General help mucking in and mucking around in Devon, 😁😁UK



Enregistré comme favori 237 fois

  • rating

    Évaluation d'hîte

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Activité récente


  • facebook friends

    Nombre d'amis Facebook


  • Badges

    Super Host
    Facebook verified

 SĂ©jour min. souhaitĂ© : Au moins 3 semaines

  • Description


    We have a beautiful small piece of land near Exeter in Devon about one and a 'alf acres. We are self building on a budget living off grid our ultimate aim to be as self sufficient as possible. I have 3 fab children, 2 big but friendly ginger dogs and a few chickens....and more on the way!! We are hoping to get some goats and some bees in the near future but will need to get some serious fencing fixed up to keep the allotment safe from those (the goats that is not the bees ;)

    For 2019 'the plan ('s😂😂)' is to finish off our wooden cabin, and finish off our grey water system. This so far has involved some serious excavation and landscaping. We now have a massive hole in the back garden which is getting lined and filled ASAP so we have a plunge pool for the summer 👏👏👏👏👏

    There will also be other tasks around the place, in a wide range of projects from general gardening and land management to all aspects of building work to support our self building efforts, and if you can fix things that would be great :)

    A practicle mind and a willingness to learn and have a go would be of great benefit, these qualities have got me where i am today!!

    You would share some meals with us in exchange for 20 odd flexible hrs a week. I would prefer a 4+week commitment as I find this works better but would also welcome longer term guests. We are rural but not remote. We don't have a direct bus but are very well connected from our local town.

    There is plenty of space to park your own mobile home/ camper if that is what you would like to do, and actually i think during the winter months this i would prefer. I will always welcome guests that prefer to live more independently on the land. Maybe you need a base for a little bit and can come bring me some tales of your travels and adventures.

  • Type d'aide

    Type d'aide

    Entretien / Bricolage
    Aide Ă  la ferme
    Aide Ă  la maison
    Aide avec les animaux
    Travail associatif

  • Objectifs de dĂ©veloppement durable de l’ONU que cet hĂŽte essaie d'atteindre

    Objectifs de dĂ©veloppement durable de l’ONU que cet hĂŽte essaie d'atteindre

    Objectifs de l’ONU
    Pas de pauvreté
    Faim «zéro»
    Bonne santĂ© et bien-ĂȘtre
    Éducation de qualitĂ©
    ÉgalitĂ© entre les sexes
    Eau propre et assainissement
    Énergie propre et d'un coĂ»t abordable
    Travail décent et croissance économique
    Industrie, innovation et infrastructure
    Inégalités réduites
    Villes et communautés durables
    Consommation et production responsables
    Mesures relatives Ă  la lutte contre les changements climatiques
    Vie aquatique
    Vie terrestre
    Paix, justice et institutions efficaces
    Partenariats pour la réalisation des objectifs
  • Echange culturel et opportunitĂ©s d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Travellers can hope to experience what it is to live in a low budget, on a shoestring, mend and make do off grid enviroment with the highs and lows that go with it. I have aquired a lot of skills and information over the years although i am master of none i am happy to share and equally happy to learn.

  • Aide


    I have lots of ideas and am very privileged to be in a position when its more possible to realise some of those dreams for me than for most, but there just aren't the hrs in the day!!!

    As well as the practicals (the house building, wooden floor laying, garden taming, lorry box converting to stage activity, compost bay creating blah blah etc etc I would like to coppice my willow and make some hurdle fencing. I have now dug and lined our natural pond, which is very exciting, so this summer will be a time of learning in regards of the planting up and maintenance of said pond/pool. ....i could go on but may scare you (and myself 😂😂) hehe!

    really we are just looking for lively, enthusiastic, practical people to come muck in and hang out. I would love some skilled tradespeople,plumbers, sparkys, carpenters, builders, plasterers etc obviously but anyone just willing to get stuck in and help me with the land would be very welcome.

    I would consider a longer term stay obviously if we are all happy

    if you would like to know more send us a email (or however it works)

    look forward to hearing from you

    Nickee and Family

  • Langues parlĂ©es

    Langues parlées


  • HĂ©bergement


    'Accommodation could be in a caravan, !! fully equipped with woodburner, 12v lighting system and gas cooker or we can offer a 10 man army issue bell tent, which is roomy, comfortable and waterproof, this would be pitched in the small, young orchard. Alternatively you are obviously welcome to bring your own. We are off grid bar a mains water supply but do have wifi. We're pretty basic here and I think it would be useful if anyone interested in staying has experience or knowledge of living a basic close to nature lifestyle.

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    unfortunately we are not on a direct bus route into town but cullompton is only a couple miles and its a nice walk or cycle if you dont drive. we are near exeter but bristol is only a short train trip away with all that it has to offer. devon has beautiful coastlines and moorlands to explore, although i quite like hanging at home with my friends in the sun at weekends and you would be more than welcome to join us :)

  • Informations complĂ©mentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • AccĂšs Internet

    • AccĂšs Internet limitĂ©

      AccÚs Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Plus de deux

  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    20 odd hrs a week

the bell tent, looking a bit wonky but due to be relocated to the little orchard
the piano truck! i am self teaching myself...its never too late to learn eh!
our loo :) :)
our....home, a project in itself, waiting to be clad/ rendered before the winter if all goes well
self explanitary veg plot foto, have not got as much going on as we wouldve liked this year but hey there's only so many hours in the day :)
the horsebox through the flowers, the horsebox is storage and home to our piano atm- could easily become quite a comfortable living space!!
our crazee wild willow dome
some of our little bouquets

N° de référence hÎte : 279114426778