Help at our property in the heart of the Cariboo, Canada

Country

Canada

Enregistré comme favori 44 fois


  • rating

    Évaluation d'hôte

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

  • last activity

    Activité récente

    14.02.2020

  • facebook friends

    Nombre d'amis Facebook

    409

  • Badges

    Facebook verified
 
  2021 

 Séjour min. souhaité : Au moins 2 semaines

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hi - we are Thomas & Maggie, owners of a small B&B. Our property is located in the Interlakes area along Hwy 24 - The Fishing Highway in the heart of the Cariboo, we are surrounded by hundreds of lakes and our guests are coming mainly for fishing or are on their round trip between Vancouver/Whistler and the Rockies. We offer our guests canoeing, biking and the typical Canadian outdoor feeling while stargazing at the campfire...While the main season is June to October in spring and fall we always have some projects in our mind, like building a hiking trail along the creek(or better rebuilding after the last storm), fix our fences, repaint the outbuildings, get some firewood, do some gardening, improve our flower beds, clean out the wood and make our land fire safe...

  • Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Jardinage
    Bricolage et projets de construction
    Entretien général
    Aide à la maison
    Pratique d’une langue

  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    We are speaking German and English as most of our guests do too. Last year we had guests from over 30 different countries which makes the exchange over breakfast or at the campfire really interesting. In your spare time you can partake in the programs in our Community Centre (which is run by Maggie) and mingle with the locals, use our canoes or bikes, can explore the lakes and wildlife in our area or just relax in a hammock...

  • Aide

    Aide

    Besides running a small B&B we also have part time jobs and work at a Farmers Market in summer or do other odd jobs in order to make a living and avoid the 8 to 5 office routine. In spring (once the snow is gone) we need help to get our whole property cleaned up from winter and to get ready for the season. We don't need help with the B&B, because once our season starts we won't have any accommodations for helper but there is always a lot of work on the property after six months of winter like little repairs and maintenance of all the outdoor buildings, fences and the dock, some outdoor painting, raking the lawn clean from all leaves and pine cones, mowing the lawn and cutting firewood....
    We don't have farm animals, just two dogs.
    You don't need any special skills but it would be great if you are a handy person and are willing to work physically.
    We are looking for one or two helpers - preferable one or two guys and/or a couple.

  • Langues parlées

    German: Courant
    English: Courant

  • Hébergement

    Hébergement

    In spring there is always one of our bigger cabins with sitting area, two bedrooms and full kitchen available. We will provide groceries for breakfast and lunch and have dinner together.

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    The last two years we had already helpers in spring and it was each time a great experience - we might have been lucky but are hoping to find again guys who are willing to help us in exchange for a private cabin, great food and an even better surrounding...
    We are no workaholics but work has to be done. We like to have a break for coffee and a cigarette (we are smokers) and for sure a beer after sunset.
    The outdoor kitchen and the campfire place are the main meeting spots for our guests and us but we also like to have our privacy.

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Deux

  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

street access to our place
Moose Rest Cabin
Guest area of the main house
Bridge Creek - runs through our property and into Roe Lake
sunset
visitors -always on the hunt for sunflower seeds
John Boy and Annie - our dogs
Bird Nest Cabin & campfire
That's our house
That's us - Maggie & Thomas


N° de référence hôte : 231793457128