Meet, share and help on our small bee farm in New Caledonia - Oceania

Country

Nouvelle-Calédonie

mis à jour  

Enregistré comme favori 238 fois


  • rating

    Évaluation d'hôte

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    35  

  • last activity

    Activité récente

    19.05.2022

  • Last email replied

    Taux de réponse

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Délai de réponse moyen :

    ≤ 16 jours

  • Badges

    Top Host
 
  2022 

 Séjour min. souhaité : Au moins deux semaines

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hello dear reader, thank you for stopping here and welcome to this life project.

    I, Aaron, 45 yo french man, try to create a node of kindness in our strange fast growing human network. For this purpose, I decided to build an as possible resilient place on a piece of land on the west cost of New-Caledonia, facing the sea (but not on the beach, sorry), with astonishing sunsets and amazing starry sky/vault.
    I love life so much ! Get up every morning at 5 (ok, now it is more 6, 6:30), so have time for every little house's tasks, "administratives" and a hot full mug of coffee, before starting the day with the sunrise.
    I could say that I do live my dream, being on the way to transform our valley in a huge abundant peaceful garden forest (just beginning, so trees are not yet very producing ...) with vegetables/fruits/leaves raisebed gardens, taking care of different livestocks : bees (around 80 hives), goats (around 30), chicken (50), and 2 cats, and doing my best to protect and regenerate the ancient ecosystem destroyed by human activities : the dry forest.
    I only miss some generous helping hands and cheerful brains to achieve all the so numerous mini-projects within this big one.

    The farm is 20 minutes walk from the main road, or 5 minutes by 4x4 cars. It is a quiet place, with a beautiful view to the sea. Nearby (within 10-30 km): rivers, sea, trek in mountains.

    I write in english but I'm french, so n'hésitez pas à m'écrire en français ;-)

  • Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Pratique d’une langue
    Aide avec des éco-projets
    Jardinage
    Bricolage et projets de construction
    S’occuper des animaux
    Aide dans une ferme
    Cuisine/repas pour la famille
    Aide à la maison
    Entretien général

  • Objectifs de développement durable de l’ONU que cet hôte essaie d'atteindre

    Objectifs de développement durable de l’ONU que cet hôte essaie d'atteindre

    Objectifs de l’ONU
    Pas de pauvreté
    Faim «zéro»
    Bonne santé et bien-être
    Éducation de qualité
    Égalité entre les sexes
    Eau propre et assainissement
    Énergie propre et d'un coût abordable
    Travail décent et croissance économique
    Industrie, innovation et infrastructure
    Inégalités réduites
    Villes et communautés durables
    Consommation et production responsables
    Mesures relatives à la lutte contre les changements climatiques
    Vie aquatique
    Vie terrestre
    Paix, justice et institutions efficaces
    Partenariats pour la réalisation des objectifs
  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    New-Caledonia is a french archipel in the south pacific, with a lot of communities from many cultures : melanesian, polynesian, indonesian, european, ... . I can help learning french (even if, as you can read, my english isn't really fluent), I teach bee-keeping since 10 years, and as a farmer/peasant I love to share the knowledge we accumulated.

    Over all, what I expect in hosting many different people on our farm is to make them connect together. I would love our place becoming an energetic positive knot in the human network.

  • Projets impliquant des enfants

    Projets impliquant des enfants

    Ce projet peut impliquer des enfants. Pour en savoir plus, consultez nos directives et conseils ici.

  • Aide

    Aide

    As life is always changing, we'll need to adapt. So I have too. Children are getting older and will start to fly out of the nest.

    !! Last minute !!
    The help we need mostly is currently with the food gardens. I would really enjoy to welcome experimented gardeners with skills in bio-organic-syntropic-permaculture food production. We already have the beds, but they have been destroyed by over-raining and wild pigs.

    Because it is a farm starting, (since 5 years from scratch) we also need help for watering young trees, brush cutting under electric fences, building wood structures, general house maintenance, cooking, building new fences, preparing ramial crushed wood, looking after goats, collecting seeds, growing seedlings in the nursery, walking on the slack line, playing music (piano and guitar available), planting new trees, harvesting vegetables and fruits, having good time, playing tarot, beekeeping, ... each day the "to-do-list" can be settled regarding who is there and volunteer to work ! :-)
    And when the work has been very hard under a biting sun, we sometimes drive to the river for a refreshing bath.

    We received many volunteers this 5 past years, and I would like to keep on sharing my lifetime project, offering opportunities to life-lovers to experiment and discover another way of life.

    About Internet access : I use my 4G mobile phone as a wifi-router, it is not always on, but you just have to ask for connection ...

  • Langues

    Langues parlées
    Français: Courant
    Anglais: Intermédiaire
    Japonais: Débutant

    Cet hôte propose un échange linguistique
    French is a nice and hard language to learn, as it is my mother tongue I would be happy to share some of its richness/secrets :-) And I would love to learn english the same way, from inside the brain of the speaker.

  • Hébergement

    Hébergement

    We built a place with a small roof to protect a sink and a table. A tent or hamac can take place on that deck.
    An A-frame wood cabin (2 places), connected to this place, is now functional but not completely finished :-)
    Shower is external, as are the dry toilets. But there is hot water (well, when the water heater is in a good mood) !! We try to eat as much as possible from the garden (a lot of green leaves and pumpkin currently), we are cooking our bread, eating the daily fresh eggs of our chickens, honey from our hives, ... I do not cook for everybody, but I enjoy cooking together.

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    The farm is located right between (16 km away each) the villages of Boulouparis and La Foa, with a many activities to do. See the different local tourism offers.

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Plus de 2

  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    Maximum 25 hours / week

Ce sont des évaluations supplémentaires en option lorsque les membres laissent un feedback. La note moyenne pour chaque option est affichée.

Exactitude du profil: (5.0)

Échange culturel: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)



























N° de référence hôte : 135551379261