Help a family with a large quinta in rural Penamacor, Portugal

  • Portugal
  • Enregistré comme favori 95 fois
  • Activité récente: 24.01.2023

Disponibilité

  2023 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Infos

  • Description

    Description

    Hi,
    We are an English family, Tim and Zoe, Matt (16) and Amy (13) that have moved to Portugal in search of of a more relaxed way of life. We bought a beautiful 9 hectare Quinta near Pennamacor in the Castelo Branco region back in 2016 with a cork oak forest, olive, fruit trees, and a stream. We had a ruin which we have converted into a small house, a 5 berth caravan for guests/workawayers and a large stone barn which we hope to convert to our main house next year. The Quinta has easy access, mains water, electricity, and good internet. We have a very friendly family dog, 6 chickens and are stewards to a flock of 100 sheep that roam the land and cut the grass for us. We are re building a goat shelter to be able to get babies next month.

    We home educate our kids and always have other children knocking around for some kind of activity day or adventure day. We currently have kids two days a week and run as a democratic Agile learning center.

    We would love to hear from singles/couples/families from anywhere in the world who are able to come and help out on the Quinta. Tim LOVES to cook. We are not vegetarian/vegan, but are more then happy to cater for this. We speak English, Portuguese, and a little French - which Tim would be happy to improve!

    We need to build a car store, repair a splash pool, start work on the large barn, collect wood for the winter, and finish work on the small house. We are looking for general help around the Quinta with things like, feeding animals, gardening, building and construction work, fencing, cleaning, and general tasks around the place.

    We would ask for five hours of work a day to help with projects in return for accommodation, and a main meal in the evening, and you would be able to store additional food and supplies in the caravan which has electric, a cooker, fridge, and storage space. You would get two days off a week to go and explore the local area. There are many river beaches, lakes, and beautiful places to visit. If you are interested please get in touch.

    *We currently have someone staying in the caravan long term so are only able to receive those with their own campers, caravans etc or those happy with a sofa! x

  • Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Pratique d’une langue
    Aide avec des éco-projets
    Enseignement
    Jardinage
    Bricolage et projets de construction
    S’occuper des animaux
    Aide dans une ferme
    Cuisine/repas pour la famille
    Aide à la maison
    Entretien général
  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    You can learn skills such as gardening, construction, farming skills, cooking, or to speak Portuguese or English. You could also help out at the education project or with our children. We would love to learn more about other cultures and parts of the world too.

  • Projets impliquant des enfants

    Projets impliquant des enfants

    Ce projet peut impliquer des enfants. Pour en savoir plus, consultez nos directives et conseils ici.

  • Aide

    Aide

    We could use some help in several areas - general help around the house, feeding the animals, looking after the small vegetable garden and strimming etc would be very helpful. Help with future building projects would be particularly appreciated, so any basic manual building skills or a willingness to muck in and learn would be particularly appreciated! We also plan to become self sufficient as soon as possible, so any experience in organic farming/growing would be great, as this is very important to us!

  • Langues parlées

    Anglais: Courant
    Portugais: Intermédiaire
    Français: Débutant

  • Hébergement

    Hébergement

    We have a 5 berth caravan in good order (see pics) with its own electric, fridge/gas cooker/water, and separate shower in the shed (see pics!)

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    Its a beautiful region of Portugal with many river beaches locally to cool off as it gets hotter. There is also many places to climb/hike/bike (we have bikes and are keen for some time off as well!) The beautiful Serra de Estrella national park and mountains are only 45mins away by car. The nearest village is a 5 minute walk *which only has a cafe), the nearest town (Penamacor) is 15 minutes by car, the nearest big city Castelo Branco is 45 mins by car. The stunning views and castle of Monsanto are only 15 minutes away. The buses here are terrible and don't run very often.

    We are rural and you will need your own transport to get around here.

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Possibilité d’accueillir les digital nomads

    Possibilité d’accueillir les digital nomads

    Cet hôte a indiqué qu’il aimait accueillir les digital nomads.

  • Espace pour garer des vans

    Espace pour garer des vans

    Cet hôte a de la place pour les vans.

  • Possibilité d'accueillir les animaux

    Possibilité d'accueillir les animaux

    Cet hôte a dit qu’il acceptait les personnes voyageant avec un animal.

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Plus de 2

  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    5 hours a day 5 days a week.

N° de référence hôte : 286732993925

Feedback

Apprenez-en plus sur la permaculture à Travanca, Portugal
Donnez-nous un coup de main dans notre petite ferme bio à Alentejo au Portugal