Join us on our diverse farmstead in the mountains of British Columbia.

Country

Canada

Enregistré comme favori 68 fois


  • rating

    Évaluation d'hôte

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

  • last activity

    Activité récente

    02.11.2021

  • facebook friends

    Nombre d'amis Facebook

    388

  • Badges

    Good Host
    Facebook verified
 
  2022 

 Séjour min. souhaité : Au moins deux semaines

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Join us in the beautiful mountains near Lillooet. We live on a stunning acreage 10 minutes south of town, overlooking the mighty Fraser River. We are a busy family of 5 (a couple in their 40's and three boys, ages 16, 14 & 8). We share our land with an amazing septuagenarian who lives in her own house. It's a bustling farmstead here, with a real focus on growing our own food using organic practices. We have a young orchard, berries, asparagus, and a large vegetable garden. We are also home to a menagerie of animals, including sheep, turkeys, chickens, ducks and rabbits. Our animals are ethically raised for meat and fibre, on pasture using organic methods. There are also several horses, dogs & cats on the property.
    Odin works off-farm as an ecological restorationist, but can be found in his free time playing guitar, reading and usually enjoying craft beer. Angela also works part-time off-farm as an environmental field tech and is an avid fibre artist. Our two older boys have recently entered the school system after having been homeschooled, while our youngest son is still currently home-schooling. They are all into the outdoors with a love of mountain biking, hiking, fishing, snowboarding & skiing.
    Wendy is an energy/body worker, using several modalities in her work, and an animal lover

  • Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Jardinage
    Bricolage et projets de construction
    Cuisine/repas pour la famille
    Entretien général
    Aide dans une ferme
    Aide à la maison
    S’occuper des animaux

  • Objectifs de développement durable de l’ONU que cet hôte essaie d'atteindre

    Objectifs de développement durable de l’ONU que cet hôte essaie d'atteindre

    Objectifs de l’ONU
    Pas de pauvreté
    Faim «zéro»
    Bonne santé et bien-être
    Éducation de qualité
    Égalité entre les sexes
    Eau propre et assainissement
    Énergie propre et d'un coût abordable
    Travail décent et croissance économique
    Industrie, innovation et infrastructure
    Inégalités réduites
    Villes et communautés durables
    Consommation et production responsables
    Mesures relatives à la lutte contre les changements climatiques
    Vie aquatique
    Vie terrestre
    Paix, justice et institutions efficaces
    Partenariats pour la réalisation des objectifs
  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    We have a diverse farmstead with plenty of opportunity to learn practices for growing and raising food and caring for the land. We also have horses for those who would like to groom, work in the round-pen or go on trail rides. We live in a great neighbourhood with several other organic growers (and other work-awayers staying nearby) with plenty of opportunities for socializing.
    The climate is hot & dry in the summer, with several swimming holes at nearby lakes and rivers. There is plenty of hiking and biking trails in the area and a growing outdoors club in town.
    Lillooet is a 10-minute drive from our place with rides going most days. It is a small town with some amenities. We have a landline telephone and limited wifi (enough for basic internet use, but no streaming or movies). Our cell service is patchy at best, so you would need to be comfortable not using your cell very frequently.

  • Projets impliquant des enfants

    Projets impliquant des enfants

    Ce projet peut impliquer des enfants. Pour en savoir plus, consultez nos directives et conseils ici.

  • Aide

    Aide

    We are fairly new to this land so there are many projects on the go. We will require help with our gardens (weeding, watering, harvesting); animals (feeding, watering, moving pasture pens and fences); mowing & weed whacking; chopping firewood; picking up manure; small & large building projects; moving irrigation; and fencing. We would also appreciate help in the kitchen, either helping with meals and/or cleanup. Experience with gardening and building would be a real asset, but not necessary.

  • Langues parlées

    Anglais: Courant

  • Hébergement

    Hébergement

    Wendy lives alone in a beautiful and spacious home. A work-awayer would have their own comfortable bedroom in her house with some meals shared with her. Angela & Odin's house will be available for meals and as a hang-out space.

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Plus de 2

  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week






N° de référence hôte : 224684921817