Equine therapist looking for an animal loving au pair on a horse farm, in Alberta, Canada



Enregistré comme favori 603 fois

  • rating

    Évaluation d'hôte

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Activité récente


  • facebook friends

    Nombre d'amis Facebook


  • Last email replied

    Taux de réponse

    90.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Délai de réponse moyen :

    ≤ 2 jours

  • Badges

    Top Host
    Facebook verified

 Séjour min. souhaité : Au moins 1 mois

  • Description


    Hey :)
    Thanks for checking out our profile.
    We are currently looking for workawayers to join us!

    I have a 6 year old daughter, 30 animals and we live on a farm near Rocky Mountain House, Alberta. We are looking for workawayers to come and stay with us to help with; care for my daughter, general house and yard maintenance and animal care. An avid rider (ideally with natural horsemanship experience) would be wonderful to assist me in putting miles on horses, but this is not a requirement.

    I am an Equine Therapist (which is a therapist/body worker for horses).

    My beautiful daughter has a very sweet spirit and is all around a pretty great kid that is fun to be around ;) although being a 5 year old means she can also have some trying and difficult moments as she expands her capabilities. I would like to host travellers that are interested in playing and spending time with her. She is in kindergarden and goes to school every Tuesday, Thursday and the odd Friday.

    We usually have two workawayers at a time throughout the year. Experience in child care and previous work experience are an asset.

    We have a lot of animals :) 2 dogs, 1 cat, 2 pigs, 3 ducks, 6 chickens, 2 bunnies, 1 pony, 1 miniature horse, 1 donkey and 12 horses. So someone with an interest in animals is an absolute requirement.

    Typically we hope to find people that can stay with us for awhile but as we have people lined up for various times of the year, please contact us anyways if you are interested in staying with us for a short time ;)

    We have been hosting workawayers since April 2015 and we love doing this!! Many of the girls we have had are like family to us :)

    If you are into horses, it may help you to know that our horses range in age and breed (most are heavy crosses). Most are used for pleasure riding and we have a very natural philosophy when it comes to our horses, we do ride bitless and I am a large supporter of treeless saddles. Our horses are also "barefoot trimmed" (which is trimming to support the natural function of the hoof) by myself and my friend/colleague. We also practice Natural Horsemanship and I am certified to teach this as well. We do have a few boarded horses that are here for retirement and occasionally we will take on rehabilitation/therapy horses as well. I also teach clinics on owner education topics (saddle fitting/anatomy, etc) and equine first aid.

    There is a lot of opportunity to ride if you would like to! And with my busy work schedule through the spring/summer I cannot ride as much as I would like to so I would love to have people riding the horses to keep them going :)

    One of the more important things to consider is our lifestyle. We live rurally (in the country) so buses etc are not available. We are about 20 mins from the nearest town and about 50 mins from the nearest city. Canadian winters can be very cold and we tend to spend more time indoors then because of this. It is very important to us that the potential workawayer knows this and is comfortable with a farm/country lifestyle.

    We encourage and support our workawayers to travel while they are here. Usually our girls plan some weekend or multi-day trips while they are here with us. I are happy to guide you through that process including bus/car rental and accommodation bookings.

    If you would like to contact some of our previous Workawayers as a reference we can arrange that :) I also have a very long info letter that I can send you which will give you more info on us :)

  • Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Baby-sitting et jeux créatifs
    Entretien général
    Aide à la maison
    S’occuper des animaux

  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    If you need to improve your English we can help you do that! :) You will experience life on a Canadian family hobby farm and increase your animal care and child care experience. You will be surrounded by rural Alberta's natural peaceful beauty while at our place....with complete access to land/forest and our gorgeous herd of horses! Speaking of horses.... :) you will have the opportunity to be immersed in and learn about natural horse care...from the way the horses live, are fed, how they are trimmed, ridden and of course through the way we work with them! You will have the opportunity to learn more about equine therapy and saddle fit etc.
    You will also benefit from my delicious gourmet cooking every evening at supper time LOL ;) (not really but I do my best!)
    You'll also learn to drive a quad! And depending on the time of year you can learn to go skijoring here at home or rent a horse and go riding at the base of the Rocky Mountains with friends of ours who do a lot of trail guiding out there. (they have taken many of our workawyers in the past).
    For the most part we have a fairly laid back schedule which will be of great benefit if you are looking to travel and do weekend trips during your stay with us.

    Most importantly you will be treated like family here, while spending time with people who are truly invested in you and our mutual cultural experience, in a safe and caring home! :)

    Please note that we do NOT have a vehicle for your personal use.

  • Aide


    We are looking for a female or a couple between the approximate ages of 18 and 30 with previous child care experience. Because our workawayer will be treated as a member of our family ;) we are looking for someone with these qualities: strong english skills, fun, compassionate, respectful, kind, clean, modest, genuine, easy going, and lastly but MOST importantly..down to earth ;)

    A good work ethic and previous child care experience are a must!

    We live about 20 minutes from the nearest town so a comfort with a slower paced lifestyle and living rurally is important ;)

  • Languages

    Langues parlées
    English: Courant

    Cet hôte propose un échange linguistique
    Cet hôte a indiqué qu’il souhaitait faire partager sa propre langue ou en apprendre une nouvelle.
    Contactez-le pour en savoir plus.

  • Hébergement


    Room 1- private bedroom.
    Room 2 - "Harry Potter Room" with curtain door.
    Room 3 - Camper in Yard (for seasonal use)

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    We located at the base of the Rocky Mountains which allows for great access to hiking, skiing, white water rafting, canoeing, fishing. Day trips to National Parks, West Edmonton Mall, Amusement Parks, Horse Events, Calgary Zoo, Shopping, Tyrell Museum/Dinosaur Park

    Stipulation - trial period of 10 days to ensure both host and workawayer comfort and compatibility.

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Possibilité d’accueillir les digital nomads

    Possibilité d’accueillir les digital nomads

    Cet hôte a indiqué qu’il aimait accueillir les digital nomads.

  • Espace pour garer des vans

    Espace pour garer des vans

    Cet hôte a de la place pour les vans.

  • Possibilité d'accueillir les animaux

    Possibilité d'accueillir les animaux

    Cet hôte a dit qu’il acceptait les personnes voyageant avec un animal.

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?


  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    5 variable max 25 hours a week

Canada Day 2019
Nethy and Laramie
Pia & Marie roasting/melting marshmellows after dinner ;)
Moose crossing our hayfield
Netheya & Cat Gut
Group ride on our land summer 2018
Lucy and Sophie 2019
Katie & Lauren riding Thunder & Baby
Laura & Linda building a pond for the ducks
Sointu, Eileen & Nethy carving pumpkins
The pony posse
Kirsten & Julia riding Quatro & Beltane

Ce sont des évaluations supplémentaires en option lorsque les membres laissent un feedback. La note moyenne pour chaque option est affichée.

Exactitude du profil: (5.0)

Échange culturel: (4.8)

Communication: (5.0)

N° de référence hôte : 124222854635