Come and help us with our house move & painting. Somerset/Dorset borders.

  • Royaume-Uni
  • Enregistré comme favori 439 fois
  • Activité récente: 21.01.2023

Disponibilité

  2023 

 Séjour min. souhaité : Au moins un mois

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Infos

  • Description

    Description

    In Spring 2022 we would welcome A COUPLE or a PAIR OF FRIENDS - travelling together to come and stay and help for a several weeks. There could be an opportunity to stay for longer - if the environment and relationship works for both of us. A month would be ideal for us.
    ---
    My name is Laura and my family and myself and dog live in the Dorset/Somerset countryside in the South West of England. There are three children - now in their 20's and now working away from home but who sometimes come back at weekends..... We also have a family property in Suffolk with spare bedroom and kitchen for a Workaway couple. We have a family dog called Whoopie Doo who is very entertaining and loves visitors and who likes to go for walks and sit on laps!

    We are 2 hours from London both if we are near WINCANTON in Somerset or in Suffolk close to the town of Saxmundham. There is a mainline station from where you can link to anywhere. The trains run about every 30 minutes and there are also local buses. We can provide bikes so you can cycle too....although you will expected to understand basic bike maintenance... be able pump up your own tyres etc. We have use of a car or a van for those who are insurable... with appropriate clean driving license and age & driving history & credentials etc

    Local sightseeing is good: Stonehenge is not far away (40 mins). Bath & Salisbury about an hour away. The nearest south coast beaches & harbours (Poole, Bournemouth, Weymouth, Bridport,) are approx an hour's drive. We have some lovely historic towns and cities around us with fascinating architecture like...Bruton & Sherborne, Salisbury & Bath. When in Suffolk we are 5 minutes from the East Anglian coast and the beach of Aldeburgh

    At home we are needing general maintenance and strong and fit helpers around the house and garden. Especially as we are moving furniture around this Autumn and will need help getting items moved, temporarily, in and out of our storage garage barns. There will be lifting and moving objects and furniture on and off our transit van - which the host will drive unless workawayers have previous experience.

    A strong couple/pair preferring manual tasks and who have practical skills would be best suited for this volunteering. Also much of the help is outside and in our barn and it can be cold and so will only appeal to workawayers familiar with a UK climate in the early months of the year. Yes...it is colder than many other countries and workawayers should understand this if they are coming from a warmer climate - and therefore not mind being outside. We have just had a really hot summer though. Working in the garden in light rain might have to be a possibility. We have both hand and power tools and gardening tools (lawnmower, strimmer etc) and it would help if volunteers are happy to use these but it is not essential.

    The most important requirements are a positive attitude and to be physically fit and strong. We can provide you with work gloves and wellies (and sometimes jackets) but you should bring your own clothes and protective footwear for outdoor tasks.

    Obviously we would prefer you to have some English but we appreciate you are coming to the UK to further your English conversation skills.

  • Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Jardinage
    Bricolage et projets de construction
    S’occuper des animaux
    Aide à la maison
    Entretien général
  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    - Laugh and have some fun with us.
    - You could improve your English.
    - Understand English family life from a family home
    - Understand doggycare by helping to look after WHOOPIE-DOO.
    - Learn a bit about British cooking
    - Visit local historic landmarks: Stonehenge ,Bath & Suffolk beaches
    - Improve your DIY skills
    - Experience driving or cycling in the UK
    - Keep fit

  • L’hôte offre un salaire correspondant au salaire minimum

    L’hôte offre un salaire correspondant au salaire minimum

    Cet hôte offre l'hébergement et une rémunération.

    L’hôte a indiqué qu'il paierait au moins le salaire horaire minimum de son pays pour chaque heure travaillée et que l’hébergement serait fourni. Il demande de l'aide dans le cadre de son entreprise ou activité professionnelle. Contactez l'hôte directement via la messagerie du site pour en savoir plus et avoir des détails sur le salaire proposé. Tous les arrangements devraient être conclus à l'avance avec votre hôte.

  • Aide

    Aide

    Now actively looking for helpers for Autumn 2022 to help with a big tidy-up and preparation of the house and our storage barn area. This could involve, for instance, putting together instant shelving requiring handling small nuts and bolts. Packing things up in cardboard boxes. Lifting a large piece of furniture onto our van. Moving storage items into the attic. Constantly moving things around basically.
    ------
    Possibly a HIM & HER?
    Would suit healthy and strong persons travelling together - who don't mind fresh air and physical and manual tasks... and who can work together with a positive attitude. Much of the help required would be in our garden or barn - ie, outside of our HOUSE.

    If one of the pair had good CARPENTRY & TIMBER CONSTRUCTION professional level skills with proven experience - and could use most power tools this would be amazing and we would be prepared to pay extra for this. The rate would be £12 per hour...or better still, a pre-agreed fixed project cost. There are several WOODWORKING jobs available that require a skilled & experienced woodworker.

    Otherwise, general help would be on a volunteer basis (unpaid) packing up the kitchen areas of the house, garden tidying, general maintenance and lots of lifting and moving stuff around. Previous experience of using lawn mowers / hedge trimmers/ pressure washers screwdrivers, etc would be useful but not a necessity.

    Also...if you want to do extra hours or work at weekends then we would be happy to pay these hours at £10ph

  • Langues

    Langues parlées
    Anglais: Courant

    Cet hôte propose un échange linguistique
    Cet hôte a indiqué qu’il souhaitait faire partager sa propre langue ou en apprendre une nouvelle.
    Contactez-le pour en savoir plus.

  • Hébergement

    Hébergement

    Accommodation is a double Guest Bedroom with bathroom - (the bathroom is for your own private use) There is also a twin room available with 2 single beds if this experience appeals to 2 friends travelling together or even, 3 persons.

    The kitchen and cooking areas are shared with the family. Catering would be mutually organised with myself mainly producing most of the evening meals and usually I manage lunch too. You can also organise breakfast and lunch yourselves - from the larder/fridge. Also... we are very happy for you to produce some meals in the evening and you would need to advise us about what foods you would need us to buy. (We prefer not to have fried fish and/or strong curries cooked inside the house...this would need to be be on the outdoor BBQ).
    Usually we all dine together and have language conversation practice.

    If you fit the profile of the volunteers we are seeking ...we can email more information to you in order to help you decide if this could be a good volunteering experience for you.

    The internet in our home is excellent and offers unlimited access for phone and data and downloads. It is especially good for running 'What's App' for phone calls. There is no limit to the downloading so you can download movies too.. We have fairly good mobile signal depending on who your provider is. Vodafone and EE are both ok.

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    Depending on your nationality and language we might be able to fix up mutual language conversation-improving sessions with friends and neighbours. If you are trying to improve your English, that is?

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Possibilité d’accueillir les digital nomads

    Possibilité d’accueillir les digital nomads

    We have good fibre broadband...and can provide a desk and working location...but stress that digital nomads also need to be strong and physically fit for lifting and moving volunteering tasks. Digital know-how is NOT needed for this volunteering...it is physical and an outdoor setting

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Plus de 2

  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    5 hours a day, 5 days a week or 25pp hours a week split some other way to suit both of us. After this any extra hours can be paid.

N° de référence hôte : 138121214359

Feedback (5)



Photos

Feedback

Ce sont des évaluations supplémentaires en option lorsque les membres laissent un feedback. La note moyenne pour chaque option est affichée.

Exactitude du profil: (3.7)

Échange culturel: (3.7)

Communication: (3.7)








Conscious, creative people to spend some time in nature with my twins in Frodsham, England
Fun interaction and learning with our family and pets near Snowdonia and the sea in Anglesey North Wales, UK