaches beyond our porch most of the time. It's not high speed but it's not that slow either. Right now, we have 3 phones on, music streaming and our computer all online, working well!

  • Espace pour garer des vans

    Espace pour garer des vans

    We can accommodate fairly large campervans, but the longest 5 wheels may have trouble on one of the switchbacks. We can plug one in if need be.

  • Possibilité d'accueillir les animaux

    Possibilité d'accueillir les animaux

    One of our dogs loves other dogs, while the other (female) has trouble accepting other female dogs, though willing to work through it.

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?


  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    25 hours maximum

N° de référence hôte : 287243926224