Outdoor work and inside carpentry work on a house in the woods (and play music, go swimming, and explore)

Country

Canada

Enregistré comme favori 44 fois


  • rating

    Évaluation d'hôte

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Activité récente

    23.09.2021

 
  2022 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We live in the small town of Horsefly, BC (7 hours north of Vancouver) working as custom banjo luthiers and touring musicians. A family of four, our home is surrounded by wilderness, water and a great community. We're passionate about food, music, the arts, the wild, and people we love. We are working on our property and our newly built house, and are looking for help with the house finish work, the kids, gardens, maybe building some trails. We have one friendly dog, two friendly cats, and a lot of wildlife wandering through.

  • Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Jardinage
    Bricolage et projets de construction
    Baby-sitting et jeux créatifs

  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    We've traveled the world playing music, and love meeting new people. We hope you'd enjoy working in a beautiful setting on some interesting projects, as well as some time playing music in the evenings. There is incredible outdoor country to explore and hilarious little kids to jump in the lake with.
    If you're really into music and wanted the occasional banjo or singing lesson too, we'd love to do that.

  • Projets impliquant des enfants

    Projets impliquant des enfants

    Ce projet peut impliquer des enfants. Pour en savoir plus, consultez nos directives et conseils ici.

  • Aide

    Aide

    We need help finishing our earth ship style greenhouse, gardening, finish carpentry on the house, running after kids, and cooking too.

  • Langues parlées

    Anglais: Courant

  • Hébergement

    Hébergement

    We have 40 acres of beautiful, very private property running alongside a pristine river and a small lake. The swimming is great. Our place is 10 minutes outside the village of Horsefly, where you can get some supplies and gas. There is tons of room for camping, vehicles, and trailers. We have a outdoor and indoor cooking space, and outhouses (and an outdoor shower!!) and indoor plumbing as well. Our amazing water comes from an artesian spring. We eat really well and looooove food and meals.

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    We run a home-based business, building custom banjos for clients around the world, and are happy to share our deep affection for banjos, old guitars, and weird old music. We love to play music and love to have new people in our community. We live as best we can with simple foods, we love great food and eating locally. We hope for the people on our property to feel similarly, and ask for respect for our land and for our small community.

    The area we live in is known for its pristine wilderness.
    - The hiking and alpine areas are spectacular
    - Tons of access to water sports (canoeing - you can use ours!)
    - The Cariboo (our region) is a world-renowned mountain biking destination
    - The fishing is diverse and excellent
    - The Horsefly River (and our little side river) has the second largest sockeye salmon run in BC (in late September/October)

    There's a farmer's market and evening concert series in Williams Lake (about 50 minutes away). The BC interior has some wonderful summer music and arts festivals that we'd be happy to point you towards as well, especially a fantastic music festival in Horsefly in July (and many of them want volunteers).

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Plus de 2

  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week


N° de référence hôte : 133469652858