Gray

  • États-Unis
  • Connectez-vous pour voir la dernière activité

Badges (2)

Good Workawayer
Explorer

Amis (2)

Information du profil

  • Information de voyage

    Actuellement, je suis

    en voyage

    Les activités qui m'intéressent :

    Currently in Tucson, AZ. I plan to stay local until June. I would love to connect with travelers nearby. I may even have a place for you to crash! Holla if you wanna hang, play music, skate, hike, etc

    Ma prochaine destination :

    California, United States
    Voir tout
  • Description

    Welcome to my memoir, grab a cup 'o joe and stay for a little while. What's the rush?

    My name is Gray, born and bred in Richmond, Virginia! I have lived in this town my whole life. I spent 3 years studying Mechanical Engineering. I realized at that time I was heading toward a more corporate/capitalist world, and slowly separating from the beautiful, natural world. So I decided to kick the can on school and learn more about this wonderful planet.

    I began this quest, buying a used handicap passenger van. I spent a year gutting the vehicle and converting it into a livable space. My overall goal is to live a more sustainable/indigenous lifestyle: To be mindful of the energy I consume and the waste I produce. I want to educate myself on Botany: how to identify, cultivate, harvest different plants and learn about their medicinal properties. My idea is that I may live in my van while traveling from place to place, embedding myself into various lifestyles of people who have made the decision to live more sustainably. I believe this is a great way to gain inspiration for where and how I would like to live.

    A little about my personality / hobbies:

    I am an adventurous and adaptable being. I like to think that I can get along with almost anyone. I am open to all walks of life and am always in pursuit of learning. I am passionate about life and all of the mysteries it has to offer. I enjoy hiking and camping as well as biking, skateboarding, and snowboarding. I practice yoga and meditate daily. Would love to connect deeper with this culture. I am drawn to all sorts of arts and crafts: painting, drawing, building, sculpting. I listen to a broad spectrum of music (Jazz, Indie, Beach Rock, Blues, Reggae, R&B, Folk, Country) , and I enjoy connecting with others and sharing tunes. I began my musical journey about a year ago, learning guitar, keyboard, and wooden flute. I am passionate about playing music and am always seeking other musicians to spend time with and learn from.

    I also enjoy foraging for mushrooms. During my stay in Vermont, I was fortunate to learn about and identify mushrooms that were indigenous to the area. I hope to continue this hobby as I move west. I am a mushroom fanatic so if you are into mushroom foraging and cultivation, please reach out to me!

    I love to cook and bake as well. I believe the quality of food directly effects the quality of mood and health. I spend a lot of time and effort preparing my meals. I have been exploring the realm of fermentation for a couple years. If you step into my kitchen, you're likely to find jars of kombucha, ginger beer, mead, sour kraut, kimchi, pickles, and whatever else can be left in a jar on the counter for weeks at a time ha! My favorite form of fermentation is bread making. I bake sourdough breads and pizzas from scratch. Baking bread is my favorite thing in the world and I would love to share my passion for the craft with whoever is interested.

    I enjoy building and beautifying too. I had a blast designing and building my van. I am happy to continue this hobby by helping others with construction / remodeling projects. I've helped my hosts with various remodeling projects and beautified their property with murals / paintings.

  • Compétences et connaissances que j'aimerais partager ou apprendre

    J'ai des connaissances :  

    Jardinage
    Bricolage et projets de construction
    Baby-sitting et jeux créatifs
    Tenir compagnie à une pers. âgée
    Entretien général
    Aider dans une ferme
    Éco-projets
    Aider à la maison
    S’occuper des animaux
    Pratique des langues
    Projets artistiques
    Aide informatique / Internet

    Je peux apprendre aux autres :  

    Préparer les repas / cuisiner pour la famille
    Enseignement
  • Quelles sont vos compétences ?

    I have worked in the restaurant industry for the majority of my adulthood and have learned to cook and bake through that. I can even teach sourdough baking for those interested.
    I have a moderate understanding of low voltage electricity and wiring. I was in school for mechanical engineering for 3 years so I am good with numbers and mathematics. I used my knowledge of electrical systems from school to aide in the conversion process of my van. I have an entire home on wheels powered by solar energy!
    I gained carpentry skills while building my van. I am well versed with power tools and building wood structures.
    Alas, I am a quick and determined learner so any task thrown at me will be taken with full commitment. I am using WorkAway as an opportunity to broaden my skill set and learn new trades.

    P.S. Ive been known to give a good hair cut from time to time!

  • Langues

    Langues parlées
    Anglais: Courant

    Plus de détails sur les langues qui m'intéressent
    I am somewhat proficient in spanish, would love to speak it more.

    Trouver un partenaire de langue

  • Âge

    24

  • Informations complémentaires

    • Fumeur

    • Permis de conduire

    • Allergies
      cats unfortunately

    • Régime alimentaire spécial
      I eat mostly vegan / vegetarian

Feedback


Amis

Photos

Feedback