Welcome to your home away from home between the Valle d'Itria & the 'heel of the boot'



Enregistré comme favori 168 fois

  • rating

    Évaluation d'hôte

  • feedbacks


  • last activity

    Activité récente


  • Description


    ANYONE wanna come help us gather ALMONDS & cut some grass??? and maybe get into some on-line second hand sales
    Ciao-Hi e benvenuti-welcome to our place, our dream coming true e speriamo your homeaway from home. We are a 'young' dual national coppia con two boys aged 20 & 9. We live e lavora su a 2.5acre/hectare multi-fruit ma mostly Almond/Mandorle farm located fra the Valle d'Itria e Alto Salento zones on the pennisula between the Adriatic (8kms) & Ionian (40kms) seas su the 'heel of the boot'! We are equally between the historic port city of Brindisi e the panoramic 'Citta' Bianca' of Ostuni as well as central fra Bari e Lecce with tre UNESCO sites within an hour o so of us.

    My husband, Tonino, & I have worked e raised a family while traveling from Europe to Asia e back again from the Pacific (HI) to the Atlantic coast (MD) for the past 20+ years while I served in the United States Air Force. We semi-retired back to southern Italy in his hometown after meeting & marrying some 25+ years ago. Our oldest son, Giovanni, finished his final year of high/professional school in 2015 and is actively seeking work in a very opportunistic economy. Our youngest, Aden, finishes his 5th year of elementary school in June.

    We were introduced to this network last year after four of our British friends hosted a few different workawayers. We even hosted a few of theirs in between their travels in our holiday rental home as well as in our own home while catching up on some neglected projects we never seem to get to during our somewhat busy rental summers. We love the concept of hosting like-minded world travelers, while meeting new culturally diverse friends & extending a helping hand to others, like us, living on fixed low budget incomes. We have sacrificed alot to get this far but hope to create the best (maybe not di lusso yet), but definetly the most affordable holiday vacation spot in Puglia for anyone willing to give us a shot. We solicit all the help we can find getting there. Can't wait to hear from you, swap stories & hopefully work something out for/with you! Ok?

  • Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Bricolage et projets de construction
    Entretien général
    Aide dans une ferme
    Aide avec des éco-projets
    Aide à la maison
    Pratique d’une langue
    Aide informatique / avec Internet

  • Objectifs de développement durable de l’ONU que cet hôte essaie d'atteindre

    Objectifs de développement durable de l’ONU que cet hôte essaie d'atteindre

    Objectifs de l’ONU
    Pas de pauvreté
    Faim «zéro»
    Bonne santé et bien-être
    Éducation de qualité
    Égalité entre les sexes
    Eau propre et assainissement
    Énergie propre et d'un coût abordable
    Travail décent et croissance économique
    Industrie, innovation et infrastructure
    Inégalités réduites
    Villes et communautés durables
    Consommation et production responsables
    Mesures relatives à la lutte contre les changements climatiques
    Vie aquatique
    Vie terrestre
    Paix, justice et institutions efficaces
    Partenariats pour la réalisation des objectifs
  • Projets impliquant des enfants

    Projets impliquant des enfants

    Ce projet peut impliquer des enfants. Pour en savoir plus, consultez nos directives et conseils ici.

  • Aide


    Now that summer has ended, our grass is growing rapidly and needs near weekly trimming until June before it gets hot & dries up. We still need help with some of our succulant re-planting & general weeding-sprucing up is done all winter long until our first holiday rental guests arrive in May usually (although we are open year round, i.e. need to keep lawn mowed). I am still trying to catch up on my own house with late summer cleaning & hopefully painting before it gets too damp outside. I also am clearing out my house and organizing to either sale or donate things I no longer need (i.e. baby clothes, toys, & half my size women's clothing that I'll never get back into, nor should I after 40--mini-skirts!)

    During winter we have a few aperodic chores like mowing e sprucing up the 9800sqm farm as well as the possibility of planting a winter garden (broccoli, rape, bietole, cicoria, cauliflower, etc.). Got the land but lack the skills o strength to get the motor-tiller running (our basic mechanic has moved north for a full time better paying job). Would also like help getting my herb garden sorted.

