Volunteers can immerse in a countryside environment typical of the Chilean Patagonia, whilst helping me around the house.

  • Chili
  • Enregistré comme favori 172 fois
  • Activité récente: 28.01.2023



 Séjour min. souhaité : Au moins une semaine



  • Description


    I am Claudia, I live in a small turistic town in Chilean Patagonia, called Puerto Bertrand. I moved here 4 years ago and started a small bakery from home, which has grown quite quickly. This is my main activity during the summer, when I need help collecting fruit, taking care of the green house, garden, pets and small construction and repair project. The rest of the year I still bake and take care of the house.

    Puerto Bertrand is almost 300 kms south Coyhaique, the capital of the Aysen Region, in the Carretera Austral. I live in a small cabin together with my pets: Olivia (dog), Malva (dog), Puntito and Rayitas (cats).

    I am also a translator English-Spanish, but I work in many varied activities related to tourism and house maintaining.

  • Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Pratique d’une langue
    Bricolage et projets de construction
    S’occuper des animaux
    Cuisine/repas pour la famille
    Aide à la maison
    Accueil / tourisme
    Entretien général
  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Volunteers can immerse in a countryside environment typical of the Chilean Patagonia, learn Spanish and relate with local people, but with some of the comfort of the city, such as mobile and internet connection (limited). As a translator, I have great abilities with languages and I can teach Spanish to whoever requires it.
    Additionally, you can share and help when I bake bread or pastries. I also enjoy knitting and you can join me to knit something you can bring with you.

    Los voluntarios podrán sumergirse en un ambiente campestre típico de la Patagonia Chilena, aprender español y relacionarse con personas locales, pero con algunas comodidades de una ciudad, como por ejemplo, señal de celular e internet (limitada). Como traductora, tiengo grandes habilidades con el idioma y puedo enseñar español a quienes lo requieran. Adicionalmente, puedes compartir cuando hornee el pan o prepare pasteles. También disfruto de tejer y me puedes acompañar a tejer algo que te puedas llevar contigo.

  • Aide


    Help is needed to clear the yard from weeds, level the ground, repair and maintain the small greenhouse, a storage/woodshed, build a fence (wood and iron mesh), the creation and maintenance of a garden, planting flowers and grass. Help is also needed to improve the house condition (it is old), such as paint, change the vinyl floor, chop wood and organize it, etc. Volunteers should have construction abilities and no physical or health problems that prevents them from executing the tasks required. Tools and materials to execute the tasks will be provided.
    Occasionally, if I have to travel, I expect volunteers to take care of the house, pets and plants/greenhouse
    Also, from December to March, help is needed to collect wild berries and other fruits.
    I also need help to wash my car.

    Se necesita ayuda para limpiar el terreno de malezas, emparejar el terreno y reparar/mantener el pequeño invernadero, una bodega/leñera, construir cerco (con madera y malla), creación y mantención de un jardín, plantando flores y pastos. Además, se necesita ayuda en algunas labores para mejorar las condiciones de la casa (es antigua), como pintar, cambiar el piso de linóleo, cortar leña y ordenarla, etc. Los voluntarios deberán tener habilidades de construcción y no tener problemas físicos ni de salud que le impidan ejecutar las labores requeridas. Se proveerán las herramientas y materiales necesarios para ejecutar los trabajos.
    Ocasionalmente, si tengo que viajar, se espera que los voluntarios cuiden la casa, mascotas y plantas/invernadero.
    También, desde diciembre a marzo, se necesita ayuda para recolectar bayas y otras frutas.
    También necesito ayuda para lavar mi auto.

  • Langues

    Langues parlées
    Anglais: Courant
    Espagnol: Courant

    Cet hôte propose un échange linguistique
    Cet hôte a indiqué qu’il souhaitait faire partager sa propre langue ou en apprendre une nouvelle.
    Contactez-le pour en savoir plus.

  • Hébergement


    The cabin is small, it has 2 bedrooms (1 is mine and the other for the volunteer), 1 shared bathroom with a small bathtub and shower, and the main room holding the kitchen, a dining counter, 2 couches and a wood stove. My pets live inside the house, but are usually around going in and out freely. It is very important that volunteers are pet friendly and do not have any problem with co-living with them inside the house. The room for volunteers is actually a storage room where I placed the fridge, groceries and other boxes. The bed offered is a single bed and include full bedding. Volunteers must bring their own personal cleaning articles and towel. Accommodation include full board with 3 meals per day (breakfast, lunch, and supper [similar to breakfast, typical in Chile]). Since the town is far from urban cities, we cannot always ensure a balanced and varied meal. Normally, we eat bread, marmalades, canned food, legumes, potatoes, spaghetti, rice, broths and stews. Fresh fruits and vegetables are a bit difficult to obtain (that's why the greenhouse), so I recommend to bring your own food if you have a special diet (eg. vegans, vegetarians, celiac or lactose intolerants, etc.).
    It's important that volunteers help maintaining the order and cleaning of the house.
    Smoking is not allowed inside the house or at the terrace (I am allergic to cigarettes smoke), so I prefer non-smoking volunteers.
    Volunteers are not allowed to bring people to the house and must respect the rest scheduled.

