Earl & Earl

  • États-Unis
  • Connectez-vous pour voir la dernière activité

Badges (3)

Explorer
Top Workawayer

Information du profil

  • Information de voyage

    Actuellement, nous sommes

    à la maison

    Notre prochaine destination :

    Faroe Islands - du Sep 2022 au Oct 2022
    Voir tout
  • Description

    Earl worked as a Michigan State Park Naturalist and that job evolved into exhibit design. He designed the state's visitor centers in parks and fisheries before he retired in 2010. He is an excellent gardener, loves all things about nature and animals, loves projects around the house, carpentry, painting, fix-it, and he loves to travel! Both his wife, Deborah, and he are proficient with computers. His wife is administrator of 5 Facebook Fan Pages and used to have her own website. Deborah is licensed for 200 hr. Yoga Instruction, she has been a swimming instructor, loves to sew and crochet, and is currently tutoring English, online to students from 42 countries. Deborah worked in the UAE for 5 years as a school principal and Earl lived there the last three. They traveled from there to 13 countries during the holidays. They returned in July, 2013 and are now seeking new adventures. In 2014, they enjoyed their first WorkAway experience in Santa Cruz, Chile helping out at a new villa and the host's Italian restaurant in the Chilean vineyards. In 2015, they worked in a Hostel/B&B in the Sacred Valley of Peru; helped with many improvement projects and helped host many groups from the USA. Deborah studied Spanish for 6 yrs. and is rusty, but improving. She also speaks some Arabic and French. In 2016, they were on WorkAway for 5-6 weeks on a New Zealand farm, helping with childcare and many home improvement carpentry projects, including remodeling a laundry room and making a shoe cubby (see Host reviews) In 2017, they lived with a couple on St. Thomas, Virgin islands. where they helped out and initiated many many projects ranging from sewing new lounge cushions (Deborah) to Earl creating a set of hardwood bar stools from salvaged pallet lumber. In 2018 they lived with a wonderful family outside of Brisbane, Australia - childcare, sewing projects, home maintenance; re-built the host a new laundry room and updated their entire kitchen. In 2019, they lived with a couple in Tasmania, AU and helped with their B&B, assisting with guest meal prep, household duties, and special projects around the home, garden and grounds. Deborah sewed an entire set of patio chair cushions with a matching table runner. In 2020, they ran the bungalows on Easter Island (Rapa Nui) for their host who became very ill and was hospitalized. This included cleaning, picking up guests from the airport and returning them for their flight home as well as giving guests a ”mini” tour of the town. Earl and Deborah are always planning their next adventure!

  • Centres d’intérêt

    Montagne
    Plage
    Nature
    Voile / bateau
    Fitness
    Yoga / bien-être
    Danse
    Activités en plein air
    Randonnée
    Bénévolat
    Langues
    Art et design
    Arts du spectacle
    Dessin et peinture
    Bricolage / artisanat
    Films et télé
    Musique
    Photographie
    Technologie
    Cuisine et alimentation

    montrer plus
  • Compétences et connaissances que nous aimerions partager ou apprendre

    Nous avons des connaissances :  

    Bricolage et projets de construction
    Tenir compagnie à une pers. âgée
    Entretien général
    Préparer les repas / cuisiner pour la famille
    Éco-projets
    Aider à la maison
    S’occuper des animaux
    Accueil / tourisme
    Travail associatif
    Aide informatique / Internet

    Nous pouvons apprendre aux autres:  

    Jardinage
    Baby-sitting et jeux créatifs
    Pratique des langues
    Projets artistiques
    Enseignement
  • Quelles sont vos compétences ?

    Basic carpentry, Fix-it projects around the house, gardening, landscaping, child care, teaching/tutoring, leading groups in nature talks, animal care, computer work, Photoshop & graphic arts, photography, social networking, jewelry making, sewing, crocheting, theatre/dance experience, art projects, swim instruction, yoga instruction (registered with Yoga Alliance 200 hrs.), and many other skills.

  • Langues parlées

    Arabe: Intermédiaire
    Espagnol: Intermédiaire
    Français: Intermédiaire

  • Âge

    71 & 71

  • Nationalité

    United States of America

  • Autres infos...

    We have been married over 40 years and are very out-going, creative, and friendly. We easily strike up conversations with strangers and love to meet new people. We are both considered leaders and are responsible for many projects of which we are very proud. We have three wonderful, grown children. We take the initiative to get things done and don't wait to be told. We are very "young at heart" and have lots of energy! We are not afraid of work and we take pride in our accomplishments. We love new challenges!

  • Informations complémentaires

    • Fumeur

    • Permis de conduire

    • Allergies
      Earl - Hornets, Deborah - ragweed and latex.

    • Régime alimentaire spécial
      No, we are adventurous eaters!

Feedback



Amis

Photos

Feedback