Myriam

Origine: Canada

  • ...

    Type de compte

    Compte individuel

  • ...

    Destinations

    Argentine, Bolivie, Brésil, Colombie, Pérou

  • ...

    Dates de voyage

    21.01.2020 - 04.07.2020

  • Badges

    Good Workawayer
    Explorer

  • Mon statut

    à la maison

  • Description

    Welcome to my profile!

    My name is Myriam, and I'm very sporty and am open to all kinds of activities! However, I think I can safely say that my favourite daily activities are cooking, singing, dancing, and swimming.

    I'm a passionate people-person. Conversations are my favourite things, especially ones that will allow me to understand new perspectives, and question my own. Self improvement is not just important to me, it's a continual goal.

    I'm travelling thanks to the city I live in. The very multicultural and open nature of Montreal (Quebec, Canada) has allowed me to meet and develop friendships with all kinds of wonderful people from all over the world, which has opened my eyes to all kinds of perspectives, ways of being, and ways of life. All of which has made me curious and eager to go out and explore for myself. I really just want to learn and connect with people. That's why I'm using work away.

  • Centres d’intérêt

    Montagne
    Plage
    Nature
    Auto-stop
    Sports d'aventure
    Sports nautiques
    Sports d'équipe
    Cyclisme
    Danse
    Activités en plein air
    Randonnée
    Bénévolat
    Animaux
    Animaux de compagnie
    Langues
    Livres
    Films et télé
    Musique
    Vidéographie
    Photographie

    montrer plus
  • Compétences et connaissances que j'aimerais partager ou apprendre

    Ça m'intéresse :  

    Aider dans une ferme
    S’occuper des animaux
    Projets artistiques

    J'ai des connaissances :  

    Aider à la maison
    Travail associatif
    Aide informatique / Internet

    Je peux apprendre aux autres :  

    Baby-sitting et jeux créatifs
    Préparer les repas / cuisiner pour la famille
    Accueil / tourisme
    Pratique des langues
    Enseignement
  • Quelles sont vos compétences ?

    LANGUAGE:
    As I mentioned in my description, I'm a people-person, so interactions are my favourite kind of activities. Therefore, I'll be applying mostly to workaways that involve this at a higher degree, be it be spending time in a community, conversing for language practice, or working in hostel administration, etc. I have experience helping people understand their mistakes in their spoken language and well as mistakes in written language. I think a strength of mine is that I focus on learning by understanding mistakes instead of simply pointing them out. Ex: if someone was to make a mistake, instead of simply correcting the person, I'd ask them to say it again and ask them if they're certain it's the right word, conjugation, or way of saying it. For example, if the mistake is a conjugation, I'd ask them in what tense they're trying to convey their message. Then I'd tell them in which tense they said it. And then they would be able to choose the correct tense. I really believe this is a better way to learn and remember than simply handing out the answer. This way of teaching is mostly directed towards teaching adults as this is what I have more experience with, but if the children are above 5 years old, this should work with them too. Children under this age, simply speaking to them should suffice in helping them to learn correct grammar and vocabulary.

    HANDS-ON SKILLS:
    For practical, hands-on skills, I'm not much of a handyman, but I'm open to learning! I'd also love to learn how to grow food, compost, etc by working on a eco farm. I love animals so I'm also open to taking care of them if that's something you might need.
    I can paint your walls for you, and I can cook really good vegetarian food for you (I'm open to learning how to cook meat, I just don't have experience with it). I have experience as both a waitress, and a cook.

    ORGANIZING:
    However, my greatest hands-on skill is organizing, so if you need a hand with that, I'm your gal. I love it all! Be it organizing books, schedules of employees or volunteers, paperwork, re-organizing your house, shed, or whatever, that's my jam! This love of organizing also spills into cleaning, which I genuinely enjoy because seeing the result gives me a big sense of accomplishment.

  • Langues parlées

    Anglais: Courant
    Espagnol: Courant
    Français: Courant

  • Âge

    23

  • Autres infos...

    I grew up speaking both English and French and started learning Spanish two years ago. I can comfortably say that I'm quite advanced in my learning :)

  • Informations complémentaires

    • Fumeur

    • Permis de conduire

    • Allergies

    • Régime alimentaire spécial

Photos

Feedback