Help us look after our few acres of garden and native forest in Maharangi harbour, Auckland, New Zealand

Country

Nouvelle-Zélande

Enregistré comme favori 46 fois


  • rating

    Évaluation d'hôte

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

  • last activity

    Activité récente

    15.11.2021

  • Badges

 
  2022 

 Séjour min. souhaité : Une semaine ou moins

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Kia ora and hello.

    Welcome to our few acres in a small coastal community 50mins drive North of Auckland city.
    Our names are Annie and Jackie and our home overlooks the Mahurangi harbour. This area is great for swimming, kayaking and coastal walks in the neighbouring regional park. I mostly work from home as an artist and care taker of our home and garden (and 3 hens). My partner Jackie works as a Doctor in the city. We have a new fully self-contained rammed earth guest house in the valley which would be your accommodation during your stay. It is private, eco friendly, set amongst trees and a couple of minutes walk from the beach . Our property is largely native bush with vegetable gardens and a developing orchard. We are Buddhist and our home is vegetarian but in the guest house you'll be providing your own food and a BBQ is available for cooking meat if that is your preference.

    We have kayaks available if you're interested in exploring the harbour. Nearby (10-20mins drive) are vineyards, historic pubs, galleries, hot pools and cafes. You will need your own transport as there is none available in this area (though if you have carpentry or landscape gardening skills we could discuss arranging transport).

  • Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Jardinage
    Bricolage et projets de construction
    Entretien général

  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    We can share knowledge of the area and nz generally; Maori pronunciation and help with english language; Information re organic gardening methods.

  • Projets impliquant des enfants

    Projets impliquant des enfants

    Ce projet peut impliquer des enfants. Pour en savoir plus, consultez nos directives et conseils ici.

  • Aide

    Aide

    Our preference is for 2 workaways at a time, either partners or friends. We're especially looking for people with building &/or landscaping skills - people who are strong and fit to plant trees and remove invasive weeds or help with DIY projects like building garden steps. Our preference is for you to stay 5-7 days.

  • Langues parlées

    Anglais: Courant
    Maori: Débutant

  • Hébergement

    Hébergement

    We have recently finished building a beautiful one bedroom self contained rammed earth cottage that will be available as your private guest house. It does not have internet but you are welcome to come to our main house at arranged times to use internet there.
    The cottage will have a queen bed in the bedroom and a single bed in the living room. A bathroom with shower and bathtub. You will have your own kitchen and need to provide your own food, however the cottage will be supplied with basic staples. We hope you will join my partner and I for a meal on the day you arrive. In exchange for your accommodation each guest will be expected to work 4 hrs daily, 5 out of 7 days.

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    We live in a really beautiful part of the country which is only 50mins from downtown auckland. This area is rich with native flora and birdlife. Occasionally dolphins or orca come into the bay. If you enjoy nature this a peaceful and beautiful place to visit.

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Deux

  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    Maximum 5 hrs a day, 5 days a week




N° de référence hôte : 114656439386