Bev

Origine: Royaume-Uni

  • ...

    Type de compte

    Compte individuel

  • ...

    Destinations

    Autriche, Norvège

  • ...

    Dates de voyage

    09.12.2019 - 15.12.2019


  • Mon statut

    en voyage

  • Description

    "Once a year go someplace you've never been before"
    Wise words from the Dalai Lama and this just about sums up my life philosophy up in a line. I am somebody full of wanderlust, eager to soak up experiences from this beautiful gift called life and love to try new things and to meet new people.
    It's why I have been a member of the couchsurfing community for ten years now. As a couchsurfing host I have hosted over eighty people from all over the world into my home and have loved every minute of it.
    If you are unfamiliar with couchsurfing, it's a very similar concept to workaday. It's all about exchange and sharing. As a couchsurfing host, I welcome people seeking an authentic travelling experience free of charge into my home, cook them dinner, let them stay anything from one night to seven nights in my home and together we swap stories and moments. Highlights include hosting a 77 year old and an amazing guy from London called Dave. He gave me and my partner a life-changing philosophy. He said when you are feeling indecisive about big decisions in your life visualise this… imagine you are in a deep lake and faced with two islands and can’t decide which one to swim to. If you think too long, you will drown. Simply choose one island (one life decision) and if it’s not the right one, source a boat and paddle to the other island. It’s one of the reasons I love meeting like-minded people, you can learn so much from conversations.
    I love travelling, having spent two years living in the south of France where I learnt the true “art de vivre”. The French have it right, good food and long dinners. That experience really left an imprint on me. I love how you can learn so much round a dinner table by speaking to people from other cultures. Food always tastes better when it’s shared too!
    I love new experiences and new challenges and thoroughly enjoyed doing workaday projects in Italy (goat farm and working in a cheese factory) and Greece (olive farm). Oh my, how fresh the food tasted!
    I have also lived and worked in Australia for a year, worked in the Borneo jungle for three months doing an eco-tourism project (cue rations of food and lots of leeches and sleeping in a hammock!). I have done a voluntary project in South Africa working with lions in addition to living with nomads in the Sahara Desert (some of the happiest people I’ve ever met) as well as a conservation project working alongside whales and dolphins in Tenerife amongst many more other experiences.
    Professionally I am an activities coordinator for people living with dementia, alzheimer's and Parkinson’s disease as well as people with visual impairements, deafness and recovering from strokes. It is a job that I adore and one that continually stretches me to think outside the box and arrive at work with boundless enthusiasm.
    These combined experiences have given me the skills which I feel make me fit into a workaday experience. I have an open mind, I am considerate and adapt to new situations and experiences. For two years I was a professional live in carer which involved living in elderly clients home which taught me a lot about being considerate and treating people’s homes with respect and gentleness.
    I love to arrive to new places with a big smile, a blank diary (to fill in with new experiences) and love to “dig in” whether that involves literally digging in a farm environment or just jumping into whatever task is given to me. I have a genuine zest for life and meeting strangers and people of different nationalities and cultures IS MY COMFORT ZONE! I find volunteering in a different country energising and exciting.
    Oh and I will almost definately come armed with english teabags and some yummy treats, no better ice breaker than a cup of tea accompanied with something yummy!

  • Compétences et connaissances que j'aimerais partager ou apprendre

    Jardinage
    Bricolage et projets de construction
    Tenir compagnie à une personne âgée
    Aider dans une ferme
    Éco-projets
    S’occuper des animaux
    Accueil / tourisme
    Enseignement
  • Quelles sont vos compétences ?

    Experience doing WWOOF in Italy and Greece
    I am a very good team player
    I am patient
    I am adaptable to new situations
    I am friendly and enthusiastic

  • Langues parlées

    English: Courant
    French: Courant

  • Âge

    38

  • Informations complémentaires

    • Fumeur

    • Permis de conduire

    • Allergies

    • Régime alimentaire spécial

Feedback