Come learn with us at our new home in the mountains of Golden, BC, Canada

Country

Canada

Enregistré comme favori 78 fois


  • rating

    Évaluation d'hôte

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

  • last activity

    Activité récente

    19.01.2022

  • Badges

    Good Host
 
  2022 

 Séjour min. souhaité : Au moins deux semaines

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are Andy, Charlie and Trigger the dog! We have recently moved to Golden BC from the UK after an amazing Workaway experience here 3 years ago. We are currently renovating our home, establishing a garden, getting to know our 15 acres of land and building a tiny house based on passive eco build principles.

    We are at the start of an adventure we have been dreaming of for the past 3 years having left our careers behind for a different pace of life surrounded by mountains and a great community.

    Andy is an engineer having had a 10 year career in aerospace and more recently in energy. Charlie was previously a Human Resources Business Partner within the financial and legal sector.

  • Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Jardinage
    Bricolage et projets de construction
    Entretien général
    S’occuper des animaux

  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    We are at the beginning of a very exciting adventure and have lots to learn ourselves. We do however have lots of experience helping people develop new skills and would love to help you get from this experience what you need for the future. You may want to acquire a new practical skill or experience managing a project of your own. There will be a variety of tasks, from building, carpentry, plumbing, landscaping as well as walking the dog.
    We really value the knowledge and ideas that Workawayers can bring and look forward to you joining us on this journey.

  • Projets impliquant des enfants

    Projets impliquant des enfants

    Ce projet peut impliquer des enfants. Pour en savoir plus, consultez nos directives et conseils ici.

  • Aide

    Aide

    We would love to host two people, ideally travelling together who are excited to get stuck into the jobs we have going on. A can do attitude is more valuable than any particular skills. If you have any prior knowledge of vegetable gardening, building and carpentry then that would be great, if not then we will learn together.

    We feel that a 2 week minimum stay will help ensure you get the chance to get stuck into some interesting and exciting work.

    The current jobs in the to do list are;

    Putting in foundations for our tiny house build.
    Framing the build
    Landscaping the area introducing more diversity with native species and low water needs in mind
    Tending to the vegetable garden - planning a cool weather crop using season extending techniques
    Clearing a walking and snowshoe trail through our 15 acre forest
    Painting the fence
    Restoring an old chicken coop

  • Langues parlées

    Anglais: Courant
    Français: Intermédiaire

  • Hébergement

    Hébergement

    You will stay with us in the house we are currently renovating. You will have your own room and share a bathroom with only your travel companion. We have WiFi (limited), Netflix and a hot tub, so if you don’t want to spend your spare time on the many hiking, biking and running trails close by then there is plenty to keep you entertained. You will get three meals a day. Breakfast will be a help yourself arrangement. We usually take a break at lunch to eat together and have evening meals together too. We can be very flexible on timing depending on your plans that day.

    We love to cook, especially Italian or Mexican cuisine. Andy has a gluten intolerance and we avoid dairy and red meat. We are happy to accommodate dietary requirements but may need your guidance.

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    Golden is a centre for outdoor enthusiasts with national parks within an hours drive and Kicking Horse resort on the doorstep.

    You will need your own transport due to the rural location and for access to all of the parks nearby.

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Espace pour garer des vans

    Espace pour garer des vans

    Cet hôte a de la place pour les vans.

  • Possibilité d'accueillir les animaux

    Possibilité d'accueillir les animaux

    Well behaved dogs welcome.

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Plus de 2

  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Ce sont des évaluations supplémentaires en option lorsque les membres laissent un feedback. La note moyenne pour chaque option est affichée.

Exactitude du profil: (5.0)

Échange culturel: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)







N° de référence hôte : 262361947766