Help us in a permaculture garden, food storing & foodforest in the beautiful Belgian Ardennes, Belgium



Enregistré comme favori 224 fois

  • rating

    Évaluation d'hôte

  • feedbacks


  • last activity

    Activité récente


  • facebook friends

    Nombre d'amis Facebook


  • Badges

    Good Host
    Facebook verified
  • Description



    We are Véronique (°'53) & Anthon (°'62).
    She was a teacher and a former shop owner, he was a ships engineer in his early days and owned his own business since 1994.
    We are native Flemish/Dutch speaking living in the French, more beautiful, part .... :-)..... of Belgium.
    We do speak Dutch (& Flemisch :-) too !) , English & French ....

    You are welcomed in a beautiful and peaceful setting, a rather small village in the Belgian Ardennes in the countryside. Approx 30 houses - 50 population. We have a zero-energy house and an ecological swimming pond, have a rather large permaculture/eco garden, small herbs garden, edible (wild) flowers garden (in design for 2017-2018) , and the beginning of a foodforest (planting done nov 2015).
    We love animals and have dogs, a cat and miniature donkeys.
    Nature surrounds us and the forest and the closest river, Ourthe, are just a walk away.

    If you apply it would be nice to tell some more about yourself and why you would like to come on over.
    See below .
    Who you are, what studies, what work experiences you have, is this your first Workaway-experience or not, what you want in life, how you look at thinks, .... do you have an open-minded & positively present .... welcome to Mousny!

    Please do read more detailed info below :-)

    See you soon !

    Véronique & Anthon

  • Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Pratique d’une langue
    Aide avec des éco-projets
    Bricolage et projets de construction
    S’occuper des animaux
    Aide dans une ferme
    Cuisine/repas pour la famille
    Aide à la maison
    Entretien général

  • Projets impliquant des enfants

    Projets impliquant des enfants

    Ce projet peut impliquer des enfants. Pour en savoir plus, consultez nos directives et conseils ici.

  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Please see the above :-)

    Once again: like any experience : " you will get out of it .... what you put into it !

  • Aide


    "Please do read this detailed overview."

    What you can expect ?

    Always some new projects around .... of course It brings extra help required and we are running behind most of the time :-)

    Help may be needed to expand our permaculture-/eco project(s) ..... being self sufficient in the near future, educational for visitors and guests, working with handicapped persons and/or the elderly.

    We do need help for preparing our garden & help for our foodforest and other projects/ideas.

    There are always other little things that can be done, such as helping wit cooking a few time a week, cleaning, grooming the donkeys, cleaning the stables, clearing paths, preparing parcels, garden etc. or anything that is helpful and/or you like/want to do.
    Sure sometimes there will less interesting help required ....too. Things you will not like maybe.

    What more to say ?
    Well, who are you ?
    Are you that bright eyed, bushy-tailed, self-starter, eager-beaver, situationally aware, go-get-‘em, teachable, positive, non-complaining, grateful, rejoicing, get’er done, dependable, faithful, perseverant, take-responsibility, open mind, clean-cut boy-girl appearance character ?
    You are at least 21 years of age ?
    Yes, we know , we know, .... As age is just a number .... maturity is not measured by (any) age .....
    We are just asking "an attitude" accordingly.

    Do you accept a 2 day (!) checkout prior to acceptance . Meaning ; a test period of two (2) days before acceptance @ our project.
    Help 5 days per week minimum, off two days. 5 hours/day minimum .... but this depends on the period though, harvest, workload and other demands ....
    Sundays are usually (minor) chores only and Saturdays are very minimal, if necessary .
    Room and most board provided and you can eat, within reason (no filet mignon lunches, please).
    Prepare your own breakfast and lunch, once in a while .... 3 - 4 or more times/week you'll have to prepare dinner for all of us ...
    Evening meals Monday-Saturday provided communally with all of us.

    Accommodations include a full kitchen, shower, bedroom with twin bed or bunk-style sleeping quarters , or a yurt or a cosy-above-the-garage bedroom ( depends situation)
    Quarters do not include phone but we do have high speed wireless internet .
    We have a large natural swimming pool .... you always can enjoy a dive if you like :-)

    Our and your "expectations" ?
    Like any experience : " you will get out of it .... what you put into it !!! "
    And it works both ways !
    You will enjoy your stay ( and we too !).....if you are "open to learn", "have a real purpose to come to us", if you have a healthy dose of "motivation"....
    And we like to learn from you as well too !!!

    We have attainable (low level) benchmarks, but they require some effort and sweat !
    We don't ask for experienced electricians, carpenters, plumbers, or whatever.... but you'll need you muscles, arms & hands, insight, open eyes and ears, .... and lots of love & joy :-)
    Physically, you will be in better shape than you ever thought possible.
    If you have never worked with a shovel .... with a wheelbarrow .... never moved stones or other heavy objects.... remember this will require "some efforts" from you !

