Besoin d'aide à la maison et dans le jardin - immense propriété proche de Hobart en Australie.



Enregistré comme favori 204 fois

  • rating

    Évaluation d'hôte

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Activité récente


  • facebook friends

    Nombre d'amis Facebook


  • Badges

    Top Host
    Facebook verified
  • Description


    I'm currently living by myself in a 25 room house on 1.5 acres in Kempton, Tasmania.

    The place is 40 minutes from the Tasmanian capital (Hobart) - so it isn't isolated at all..... I bought it 5 years ago as I fell in love with the place and have a long project ahead of me to restore it. My aim is to plant a vineyard (but I haven't learned how to yet!).....

    I work away a lot, so am only there about half of the time, and I'm keen to offer free rent and food in exchange for some work around the house and garden - and basically to keep the place alive with good people, fun and laughter! You won't be waited on - but you will have 'run of the manor' a lot!

    It's important to note that as I work all over the state, there are often times when I'm not home for days at a time, so if you're keen to come and stay then you'll need to be fairly independent, but I'm always available for help/advice/instruction when needed. For this reason I am afraid I can't accommodate short stays, so I would really like people to stay for a two week minimum (provided they are happy and comfortable!). No maximum stay... the record so far is 9 months for someone who totally became family!

    I have 20 chooks and 4 ducks who are the masters of their domain and keep me in line! They want friends too!

    I'm generally after basic help in weeding, mowing, watering and trimming in the garden...

    The house is slowly coming together, however there are still millions of little finishing jobs to be done. People with trade skills would be great, but a general willingness to work is certainly welcome. I am restoring the house with traditional methods - all natural paints, oils and waxes and avoiding power tools where possible, which makes things very labour intensive, but gives a great feeling of achievment and is making the house a real art work!

    I work as an archaeologist and heritage project manager for the local council, so there are also a lot of great sites and experiences that I can pass on advice to.... I manage a lot of volunteer and student programs, so I am use to working with a great mix of people, and always turn work into fun!

    I've had lots of workaway'ers over the last 4 years, and really enjoy having people around. It's a stress-free environment and I work on trust that people will do the right thing (e.g. there's no time-clock, but I expect everyone to pitch in and help). There is a list of 'house rules' though - mostly based on respect and courtesy and shouldn't be anything out of the ordinary for good and honest people.

    Generally, I'm after fun people to share the restoration adventure...! I'm 37 and into fun times, so you won't be staying with a stuffy old person! Believe me, there's never a dull moment!

  • Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Bricolage et projets de construction
    Entretien général

  • Projets impliquant des enfants

    Projets impliquant des enfants

    Ce projet peut impliquer des enfants. Pour en savoir plus, consultez nos directives et conseils ici.

  • Aide


    Need help with general gardening and maintenance work. Would LOVE to have someone on board with some trade skills e.g. plaster, electrical, plumbing, stonemasonry, but very happy to have anyone who is willing to help out.

    Just a note - I'm afraid I'm not eligible to sign off on second-year work visas.

    Often people find paid work in the area (and there is plenty of seasonal work). I have to state up-front that the Workaway arrangement does not lend itself to having paid work also. I have had several occasions where people have been on Workaway and gained paid work on their days off - then have ended up increasing the days of paid work and not fulfilling Workaway responsibilities (not to mention then having little time off to enjoy their experience). If a Workawayer gains paid work elsewhere, then we may be able to negotiate a rental arrangement.

  • Langues parlées

    Anglais: Courant

  • Hébergement


    The house is 7 bedroom, so there's plenty of space for guests. there's also several living areas including the 'mancave' which is currently under redevelopment! The bathroom is currently under renovation, so isn't fancy but is functional. The kitchen is almost finished and is a great space. There's a huge wood fired bakers oven which makes meal times a real social occasion!

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    The place is very close to the capital (Hobart) and has regular buses into town - so it isn't in the middle of nowhere! Because I travel a lot for work, I'm always happy for people to tag along on their days off and see different parts of this wonderful state!

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Plus de 2

  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues


N° de référence hôte : 185819816543