Work away at our lovely home and gardens in Fairbanks, Alaska

Country

États-Unis

Enregistré comme favori 172 fois


  • rating

    Évaluation d'hôte

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    47  

  • last activity

    Activité récente

    12.10.2020

  • Last email replied

    Taux de réponse

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Délai de réponse moyen :

    ≤ 6 jours

  • Badges

    Top Host
 
  2020 

 Séjour min. souhaité : Au moins 2 semaines

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a couple living in Alaska with our cat Sweet Pea. We enjoy our home and garden and are outside more than in during the summer months. We enjoy hiking, camping and tackling projects and always have some sort of art project in the works. We are also avid rock hounds and collectors of different kinds of rocks.

  • Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Jardinage
    Entretien général
    Préparer les repas / cuisiner pour la famille
    Aider à la maison
    S’occuper des animaux
    Pratique d’une langue
    Projets artistiques
    Aide informatique / Internet

  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Fairbanks has a university so there are lots of culture opportunities to experience lectures, music and mini classes. You can enjoy several wonderful walks right from the house. Additional hiking and camping opportunities are available for those able to arrange transportation through fellow travelers or utilizing tour companies, train and or bus services to places such as Denali. If you are here mid August through March, you just might see the Northern Lights. It always depends on the clearness of the sky, solar activity on the sun and being up and outside at the right time! Not being assured of seeing them is just one of the things that makes viewing them so magical:). Snowshoeing is also a great winter activity.

  • Aide

    Aide

    What we are looking for varies according to the season. Mid March, April and into May involves following an indoor seed planting schedule to grow seedlings in the house under grow lights for later transplanting outdoors. These seedlings are very fragile and require daily misting and obsevation. There is also spring cleaning inside the house and beginning work in the greenhouse and garden. By June, planting is in full swing and weeds are beginning to need tackling. July requires lots of watering and more weeding along with starting to cook and put away some of the earlier crops. Mid to late August is also prime blueberry season so as a special treat we go berry picking at least 3 or 4 times a season. Workawayers have loved this experience saying it ranked among their favorite memories. I've only experienced one person that wasn't into berry picking, but then he wasn't into work in general. So please be aware, we work hard spring, summer and fall. For the May through October workawayers, the help is basically physical, working on weeds requires bending and spending time on kneeling pads as you crawl around the area being tackled. We are looking for people that truly want to spend time helping us through this busy season and are not just looking for a place to hang your hat as you experience Alaska.
    In August we are heavy into harvesting and putting up the bounty of fresh garden veggies and working against the clock to get more weeds dug up. In September and October, we are putting the garden to bed, cleaning projects inside and continuing to prepare foods for freezing or canning. This is also the last opportunity to tackle weeds before the ground freezes.
    Our main focus in January and February is for someone that would like a quiet winter retreat while taking care of our house, feeding and playing with our cat, SweetPea, feeding the chickens and collecting their eggs. Playing with Sweet Peas numerous times throughout the day is so important. Sometimes she will totally ignore you so you try again later. Sometimes she will play for two minutes, other times 10 or more minutes. So being a patient person, willing to kick back and adapt to her moods is much appreciated. Jan. Feb. time is also a perfect time for finishing that book you've been writing! Quiet time reflecting on your goals and a great opportunity to try for the perfect shot of the Northern Lights or maybe just enjoying some snowshoeing through the woods. Winters are cold and dark but have a beauty of their own that one starts to see as they slow down and open their eyes to the frozen landscape.

  • Langues parlées

    English: Courant
    Spanish: Débutant

  • Hébergement

    Hébergement

    The downstairs bedroom has two single beds for workawayers and a bathroom. There are good quality ingredients for you to prepare your food as you like. Feel free to bring a few of your favorite recipes and share in cooking the evening meal. There is also a sleeping area in the basement studio that is utilized occasionally.

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    On time off in the spring and summer you could hike, camp or ride the Alaska railroad to see more of Alaska. We have bikes available for your use and you can also ride the bus around town for other activities. We live six miles from the bus stop but can drop you at the stop or, if we are on our way to town, we will be glad to take you into town, from there you can ride a bus to various destinations for a full day of experiencing Fairbanks.
    We have snowshoes for our winter workawayers and of course the Northern Lights are a huge attraction. There is also a car for limited use during Jan. and Feb. for those with an international or US driver's license.
    Fairbanks is a city that loves music and art so throughout the year various opportunities for experiencing these become available. We also love dance and love introducing workawayers to our world of contradance and English Country dance.

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Deux

  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Ce sont des évaluations supplémentaires en option lorsque les membres laissent un feedback. La note moyenne pour chaque option est affichée.

Exactitude du profil: (4.8)

Échange culturel: (5.0)

Communication: (4.8)





























N° de référence hôte : 195354477869