    We are not running a company, nor doing this for our/a business !
    We do see this as an 'sole' culture exchange in any way, shape and form .
    Meaning if you want to come over you must have some interest in living off- grid, eco farming/permaculture, .... in exchange for a bit more then half a day work a day.

    Warning: you will not be sore, have no ache(s), will not be dead tired, and will not be be sick for 3 days ..... you not have to volunteer your bud off ..... but it'll be "no holiday" either.
    Emotionally, you will know what you did today, why it is/was important, and feel just great about it.
    We do invests in the physical, emotional, and mental needs of this opportunity; it’s the most education you’ll ever receive.

    Please do bear this in mind before sending your application.

    Maximum number of 4 volunteers due to accommodation and/or work limitations.

    We are a family who value (1) Faith, (2) Respect, (3) Family, and (4) Farming.
    We have traveled all the world and have a great appreciation for people of different faiths and cultures.
    However, character, respecting our value system and privacy is of utmost importance.
    No smoking ( outside only) , bad language, or drunkenness are permitted at any time.
    We do invite you @ our home ..... you'll be invited as a guest first .... after a while maybe you'll be part of 'the' family for the time being here .... or maybe longer ... :-)

    We ask that anyone who wants to come help and live with us come with (1) a great good open attitude,
    (2) a willingness to help share the load of chores on the farm, (3) a willingness to learn a great deal..... the need of 'incredible' input, and a (4) good sense of humor .
    Yes ..... just bring with you your bright smile and lots of love too ...
    and we'll get along and we'll have a great time.

    As we receive lots of requests from people from all around the world, internationally, Korea, Japan, Spain, Canada, .... we'd like to ask a least a "minimum standard" or good basic knowledge of English, French or Dutch.
    It's very difficult, and sometimes rather 'very' frustrating too, for all parties to explain, learn, show, teach, .... if one is not understanding half or maybe not even a word.
    As everybody is learning .... you, we, .... our communication language must be "at level" from in the beginning.
    Really love to learn sign language on day though , but rather next time :-)

    If our farm seems like a good fit for you .... please contact us with a few "paragraphs", not just a few lines !,
    telling us lots more about yourself and why you think our farm and you would work well together.
    Please mark in your message the subject : "Saison2021" .... so we can understand you have been reading our complete profile.
    If not .... it might be we don't reply on your application due to many other requests/people who have been reading it thoroughly though :-)
    We receive(d) to many requests from people whom didn't read our profile .... resulting in .... let say ... 'strange situations' .... Please take some time if you'd like come to our little paradise . In your own interest too .

    If you are jumping the ceiling when seeing a mouse, calling us in a hurry, in panic, to 'kill' a spider (????), just like to volunteer as a vacation, if you are not eager to learn about permaculture, wildlife, the birds & the bees, etcetera etcetera ......
    .... with other words "have difficulties, in any way, shape or form, to speak the same language as us" 'excusez moi le mot' .... this is NOT the farm/project for you.
    Yes, we all have seen and experienced the above already :-(

    Some of the above made points/ remarks may sound strange or even weird to you .... we can understand this.
    Our point is .... just being plain correct & straight forward .
    Otherwise it would be a waste of time ... for the both of us :-)

    Once again: like any experience : " you will get out of it .... what you put into it !

    Great to hear from you !
    Love ....

  • Langues parlées

    Anglais: Courant
    Français: Courant
    Hollandais: Courant

  • Hébergement


    You will most likely find yourself sleeping in a small attic above our garage, a yourt, bunk beds, .... . So you and maybe other volunteers ( max 4) will share that space. We tried to make it cosy place. We will make sure you have a mattresses and a pillow, but it would be very helpful if you can bring your own sleeping bag and liner.
    In the spring/summer of 2017 we'll finish a yourt aswell.

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    The nearest train stations are approx 30' by car ( Marloie or Marche En Famenne) transport from and to the station can be arranged.
    There is a bus stop in front of the house, so you could visit the city Bastogne ( know from the Battle of the Bulge '44- '45, Wildlife & forests, .... )

    At home you'll find there is a piano, a banjo & a guitar.... if you can and want, you can play them.
    The nature surrounds us, so if you like walks or trail runs, you can do so.
    Also the dogs would love to join you.
    You could visit La Roche, Marche en Famenne or Bastogne, 3 closest cities .
    We do have a large swimming pool .....

    It is very helpful if you could take your own sleeping bag or liner with you.

    Vegans are welcome but our cuisine is not there yet. So it would be nice If you can enrich us once in a while with your way of cooking.
    You'll have to cook ( not alone) for all guests at the project/farm a few times a week .

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Plus de 2

  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

N° de référence hôte : 233378611761