Family of five looking for new friends to visit us near Washington DC, USA

Country

États-Unis

mis à jour  

Enregistré comme favori 95 fois


  • rating

    Évaluation d'hôte

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    12  

  • last activity

    Activité récente

    02.12.2021

  • Last email replied

    Taux de réponse

    93.8 %

  • Last email replied

    Délai de réponse moyen :

    ≤ 10 jours

  • Badges

    Super Host
 
  2021 

 Séjour min. souhaité : Un mois ou plus

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We live in the DC area, near a bus and metro stop. We have one 4-year-old and two 17-month-old daughters. We also have an Icelandic Sheepdog, Buska. We are looking for native French and Spanish speakers to come visit us and help around the house and help teach our kids Spanish and French. My husband and my mother-in-law speak French exclusively, and our nanny speaks Spanish. So our kids understand all three languages, and our daughter can speak fluently in French and English, but needs help in speaking Spanish. The babies use words from all three languages right now.

    It's a busy house with three kids. You'd have your own room (but see the next paragraph) but would share a bathroom. We have childcare arranged during the workday with our nanny, so you would not be expected to watch our kids. We may ask you to help with them and entertain them at times, but we'd be home as well.

    Please note that the available bedroom has also turned into my work office (sorry!). So I'm in there from 9am-5pm, but otherwise the room is yours. Once we return to office settings, the room should be free fully again.

    We are LGBTQ friendly.

  • Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Pratique d’une langue
    Jardinage
    S’occuper des animaux
    Cuisine/repas pour la famille
    Aide à la maison

  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    We are in a major metropolitan city, living just outside of Washington, DC. We are one mile from a metro stop (our subway) and a bus stop that goes there is only two blocks away. You would have plenty of time to see everything DC has to offer. It has so many free monuments and museums. We would also welcome you to join us as we go places, and if you wanted to arrange any short trips to nearby cities (e.g. NYC) we could be flexible to accommodate that.

  • Projets impliquant des enfants

    Projets impliquant des enfants

    Ce projet peut impliquer des enfants. Pour en savoir plus, consultez nos directives et conseils ici.

  • Aide

    Aide

    Our primary goal is to have our kids have more exposure to French and Spanish! So in the afternoons (after 5pm) and on weekends we'd love for someone to play/speak French or Spanish with them, teach them songs, rhymes, etc. We would also like some assistance with gardening / yard work when it is nice out. We pay someone to mow but would like help with raking, picking up sticks, weeding, watering flowers, mulching.

    Additional help around the house is also on the list! Some cooking, washing dishes, feeding and playing with the dog and helping to pick up after our daughters. We have house cleaners come every two weeks as well. To some extent, we can be flexible in your interests.

    We keep a chart on the fridge that details daily/weekly, and one-time tasks. It also has a grid showing 25 hours each week for you to check off how much you have helped to ensure we do not ask you to help more than 25 hours each week.

  • Langues

    Langues parlées
    Anglais: Courant
    Français: Courant
    Espagnol: Débutant

    Cet hôte propose un échange linguistique
    At home our primary language is English, but my husband and Mother-in-law speak French. We also have a nanny who speaks Spanish. Our 4-year-old can speak both English and French, and she understands Spanish but does not speak it fluently. Our twins we are exposing to all three languages. Our goal is to have our workaway guests help to exposure our children to French or Spanish to increase their fluency.

  • Hébergement

    Hébergement

    We have a guest bedroom with a Queen bed and also a full bathroom next to it. We live in a large house and have a large backyard for relaxing. We are happy to host couples or pairs of travelers.

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    We live one mile from the West Falls Church metro. Within a mile we also have some shops/restaurants and also the W&OD bike trail that runs through Virginia. Also, given have young children we would prefer a non-smoker and a non-drug user.

    We are taking covid precautions seriously since our children are not yet vaccinated. We, our nanny, and local relatives are all vaccinated and careful about covid. We wear masks if going indoors, but spend most of our time doing things outside. We take the kids to parks on the weekends so they can play outside with little risk of covid.

    We would want our workawayers to be vaccinated, and to agree to use a mask when going other places indoors. Thank you!

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Possibilité d’accueillir les digital nomads

    Possibilité d’accueillir les digital nomads

    We have a great wifi connection. My husband and I are also working from home and we do have an office and another desk in the basement. If you were working during this time, we could certainly accomodate you.

  • Espace pour garer des vans

    Espace pour garer des vans

    We have a very large driveway. It would not have a hookup for electricity though, as the driveway is quite a distance from our home.

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Deux

  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Ce sont des évaluations supplémentaires en option lorsque les membres laissent un feedback. La note moyenne pour chaque option est affichée.

Exactitude du profil: (4.8)

Échange culturel: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)










N° de référence hôte : 113535962261