    La cabaña es pequeña, tiene 2 habitaciones (1 es mía y otra para la persona voluntaria), 1 baño compartido con una tina pequeña y ducha y un salón principal que alberga la cocina, un mesón comedor, dos sillones y una cocina a leña. Las mascotas viven adentro de la casa, pero usualmente se mantienen cerca entrando y saliendo libremente. Es muy importante que los voluntarios sean amigables con las mascotas y no tengan inconvenientes en convivir con ellos dentro de la casa. La habitación de los voluntarios es en realidad un cuarto de almacenamiento, en donde tengo un refrigerador, un congelador, abarrotes y otras cajas. La cama que se ofrece es de 1.5 plazas e incluye la ropa de cama. Los voluntarios deben traer sus artículos de aseo personal y toalla. El alojamiento incluye 3 comidas (desayuno, almuerzo y once). Debido a la lejanía de centros urbanos, no siempre se podrá contar con una comida balanceada y variada. Normalmente se come pan, mermeladas, conservas, legumbres, papas, fideos, arroz, guisos, caldos y estofados. Las frutas y verduras son un poco escasas y quienes tengan dietas especiales, deberán considerar traer sus propios alimentos (ejemplo: veganos, vegetarianos, celiacos o con intolerancia a la lactosa, etc).
    Es importante que los voluntarios ayuden a mantener el orden y limpieza de la casa.
    No se permite fumar dentro de la casa o en la terraza (Soy alérgica al humo del cigarro), por lo que prefiero que las personas voluntarias no sean fumadoras.
    Las personas voluntarias no pueden traer personas a la casa y deben respetar el horario de descanso.

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    Puerto Bertrand doesn't have much services. There are two groceries stores with basic articles and a rural health care center. It is recommended that you bring cash, since there is no bank or ATM in the town. If you are under a medical treatment, bring your own medicines. In case of extreme emergency, we can count on the assistance of the health care center (which is intended only for residents). To get Puerto Bertrand, it is necessary to first arrive in Coyhaique (flights arrive in Balmaceda, 40 minutes away). Buses to Puerto Bertrand depart every day at 9 am from the Bus Station. The journey is around 7 hours through a road mainly of gravel, which due to road constructions, present traffic cuts in some areas. If you decide to hitchhike, you must consider this for your trip planning.
    There are several activities in the town or in nearby towns, such as trekking, horse riding, rafting, kayaking, camping near glaciers, trekking on glaciers, boat trips, etc. Here, I can give you more details to help you plan your time off.
    If you are really interested in helping me with my new project, please state the following phrase in the subject of you message: "The names of your cats are Puntito and Rayitas".

    Puerto Bertrand no tiene muchos servicios. Existen dos tiendas de abarrotes con artículos básicos y una posta rural. Se recomienda traer efectivo, ya que no hay bancos ni cajeros, y sus propias medicinas en caso de estar bajo algún tratamiento médico. En caso de emergencia extrema, se puede contar con la asistencia de la posta rural (que está destinado solo para residentes). Para llegar a Puerto Bertrand es necesario llegar a la ciudad de Coyhaique (el avión llega a Balmaceda, distante a unos 40 minutos). Los buses parten todos los días a las 9 am desde el terminal de buses de Coyhaique. El viaje dura aproximadamente 7 horas por una carretera mayoritariamente de ripio, la cual debido a arreglos viales, presenta cortes de tránsito entre las 13:00 y 17:30 hrs. desde Cerro Castillo. Si decides venir a dedo, considera esto para tu planificación de viaje.
    Existen variadas actividades dentro del pueblo y en los pueblos cercanos, tal como trekking, cabalgatas, rafting, kayaking, camping en glaciares, caminatas en glaciares, paseos en bote, etc. Acá te puedo orientar con más detalles para planificar tu tiempo libre.
    Si realmente estás interesado(a) en ayudarme en mi nuevo proyecto, por favor indica la siguiente frase en el encabezado de tu mensaje: "Los nombres de tus gatos son Puntito y Rayitas".

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Possibilité d’accueillir les digital nomads

    Possibilité d’accueillir les digital nomads

    We have very poor internet connection, specially in summer, due to a narrow broadband. Anyway, if volunteers need to connect, we suggest to buy an internet chip for their own purposes in their free time.

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?


  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    Maximum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week

N° de référence hôte : 125164677181

Feedback (2)



Passons l'été ensemble, dans la première auberge de jeunesse "verte" de Puerto Varas, Chili
Learn about Chilean Patagonian culture and gastronomy at our lodge near the town of Cerro Castillo in the Aysén region, Chile