    We are also VERY interested in finding someone with eco pool building experience to help us get started and finished by April 2016.

    I know this may sound odd but I am in desperate need to host someone who can motivate me into getting started to get back into shape. I love to walk, ride bikes, workout (aerobic o free weights) e even swim in the summer, just not alone. I celebrated my 25th wedding anniversary in May 2015 e the pictures were a wake up call. I would love to find that body o at least closer to it before June--swimsuit season!

    I would also like to find someone with wordpress know-how to teach me how to manage my websites my friends built for me.

  • Langues parlées

    Anglais: Courant
    Italien: Courant

  • Hébergement


    We would be happy to accommodate you in our garage turned studio apartment attached to our main house. It is divided into two areas by a 3X3meter storage wardrobe and has its own private bathroom with a shower. One area has a single o double bed for couples where the other side has a lounge area where the wood burning stove is. It also has a private entrance but must remain closed on the rare occasion when noone is home and the alarm is activated and also to keep out any creepy crawleys as we are in campagnia (countryside). It leads out under a 4X5m private veranda where you can relax at the table or on the super comfy two person swing. There is an outside fridge for your usage as well as a long buffet tiled surface where we could add a camper style gas stove for your personal usage. We can either lock o block the inside door leading into our house based on our mutual comfort levels and agreements of maintaining the wood burning stove which heats our home in the winter, & in summer's its nice to get the full house air flow. The wood is stored across from the veranda in the rear sliding door area. I understand people's standards of cleanliness vary but I do expect the areas to be somewhat clutter free e cannot allow an insect o mouse enticing environment as we do live in the countryside on the ground floor. We must keep the screen o metal doors shut at all times or put up our step over board barrier. Bath e bed linens will be provided e exchanged bi-weekly or sooner if we work too hard and you will be allowed to use the laundry for full o shared loads with me during off peak hours as we are only allowed 3kilowatts of energy at a time & 20cubic meters of city water per day. Consider a blow-dryer is 2000watts, plus I have an electric oven & love to bake plus the water pump sprinklers and the A/C in the summer, microwave, iron e coffee machine in use at different times during the day. Sorry for the inconvienience but our way of life in a very an expensive electrics country. We are a bi-lingual family e would love exposing ourselves e kids to new cultures e languages.

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    Help hours vary depending on weather e if we are in or outside. We may work from 9-1 before lunch at 2pm o from 3-8pm before an evening snack e movie at 9pm. We only have one, two-tre course meal (Pasta e veggies &/o meat) per day with lighter, easy to fix meals in the evening (soup,salad,sandwich,o pizza, etc). We vary between traditional Pugliese slow food cuisine to American fast food to Tex-Mex e Phillipini specialties. I love swaping recipes and cooking o clean-up duties. We are happy to share our food & drinks but any specialty o diet restricted needs are on you including alcoholic beverages apart from a well deserved 'victory' beer o two after finishing a good days work o a few glasses of wine with o without a meal-snack which I am happy to provide. I try to reward more than I get but we are on a restricted budget so dont expect namebrands (Coke°, Lays°, Mulini Bianco°, o Nutella° for example) but we do occasionally eat out e will treat when able. We have three cars e go in & out of town every day (less than 1km away) every Mon-Fri am at 0700 & 0745 in & 1300 & 1400ish out plus I am happy for the company during my frequent runs in & around the area including Saturday e Sundays. I can provide lifts to the airports (BDS 15kms BAR 115kms away), o any place you like to go o visit. Im happy to show you around but I do ask you cover your extra expenses (food, beverages, gas, tolls, parking, entrance fees, etc.) The public bus stop is only 500m away e runs between Brindisi-San Vito and beyond. I am happy to share with you my 27+ years of Italian living e traveling experience with you and guarantee I can point you in the most economical e easiest way to get to wherever you are heading. Our WIFI is unlimited but not reliable enough to work off of. It is a bit slow but works for basic internet emailing, facebooking o web searching but I cant guarantee connection e openly admit it bites for streaming o skyping.

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?


  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues


N° de référence hôte : 189419227569